Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cooking Light's Creamy Stove-Top Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cooking Light's Creamy Stove-Top Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2007

      Very very tasty--and unlike any mac and cheese we've ever had--my husband and I both loved this! I scaled the recipe down for the two of us. And I used penne pasta in place of the elbow macaroni (it's what I had) and regular sharp cheddar in place of the reduced-fat cheddar (neither of us likes reduced-fat cheese). The result was wonderful; delicate yet flavorful, and pretty classy too! Next time I may even try making this with linguine...! Thanks for a great recipe ms bold!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      Good! Creamy mac and cheese without tons of fat. Cooking Light always comes through with tasty recipes that are a bit more healthy. For my tastes, I would omit the Dijon next time, and probably use sharp cheddar for a stronger cheese flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2011

      Yummo! I was looking for a light version of Mac and cheese and stumbled across this one. I did make a couple of modifications, but the flavor was great. My modifications included making a roux with flour and butter (3 T each). While making the roux, I put in dry mustard (1 TB) at that time, instead of using wet mustard later. After combining everything, I ended up baking it at 375 topped with Panko bread crumbs. I question the nutritional information, because 1/6 of what I made (including butter/cheese and panko) has the following profile (according to the Living Cookbook): 243.9 cals, 13.4 g fat, 17.8 g carbs, 12.2 g protein and 0.6 g fiber. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was good, but I felt it needed a little bit of something. I halved the recipe which is still enough for about four people. Next time, I will half the noodles, milk, cream cheese, and cheese and leave everything else the same. Overall, a very good guilt free substitute for fat full mac n cheese. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      My new favorite Mac & Cheese recipe. Makes it a little more enjoyable when there is a little less guilt involved. I used whole wheat macaroni and added a bunch of broccoli to give it a little extra health perks. Very good, I'll make it again for sure. Next time I'll probably add a little less mustard and worcestershire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I hate to give such a low review, but this turned out really bad. I think it was more a fault of me than the recipe, but it didn't have much flavor. I was pretty disappointed. Probably won't make this again. Sorry!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      This is yummy! I really couldn't get over how creamy and delicious this was, considering all the lowfat ingredients. I even used fat free cream cheese instead of reduced fat! I may tone down on the Dijon and Worcestershire next time, but other than that I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      I'm in full "pantry challenge" mode trying to clean out before the packers arrive in 25 (!) days. Today lunchtime arrived and I realized I had no bread products of any kind for sandhwiches. I did have half a bag of elbow noodles, though. No where near 4 cups, more like 1.5 cups. I still made the sauce at full strength; it was just REALLY saucy. We thought this, even with the additions, was still pretty bland. Not bad, just very basic. Thanks for a good way to use up what I had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      Very good mac n' cheese which we will be having again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I really enjoyed this recipe. I was on my own for dinner, so I scaled the recipe to serve one and it turned out great! I used whole wheat chiocciole pasta and used half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour. I also microwaved a tofu hot dog (i'm a vegetarian) and added it to the cooked sauce for a little extra protein. Delicious-- definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      I needed an easy dinner and it had been a long time since the last good trip to the grocery store. I made this with whole wheat penne, increased the garlic, and also added a few dashes of nutmeg. I used about 2/3s cup of regular sharp cheddar. I served this with broccoli and a few slices of turkey cold cuts for a simple meal that was much healthier than it appeared to be on the surface. The sauce had an amazing consistency considering the ingredients. I'll make this again, probably the next time there's not much else in the fridge/pantry, because these are things I tend to have around--which is a huge bonus because shopping is usually the last thing in the world I feel like doing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I tweaked this recipe just a little bit. I started with a roux made with 2 tablespoons flour combined with two tablespoons of light margarine. I didn't have regular light cream cheese so I substituted onion and chive flavored light cream cheese and omitted the garlic. The flavor and consistancy of the sauce was outstanding. A fantastic way to enjoy mac and cheese while watching your fat intake. I will make this again and again. Thanks for posting Ms. Bold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Going through all my recipe clippings, I pulled this one out because 1)it was fast and I had family members come in at odd times and 2) because I wanted to use up staples. My daughter couldn't get enough of it. I did not have enough cheddar cheese, so I added some Asiago (1/2 up). As long as the ingredients are pre-measured, this sauce can be made up by the time the pasta is cooked. I highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This is a great recipe, my husband and I really enjoyed it. I liked that you don't have to bake it so it came together very fast. Thanks so much for the recipe! :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      This was excellent! My 2-year old and I loved it, and my husband liked it pretty well, too (better than my old, fatty recipe). It does seem a bit on the bland side, though. It has a good flavor--it just needs a little something. Paprika maybe? Or even cayenne? It's a simple to make dish--if you have the ingredients measured out in advance, there is plenty of time to make the sauce while the water boils and the pasta cooks. The recommended side dish--the seven-layer salad--really goes very well with it, too. Yummy! Thanks, ms_bold! UPDATE: Had some of the leftovers for lunch--it really doesn't keep well. Taste is okay, but it's very dry--not all creamy and saucy like last night. It makes a lot (I'd guess about 3, maybe 4, quarts), so unless you're feeding a bunch, you may want to make a half batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2006

      I had never thought of putting garlic in my mac & cheese but really liked it. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      Love the hint of garlic! (My husband loved the hint of dijon mustard.) I used a full 2-cup package of reduced fat cheddar to make it a bit cheesier. A little labor intensive, and makes a good solid TON of macaroni and cheese, but something I'm definitely planning to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cooking Light's Creamy Stove-Top Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (180 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 328.4
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    59%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 514.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 13.5 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-fat cheddar cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites