12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Here's how I did it: I subbed thin pork strips for the beef. I added about 50% more sauce fixin's and used a full pound of angel hair pasta. My family LOVED this dish. I think it would be equally tasty with beef, shrimp, or even chicken. Sorry about the changes, but this is one of those recipes that you can really customize to your liking. I'll be making it again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Opal R. July 10, 2013

My family really enjoyed this recipe! I didn't have steak and so substituted chicken breast. I also didn't have peanut oil or oyster sauce. I used evoo to saute the garlic, ginger, broccoli, onions, & red bell pepper. (I had red bell pepper in the refrigerator and so added it in with the broccoli). Yummy! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GigiFrog September 26, 2011

Will definitely make again. Quick, easy and tasty! I didn't have the chili paste, but used Very Lazy Chillis (from the UK) and thought it turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinOHNCTXUK August 30, 2011

Very good. Fast and easy, used top round steak sliced thin and only used 1 tsp garlic chili paste to suit toddlers taste buds, also added a tsp of cornstarch dissolved in 2 tsp water at the end, to help the sauce cling to the rest of the ingredients. Will add the full 2 tsp chili paste next time as it was not too spicy at all with one. A very tasty and economical dinner. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 January 04, 2011

Simple and fast - pretty tasty but could have used more sauce ingredients. I think next time I would add more liquid ingredients to fully coat the noodles because mine didn't coat it as much as I thought and I had to add soy sauce to my dish. But 4 stars because its still good and easy and easily altered to fit my taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnneWisconsin December 10, 2010

Really great. With my changes of using leftover roast and water to steam the broccoli, it gets a 4 and then a 5 for the next day (took longer for the flavours to meld with the leftover beef, next time I would add beef broth instead of water). This is a quick every day meal, if I was serving it to company, I would use more traditional noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen February 13, 2010

We featured this last month as one of the selections in our monthly meal prep sessions and received great feed back. Personally, I loved it; however, I did add some red pepper flakes to give it a little spice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICookUCookWeCook September 02, 2009

Great recipe! I will make this again. I didn't have chili paste w/ garlic so I used Hoisen sauce and it was still delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CopLuvR July 22, 2009

I've made this several times since3 it was in Cooking Light. It's fairly easy, and tastes good, even though I'm not sure how authentic the spaghetti is. The broccoli is a nice addition. I'm glad to find it here. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori in NC March 11, 2009
Cooking Light Beef-Broccoli Lo Mein