24 Reviews

This is an excellent recipe for cookies-n-cream ice cream. I used heavy cream and whole milk for mine instead of the half and half and whipping cream. My ice cream maker only makes 1 1/2 quarts so I only used 2 cups of cream and 2 cups of milk and only 5 eggs. Like another reviewer pointed out the batter does come out yellow at first but I found it lightened up when I added the oreos. I think the cream filling in the oreos helped turn it white. Mine looked just like the picture in the icecream cone. This is one of my favorite ice cream flavors and I will definently make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpiffyShoes October 03, 2010

Made this for a family picnic and it was a cold and creamy delight. Everyone asked for seconds and not a lot left. It was just what I was looking for when DH requested cookie n cream I'll be keeping this one in my favorites. But oh my that's a lot of egg yolks = had to make a raspberry cream Pavlova out of the whites to use them up and not waste but that too was a good thing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 June 28, 2015

So, I totally messed this recipe up. I put all the ingrediants except the cookies in the pot. Then put in the ice cream maker with ice around it. Let it cool. Added some chocolate sauce and oreos. It was a huge hit!! I would double the recipe next time. Also, I only used 5 egg yolks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkbarrett5 July 27, 2011

This is such a great recipe! Infact, this is the exact same recipe that comes from the Kitchen Aid icecream attachment book. This is cookies n' cream, recorder by Kitchen Aid as it and it taste like cookies and cream, so the guy was obviously wrong. Very good, I highly recommend it to anyone!! And the overrun is very very low so it makes it even more tastey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icecreammonster April 01, 2011

DON'T BE FOOLED! This is not a cookies & cream recipe; it's really french vanilla ice cream with oreos. I made this recipe based on all reviews, but once I saw the color of the batter I knew it wasn't right - C&C ice cream is supposed to be white, this batter is yellow. The picture she has of the 3 scoops is the actual color; the other picture with the oreos is definitely not this recipe. Anyway, since I had already made the batter, I finihsed it but like I said, it's not C&C. It's this very rich vanilla ice cream that happens to have pieces of cookies in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaese September 05, 2010

Awesome. I hadnt made homemade ice cream for years... everyone absolutely loved this. Will be making this one again. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammyLouise July 05, 2010

Cookies n' Cream is my favourite flavour of ice cream and I had the amazing luck of finding this particular recipe for it when I first got an ice cream maker over a year ago. Since then I have made this recipe countless times. I don't make any changes to it, except adding in a few extra Oreo cookies. This ice cream tastes so similar to Bluebell (which just happens to be my favourite brand of cookies n' cream ice cream) But since I don't get that brand here this is totally my lifesaver. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. January 04, 2010

Oh so very good! I halved the recipe and made some small adjustments. I used heavy cream instead of whipping cream and added another 1/4 cup of 1% milk to thin the mixture out a bit. I also added just 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla instead of 2 tsp. In addition, I used more crushed oreo cookies (13 cookies). I won't crush the cookies too fine next time so there can be more chunks in the ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp November 29, 2009

This was my first attempt at making ice cream and it was so easy! I made mine with Back To Nature Peanut Butter Sandwich cookies. Turned out terrific! Thanks for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer C. August 02, 2009

I made this for my family and my cousin said it was the best ice cream he had in a long, long time.Thank you for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wiebke July 21, 2009
Cookies 'n Cream Ice Cream