8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the only pie crust I use these days. It is easy and very flavorful. I use oil instead of butter. I've substituted oatmeal for half the flour for a nutty flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie Jarvis January 09, 2011

Will give it stars once I actually eat it. Very easy to make but for folks who aren't frequent pie makers here are 2 pieces of input: cover your crust after it initially turns a bit golden or it will burn; and 1/2c butter is 1 stick. On the latter, I'm glad I closely read the stick 'cause I thought it was 2 sticks (8oz). Mine was quite crisp...but I could taste how it could be cookie-like if not overdone. The Pumpkin puree said not to prebake the crust and to put it in at 425 for 15min then 350 for 40-50 min. Good overall but didn't come out how I'd hoped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Amaze-Ing Me November 14, 2009

This has got to be the easiest pie crust ever!!! Not only is it easy, but it looks and taste like you've spent all day in the kitchen. Plan on using this recipe again. Thanks : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole .W. June 29, 2009

this is a great crust. i used white chocolate pudding on top and sprinkled baby M&Ms on top. The crust taste like shortbread/vanilla waffer mix. My 6 year old loved it. The sides slid down sightly so i will build them up higher next time. The crust didnt get soggy even after 3 days, it held together great and didnt get crumbly. Ill try a pumkin pie next time. Thanks so much for the recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poobelly January 13, 2009

Finally- a crust you actually might like more than the filling! I used this crust for pumpkin pie as a substitute for graham cracker crust. Outstanding! I will use this recipe in all my pies from now on! It was very easy and made the house smell terrific! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuperSam November 18, 2007

This is great, just like pie crust made with crumbled cookies! Only, no need to crumble anything. I used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour to give it that graham cookie flavor, and it was just like the real thing! I didn´t use the rind this time, but for some other pie I will!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare August 28, 2006

I usually use plain cookies and mash them up with butter/margarine for the shell for my Milk Tart (South African tart.) Since I had no cookies on hand I decided to try this and it was a wonderful substitute. Crumbly and with just enough sweetness for a sweet tart. It was a little challenging to press it evenly into the pan, but that's to be expected with this kind of shell/crust. Thank you Meow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Petal* September 15, 2005

Quick and easy and I had all the ingredients on hand. I omited the grated rind though because used with a caramel tart. Will be making again thank-you meow...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Australia May 30, 2004
Cookie Pie Crust