26 Reviews

You can beat, stir, mix or whip this for days, but 2 cups of confectionery sugar and one tablespoon of milk will never result in anything smooth. That means that all the "reviewers" not mentioning that flaw never actually tried making it.<br/>With 3+ tablespoons of milk, it's flawless.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
urotjr December 29, 2014

I've used this recipe for years for my Valentine Day cookies. I've never had a problem with lumps - I use a electric hand mixer to mix this. I use vanilla flavoring only - because I don't like almond flavoring. I half the recipe and make 4 different colors. I frost 5 dozen cookies with it, which are approximately 3 x 3 in size.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_luv_sweets February 17, 2015

I can't believe I've found an icing recipe that isn't overly complicated, with beautiful results!! We used this tonight w/ our sugar cookies & it is simple to make, tastes good, & also hardens quickly.We did color ours & found that we had to put the sprinkles on immediately, because it sets quickly.Thanks for a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OrangeOctober December 17, 2007

Frosting exactly as stated - it sets up and hardens nicely. The only thing I did differently was to thin the frosting with an additional 1/2 tsp of milk because I used it as a beautiful abstract glaze on a cinnamon raisin loaf and I wanted to be able to drizzle it. I was nervous that it might not set up because I changed the recipe - but it dried to a shiny hard consistency. This is my new go-to glaze recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.furay September 19, 2015

I often frost sugar cookies with chocolate icing but I wanted a spring color and had been wanting to try this recipe for a while. Kittencal's recipes are dependable. Definitely a different texture to frost with but works wells and looks really sharp and tastes good. Thanks, Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ May 24, 2015

Best icing recipe I have tried yet and I have tried lots. Perfect proportions. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juniper20 December 22, 2014

Excellent! My only change was to use rice milk instead of dairy yo accomodate a kid with an allergy. I had to use 2 tblsp of rice milk. I colored it, and added strawberry extract. I dipped the cookies and wiped/spread with pastry brush. Great recipe, thanl uou.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michaelsmaniacal January 27, 2014

This is a really good recipe. Normally I can't stand decorating cookies. It's my least favorite baking chore. I'd rather wash dishes than frost cookies. But this stuff was really fun to work with! It was too thick to paint on with pastry brush. I spread it on shortbread cookies with a small angled spatula. It was a beautiful thick consistency and went on like a dream. It tastes good too. Darn I wish I'd found this recipe sooner. Thx Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryandkevinaz December 23, 2013

I decided to make basketball cookies for an end of the year surprise for my team and this frosting was PERFECT! We colored the icing orange and it hardened perfectly so we could finish them off with black basketball lines. My only regret is not taking a picture!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaeMay February 18, 2012
Cookie Icing/Frosting That Hardens