23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've used this recipe for years for my Valentine Day cookies. I've never had a problem with lumps - I use a electric hand mixer to mix this. I use vanilla flavoring only - because I don't like almond flavoring. I half the recipe and make 4 different colors. I frost 5 dozen cookies with it, which are approximately 3 x 3 in size.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_luv_sweets February 17, 2015

You can beat, stir, mix or whip this for days, but 2 cups of confectionery sugar and one tablespoon of milk will never result in anything smooth. That means that all the "reviewers" not mentioning that flaw never actually tried making it.<br/>With 3+ tablespoons of milk, it's flawless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
urotjr December 29, 2014

Best icing recipe I have tried yet and I have tried lots. Perfect proportions. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juniper20 December 22, 2014

Excellent! My only change was to use rice milk instead of dairy yo accomodate a kid with an allergy. I had to use 2 tblsp of rice milk. I colored it, and added strawberry extract. I dipped the cookies and wiped/spread with pastry brush. Great recipe, thanl uou.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michaelsmaniacal January 27, 2014

This is a really good recipe. Normally I can't stand decorating cookies. It's my least favorite baking chore. I'd rather wash dishes than frost cookies. But this stuff was really fun to work with! It was too thick to paint on with pastry brush. I spread it on shortbread cookies with a small angled spatula. It was a beautiful thick consistency and went on like a dream. It tastes good too. Darn I wish I'd found this recipe sooner. Thx Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryandkevinaz December 23, 2013

I decided to make basketball cookies for an end of the year surprise for my team and this frosting was PERFECT! We colored the icing orange and it hardened perfectly so we could finish them off with black basketball lines. My only regret is not taking a picture!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RaeMay February 18, 2012

This did harden nicely, but I found it a bit thick to work with, but my icing skills are real rusty. I think with practice, it would work. I couldn't "beat until smooth" as directed with only 1 tablespoon milk to two cups sugar, so added a tad bit more milk. Made for Christmas Cookie game at kittencalskitchen.com

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey December 19, 2010

great alternative to royal icing, when you are looking for something that dries to a 'softer' hard (if that makes sense). Easy to make and easy to use! I too needed a bit more milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kitchenmischief November 25, 2010

AWESOME recipe!!! Easy to follow and made perfect icing for my sons Valentine's Day cookies!!! So easy, and simple to follow. Everyone has the ingredients in their cupboards!! This is by far the best recipe online!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zachsmum February 11, 2010
Cookie Icing/Frosting That Hardens