Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cookie Icing/Frosting That Hardens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cookie Icing/Frosting That Hardens

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2014

      Excellent! My only change was to use rice milk instead of dairy yo accomodate a kid with an allergy. I had to use 2 tblsp of rice milk. I colored it, and added strawberry extract. I dipped the cookies and wiped/spread with pastry brush. Great recipe, thanl uou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      This is a really good recipe. Normally I can't stand decorating cookies. It's my least favorite baking chore. I'd rather wash dishes than frost cookies. But this stuff was really fun to work with! It was too thick to paint on with pastry brush. I spread it on shortbread cookies with a small angled spatula. It was a beautiful thick consistency and went on like a dream. It tastes good too. Darn I wish I'd found this recipe sooner. Thx Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      I decided to make basketball cookies for an end of the year surprise for my team and this frosting was PERFECT! We colored the icing orange and it hardened perfectly so we could finish them off with black basketball lines. My only regret is not taking a picture!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

    • on December 19, 2010

      This did harden nicely, but I found it a bit thick to work with, but my icing skills are real rusty. I think with practice, it would work. I couldn't "beat until smooth" as directed with only 1 tablespoon milk to two cups sugar, so added a tad bit more milk. Made for Christmas Cookie game at kittencalskitchen.com

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      great alternative to royal icing, when you are looking for something that dries to a 'softer' hard (if that makes sense). Easy to make and easy to use! I too needed a bit more milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      AWESOME recipe!!! Easy to follow and made perfect icing for my sons Valentine's Day cookies!!! So easy, and simple to follow. Everyone has the ingredients in their cupboards!! This is by far the best recipe online!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      I was a little skeptical when I saw all the almond extract you call for and even more skeptical when I tasted the wet icing. Actually, the wet glaze tasted so awful that I threw it away and made a different one... what a mistake! The hardened icing was flavorful, delicious, and beautiful to look at. I should have known.... :) Thanks for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I really loved this frosting for our Christmas sugar cookies. Had help with the cookies from our littlest angel so may not have been as pretty as it could have been but tasted great and was she ever proud of them. It did harden up just as we wanted and looked great on our tray. It was to thick for my to use a pastry brush to spread but that's probably more to do with my ability than anything else. Thanks Kitten for a great recipe that will be our go to for any cookies needing a little extra something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This worked well and looked to so pretty! I too needed additional milk to make it spreadable. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Easy & Works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Great flavor. Needed a bit more milk as well as another tablespoon more corn syrup to get a smooth consistency. Maybe I still got the icing too thick, but it took hours to harden to where they were stackable without getting dents. I don't mean to be too harsh though, this is great for dipping the cookie tops, and for piping onto the cookies to fill in large spaces too. Very important to sift the powdered sugar! First batch had little lumps because I forgot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Kitten - perfect!! Thank you for recommending it!! I made hand shaped cutout cookies and used this glaze to frost them. And I added the silver balls to the ring finger for a wedding band - they were adorable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      It was great! I'm posting a photo of my piggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I didn't care for this it was way too thick to work with. Perhaps more liquid was needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      This worked well, once I got the consistency right. I used a paint brush and applied 1 light coat and then immediately a heavier coat. This took about 2 hours to set up so that I could stack them. I made cookies that looked like schnauzer dogs and have submitted a photo. I would recommend this frosting. Keep in mind that this won't taste like buttercream frosting. It is good but different than a fluffy tasting frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I used this to decorate Baby Block Shower or Birthday Cake and it worked great! I've always been a pretty bad cake decorator, and this icing was very easy to use and helped make my baby blocks turn out super cute! Thanks Kittencal for yet another awsome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      This is fabulous icing! It really looks beautiful on sugar cookies and adds a lovely sweetness to them. I used a little more than 1 tablespoon milk and didn't use almond extract. It dries very quickly but it is very easy to spread on cookies. It leaves behind a glossy shine. Thanks so much for sharing Kittencal! I'll be using this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I must agree with the previous rating...this recipe is outstanding! I used all vanilla instead of mixing it up with the almond, but other than that...right on the money. Thanks for a great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I can't believe I've found an icing recipe that isn't overly complicated, with beautiful results!! We used this tonight w/ our sugar cookies & it is simple to make, tastes good, & also hardens quickly.We did color ours & found that we had to put the sprinkles on immediately, because it sets quickly.Thanks for a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cookie Icing/Frosting That Hardens

    Serving Size: 1 (6 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 40

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 25.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites