Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cookie Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cookie Frosting

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2003

      This was the perfect frosting I was looking for. I made Traci & Jeff Poole's Gingerbread Men Gingerbread Men and wanted to decorate them and this frosting was exactly what I wanted. It added the perfect sweetness and it hardened nicely. I used different color food coloring and made beautiful Gingerbream Men with my niece and nephews.I put the frosting in a zip lock bag and cut a small hole in the corner and it was perfect for squeezing onto the cookies. Thanks for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2002

      I added about 2 tablespoons of cream cheese for flavor and thickness - GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      This is sooo simple and easy to make. I used it to top your[recipe=19653]ROLL-OUT COOKIES [/recipe] which are also simple yet good. I divided the frosting between 4 bowls and added a bit of food coloring to each to make decorative valentines cookies. I used water instead of milk because i am sending them overseas to my dh. I also substituted simple syrup for corn syrup (i read that you could substitute simple for corn) Thanks for posting this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      Great frosting! I tinted the frosting to the colors I needed and it worked out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      Great frosting for your roll out cookies. I had to use a little bit more milk than the recipe called for but it was great. Next time I will add food coloring to the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      Great frosting recipe for roll-out cookies! The recipe is easy to mix up and has a nice consistency. I used cream instead of milk and had to use a bit more than 2 teaspoons. I made a double batch of the cookie frosting to frost 2 dozen pumpkin cookies ( [recipe=19653]Roll-Out Cookies[/recipe] ). The finished cookies were lovely with a nice sheen to the frosting (not dull like most I've tried). I'm going to try adding a bit of vanilla the next time I make this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2002

      this is the recipe i was looking for - the only thing i did different was to refrigerate it so it was thicker when i frosted the cookies. it is wonderful! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I used this recipe to frost Bloomin' Sugar Cookies and it worked fantastic. I added a smidge more milk. I put all the frosting in a ziploc to either decorate or to just put on the cookie and then smooth out. The ziploc kept the frosting from hardening during the process. If you are going to use sprinkles put them on right after you frost the cookie. My two children helped me frost 100 cookies in about 30 minutes. One batch frosts approx 15 cookies that are 3 1/2 in. big. We also added vanilla to some of the frosting and lemon to the other. Both were yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This was great - exactly what I needed for my Cookie Swap package! I wanted a frosting that would harden up for shipping and I found it. I did 3 batches - vanilla, cinnamon, and almond. It gets really hard quickly. If you have some left in the bowl when it gets hard, just hit it in the microwave for about 30 seconds and it will be good to go again. I frosted these Bloomin' Sugar Cookies with this recipe. Thanks! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2003

      This is soooo easy & twice as good. I used 2 extra teaspoons on milk and frosted about 20 cookies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2003

      This is a great recipie, I opted to add cream cheese as was suggested above and it turned out heavenly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      I tried to make this as a topping for my Christmas cookies. I didn't really like it though. I guess it wasn't what I was looking for. I wanted something thicker and fluffy. This was more like a glaze. If it's a glaze that you're looking for then I'm sure it would be perfect then. I wasn't too big on the taste though...maybe I just didn't do something right?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2014

      I use a similar recipe for my cookies but use maple syrup in place of corn syrup....much tastier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      This was my first attempt at making cut out cookies. The cookies were 'meh' but the frosting was really nice and very easy to make. It set up nicely, hard on the outside soft underneath. My 3-year old worked hard on placing the sprinkles just so. I posted a picture. We'll use this recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      This was perfect for what I needed it for. I iced a cake with a buttercream frosting and then made this frosting with food coloring for writing on the cake. We added a little more corn syrup to make it a little less stiff. The shiny texture was a nice compliment to the other frosting, and the taste was good, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2010

      This is one of the nicest frostings I have ever made for cookies! I did have to double the amount of milk suggested to make it smooth enough to spread, but other than that it was perfect! It dries with a nice shine and takes colors beautifully! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      made this to go with Cream Cheese Cut-Out Cookies - perfect. hardened quickly and colored beautifully. when it got too hard while i was frosting, i just put it into the microwave for 20 secs. added 1/2 tsp almond extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This was exactly what I needed. It dried up hard enough to be able to wrap and stack the cookies but not as hard as royal icing. It tasted a lot better too, especially after I added a bit of clear vanilla since I needed quite a bit of white icing (I'm hoping to get a picture of the gingerbread mummies I made for Halloween posted here). It also took nicely to other colors also, and I was easily able to change to thickness with a bit of water for the different effects I needed. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      I used this on Gingerbread Baby Cookies I made for a baby shower.I used milk but it was too thick so I still had to add about 2 tsp of water along with the 2 tsp of milk.Next time I think I will use just water.I also added a tsp of almond extract for more flavour.It also hardens quite quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2008

      Very good frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cookie Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 21.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    39%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes