Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cookie Crusted Rhubarb Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cookie Crusted Rhubarb Bars

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2011

      This is one of the best rhubarb pies I've tried, it has just the right mix of sweetness and tartness, and it's so easy to make. Everyone I've served it to has loved it. It's important to have the right proportion between eggwhites and rhubarb, though, to achieve this, so always measure your rhubarb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      I thought these would be great, but they are onlu okay. I would add more butter to the crust, maybe two Tbsp. I like a good crust in recipes like this. That can make all the difference in the world!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      OMGosh...These are fantastic! I actually hesitated making these because I thought they sounded a little on the boring side. Boy was I wrong. They are amazing. Absolutely perfect. Cannot wait for my hubby to get home so that he can try them too. ;) I am sure they will be gone in no time. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      LOVED it! This is the first time I've tried Rhubarb. Both my dad and husband said they hate Rhubarb, but I made them eat a little bite and they proceeded to eat 4 bars each! Mom would have been proud.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I have the feeling it won't last long. Cause it's really yummy. Even my son of 4 years old loved it. He took 2 bars in the afternoon. The amount of sugar is just perfect. It's not too sweet. They're not so cute cause my rhubarb is green. I'll probably have to do the recipe next week so my mom can taste them ;) Thanks Brooke :) Made for PRMR tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      I started out changing the yield to 8 bars and once I had the crust made discovered that I have no pan that would equate to half of 11x7 in any shape. After a lot of searching I decided to the a 6 cup muffin pan. I pressed the crust mix in and a little way up the sides and baked for 10 mins (8 might have been better). Then spooned equal amounts of the rhubarb into the cups and added the liquid in the bowl on top of the rhubarb. I baked again for 20 mins but they were not at all brown on the top, lowered the oven to 325F and after another 10 mins pulled them out. They were still not brown on top but the crust was almost too brown. Never the less, they taste marvelous. I used all Splenda and frozen rhubarb. Yummm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Made for Summer Spectacular as a bonus tag! We really enjoyed these ~ but then again, we love rhubarb. The only thing that I did different was to use all sugar as I don't general have good luck using Splenda with gluten free flours. Thanks for posting this Brooke!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      The crust was great but found the filling had a bitter after taste. Could be from the artificial sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I had to use frozen rhubarb, but it didn't affect the end result at all. Being the rhubarb lover that I am, this looked like a great recipe to try, and I was totally delighted while taking my first bite! My friend and her DH had one and then went back to the pan for another. They loved them too! The rhubarb stands out and it has the greatest flavor. What a nice change! These will be made again and the next time I am going to use fresh rhubarb! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Brooke. It's a winner! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game 5/09 Linda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Confession time! This is the first time I've handled rhubarb and I'm glad I chose Brooke's recipe to get me started. This is quick, easy and doesn't taste at all like a "light" bar. This pan of goodies were devoured in no time. Thanks, Brooke, for helping me over my rhubarb paranoia!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Wonderful celebration of wonderful Rhubarb...(I got to use my newly acquired powdered "just whites" for the first time...very convenient for a recipe like this that calls for so many egg whites :) )...lovely, light sweet-tart bars...Thanks Brooke the Cook!! :) YUM!!@!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I made these quite a few weeks ago and forgot to review it *blush*. They are absolutely the best. Forget date bars, these are better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      These are great bars. I used all white flour, I didn't have any wheat flour and I also used white and brown sugar. It worked well, the bars tasted wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      Oh my, these are wonderful rhubarb squares. You would never know they are a light version because they taste so good. I made them for a dessert tray I am taking to a party but they are all gone already so I will have to make another batch. My sister is on her way over with more rhubarb!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cookie Crusted Rhubarb Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (52 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.6
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    27%
    Total Fat 3.0 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 40.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Splenda granular

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes