8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Worked really well, except I apparently had a field or carving pumpkin, instead of a sugar pumpkin, the kind you need for pies. I baked it for a total of 1.5 hours, and it was still hard to scrape it and my blender almost had a heart attack! I got rave reviews for the pie, though! So make sure you use a sugar or pie pumpkin!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liorah November 29, 2007

So I used a candy pumpkin and baked it for 45 minutes but it was still too hard and wouldn't blend in my processor. I had to bake them at least another 20 minutes but ended up losing a quarter because I thought it was baked completely but it wasn't. Lots of work but worth it. SOOO much better than store its crazy. I thought I liked the store brand but I will never go back. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrittneyHope October 31, 2010

Glad to find your recipe. And you're right -- fresh pumpkin is DEFINITELY better than the canned! I made pumpkin cookies with mine so it wasn't even necessary to process it. THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennabelle October 31, 2009

This was my first attempt at cooking a pumpkin for puree. With your help it was a success. So easy. Now I will know what to do w/ all the leftover pumpkins I have after the holidays. Thanks Helen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben's Mom November 06, 2007

I used a Hubbard squash (my granny always used this instead of pumpkin). Perhaps I didn't cut the quarters small enough becuase it took 1 1/2 hours to get the squash soft. It pureed really nice and is a beautiful orange color. Can't wait to try it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good November 03, 2006

every recipe I use tastes better with fresh pumpkin. In order to cut back on time, I don't process all of the pumpkin, I slice the rest and put them in ziploc bags for individual use

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenPo October 30, 2006

I do this now. I started when my dad told my step mom how to do the boiled version. I thought it was too liquidy so I roasted it the next year. I know LOVE pumpkin pie. Hated it before with canned pumpkin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasb June 12, 2005

good stuff

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
asdf asdf October 15, 2001
Cooked Pumpkin [native America]