Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cooked Oatmeal Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cooked Oatmeal Scones

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2007

      This was just great! I had a lot of extra leftover oatmeal and was looking for a way to use it up, other than just eating it. I added more honey as suggested by other reviews. Also I made a few scones with chocolate chips, strawberry jam, and other great flavorings just to give it some variety. But the ones I left plain were just great. And also I used applesauce instead of butter to reduce the fat content. I also used soymilk instead of milk and I omitted the salt. This is wonder and I plan on making this again many times in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      Very good! Only 3 points! I used 1/2 whit and 1/2 whaheat flour. Also cut the recipe in half because i wasn't quite sure how they'd turn out. Added 1t. of baking soda also. They rised nicly, and give you a good size scone. Took Akikobay's advice and added oargne zest and craisins. Made one with choc. chips for my mom, and all turned out well. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      I used your Oatmeal Cooked in a Rice Cooker #86820 recipe to make the oatmeal. It was still warm when I mixed this, and that was fine. I used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup soy flour, and finished them out with white. (Always upsetting when I run out of whole wheat flour!) They had a lovely flavor and texture. I'm taking 1 to my co-worker who is diabetic (and never gets the home baked goodies people bring) and sharing the rest with my kids. Excellent! I think I've started on a kick of making tons of your recipes. They are so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      Excellent! DH loves scones but is very picky because he says too many people overbake them. I baked these for 18 minutes and they were perfect. So tender, very tasty. I did have to add extra flour as it's very damp here today but they turned out wonderful. I always put dried fruit like dates or walnuts in my oatmeal so they were also in the scones and it worked out fine. I can tell that I will be making these a lot around my house. Very easy, very tasty and so tender. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      These are soooooo good! My leftover oatmeal had pecans and dried blueberries in it. I switched out the butter for a blueberry-pomegranate flavored applesauce. The dough came together perfectly for me...not too dry or wet. I flattened it and cut it into 8 pieces, sprinkled it with some brown sugar and sugar in the raw, and baked it for 15 minutes. Took it out of the oven to separate the pieces a little and then put it back in for 5 minutes longer. Texture perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      These were great. Different from any scones I've ever made. Definately healthier. I used white whole wheat flour. I added vanilla, cinnamon and some apple butter. It's a great basic recipe and I have 1001 ideas on what to add to them to make them different every single time. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I'm enjoying these for breakfast. I made exactly by the recipe except that I added about a half a cup of dried cranberries which I stirred into the flour mixture before adding to the wet ingreds. My favorite way to serve them is to split them, spread a little butter on each half, and toast them under the broiler until a little browned around the edges. These are really easy to make. I used a third of a cup measuring scoop which made 9 scones. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      I have had wonderful compliments! one guest from Ireland said that they were better than scones he had in the teahouses there. I always put raisins in my oatmeal and so they're in the scones too. Also, I add the honey and butter to the warm oatmeal and melt them in the pot (less cleaning). I make them quite regularly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      I followed the recipe as outlined; scones turned out great! One thing, though: my leftover oatmeal was truly 'leftover' i.e. in addition to the basic oatmeal ingredients, it also contained milk, smidge of raw sugar, cinnamon, dried cranberries and almond slices. FYI for those who complained about lack of sweetness, etc...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      I have been using this recipe for years! Even shared it on my blog. Love it! I hate to throw away food so this is the perfect remedy for leftover oatmeal (which we eat a lot). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I made these scones today and will definitely be using this recipe again next time I have some leftover oatmeal in the fridge! The scones were very easy to pull together (it took me about 15 mins total which included time to measure, melt, etc) and turned out very tender, with a wonderful light texture. I will make 2 recommendations, though.
      1. Make sure you season your oatmeal well! Since the recipe has only a little honey as a flavor agent, the finished scones will taste of nothing but very lightly sweetened oatmeal at the end unless you make some additions. I added dried cranberries and chopped pecans to mine which helped, but I think that next time I will also replace some of the milk with orange juice or mix in some lemon zest to really boost the flavor.
      2. I usually brush the tops of my scones with milk or juice and then sprinkle with sugar for added color, texture and flavor. I forgot this step today and, while these browned up nicely, they were lacking that pretty bakery finish that I like to have. Not a big deal, but definitely something to remember for next time!
      All in all, this is a wonderful recipe to use as a scone base. Mix in some extra ingredients for flavor and you get scones worthy of company!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      These were pretty bad, I'd rather toss my leftover oatmeal than waste more ingredients on these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      I won't give stars, because I used cooked millet instead of oatmeal. I also added a few dried cranberries. The scones turned out very nicely with a bit of extra flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      These are fantastic. It would appear, though, that I make my oatmeal rather wet, or that having the oatmeal sit in the fridge overnight alters things a bit, as I have to cook mine for nearly half an hour. It might also be that I cook them on my cast iron skillet, too. When they come out, though, they are delightfully tender, almost flaky, and my 3-year-old loves to help make them. Definitely a good excuse to over-estimate how much oatmeal we'll eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      I loved these! Used leftover Steel Cut Oatmeal for the Crock Pot, plain ole cooked steel cut oats. Tender and slightly sweet. I enjoyed them as is, but they'd be good served with jam or with cranberries, blueberries, or chopped dried fruit added to the dough. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This was a pretty good way to use up leftover oatmeal the one time I made way too much! Fairly easy to make. Consistancy of finished product was not quite the scones I've traditionally had (more moist) but still very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      delicious and easy. i used brown sugar and white flour as i didn't have honey and whole wheat flour around. they were very quick to put together as well as tasty. thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      YUM!!! I had tons of leftover oatmeal earlier this week (we never know how much the kids will eat!), and I didn't want to chuck it. Unfortunately, I was out of wheat flour, but they turned out EXCELLENT with white flour. I think next time I'll do half of each. We loved the hint of honey. I thought it was sweet enough. Thanks SO MUCH for a great recipe for my leftover oatmeal! I will definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2007

      I have one word for these...awesome! I added a few walnuts. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      This was a very interesting scone recipe. Different from "Scottish" scones that use oatmeal, these are more dense and moist. I found them lacking in a bit of oomph, so I'll be thinking of ways to brighten them up a bit, perhaps by adding some grated orange zest and some cranberries. Having said this, my family loved these very much warm out of the oven with a bit of jam. Thanks for posting this, we will make it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cooked Oatmeal Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.2
     
    Calories from Fat 44
    24%
    Total Fat 4.9 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.4 mg
    3%
    Sodium 363.5 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites