Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cooked Chicken for Recipes - Barefoot Contessa Style
    Lost? Site Map

    Cooked Chicken for Recipes - Barefoot Contessa Style

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2010

      I would love to be able to give this lots more stars---this is the greatest way to cook chicken to use in any recipe requiring pre-cooked chicken. The chicken stays moist and juicy not dried out! I've even used skinless, boneless chicken breasts and cut the time down to about 25-30 minutes depending on the size! Really great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      Great way to cook chicken to be used later in recipes calling for cooked chicken. This recipe actually served two purposes, one for the chicken to use later in a chicken and noodle dish and the other was to use the drippings that evening to make a gravy to go along with a different recipe where all the drippings would be absorbed in the dressing. Thanks for posting the recipe. Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      DELISH!!! I was really impressed how great my chicken came out. I used chicken breast, and cooked them at 25 minutes. I chopped them up, and put them on salad. I can't believe how easy and tasty this recipe comes out!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Excellent method for cooking chicken to use in casseroles, soups, salads, etc. No more boring, poached chicken for me. The meat is much more tender and juicy when cooked this way. I have used bone in/skin on and boneless/skinless breasts and thighs. Perfection. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      very good recipe very tasty and it makes a nice meal even for the fussy eaters

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Ina made a believer out of me, too, years ago. Compared to her method, boiled chicken is just dry and tasteless. One thing I've learned is to be generous with the salt and pepper. Since the skin is removed afterwards, and a good bit of the seasonings along with it, I sprinkle the s&p on with a little heavier hand than usual. If you really want to take your chicken salad and casseroles up a notch, take Lvs2Cook's great advice and try this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Hello! Why haven't I done this earlier?! I was taught to poach my chicken breasts or cook them in the crockpot and debone for casseroles, soups, etc. This was WAY better...juiciest chicken ever!! I had to set a few pieces aside for myself before dividing the rest into containers. Awesome!! Thanks Lvs2Cook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      What can I say except that Ina is a genius! I prepared 4 chicken breasts, and actually froze the chopped chicken for later use. What a timesaver!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I saw her make this on the show and have been meaning to look for the recipe on here and voila! You have it. I followed it exactly and the chicken was wonderful! Made for Fall PAC 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2011

      I've used this method now many times now, for recipes that call for cooked, diced, chicken. It comes out great every time! Thank you for posting this method here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Wonderful way to cook chicken! I added celery seed, onion powder and garlic powder, along with the salt & pepper. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Faaaaaantastic!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      It's true! It always turns out great and MOIST ! After years of boiling chicken this is the only way I make it now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Lvs2Cook, thanks for sharing this great recipe. In the past, I took the lazy way out and boiled the chicken breasts whenever I needed the meat for use in casseroles or salads. But I never tasted the flavor of the chicken with this method. If you want great tasting chicken, (and not chicken soup) take a tip from Lvs2Cook and do it this way from now on. BTW, I sprinkled with with garlic and onion powders, celery salt and white pepper. Moist and so delish and with the aromatic smell of the oven, you might not even want to save it for later and just serve this for dinner!! lol Thank you Lvs2 and Barefoot Contessa, too!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      Five stars all the way! I have been using this method for "pre-cooked" chicken for probably a decade. Poaching long ago passed me by. The roasting gives soooo much more flavor. Thanks for posting,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      No going back to poaching...this is so easy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Perfect way to roast chicken! I love this method. It is so simple and flavorful. I used bone in. Nice and juicy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      Great fool-proof way to make chicken for recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I made this with boneless skinless chicken breasts for a main course salad I was serving. Even without skin, the breasts came out tender, juicy and so flavourful. Trust Ina to have the perfect way to prepare chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Ina is one of my favorite Food Network Chefs and this recipe showcases the fact that you don't need a lot of fancy, expensive ingredients or hours of prep to make something delicious. This really allows the flavor of the chicken to shine through; excellent for salads and for freezing. I also freeze the bones and juices until I have enough to make homemade chicken stock..basic cooking at it's very best! Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cooked Chicken for Recipes - Barefoot Contessa Style

    Serving Size: 1 (299 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 289.1
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    55%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 91.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 30.2 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes