Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Conquistador Quiche Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Conquistador Quiche

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2002

      The cafeteria at work used to serve a similar quiche (can't remember if it had a name). But the taste was to die for. However, they didn't serve it often, but when they did, you had to arrive early to get some. Then they stopped making it altogether, something about too much time, too hard etc. So, recently while searching the web for a quiche recipe, I lucked upon your site via Google. This quiche is not only easy to make, but the taste is devine (it surpasses my tastebuds' memory of the cafeteria quiche). I made two for our Xmas luncheon and everyone had a piece and several had seconds. The true testimony is I had no less than six requests for the recipe. I responded by e-mailing the link to your website.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2002

      This was excellent. We used hot Italian sausage and the spices were wonderful. [A note to anybody using frozen pie shells (like I did): although the package may say 'deep dish', it probably isn't (the brand we got certainly wasn't, it was just the normal pie size). If you use normal pie size, this recipe will make 2 quiches.] Thanks very much for posting, this will get made often for brunches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      I tried your recipe this week and my family loved it. It's the first time I tried chorizo. We have a butcher in the neighborhood who makes it,and I picked out about 10 jalapenos before browning the meat - really didn't need the extra spices in this case! I had cut them to a half tespoon, but was still a bit too hot for my 12 year-old's "delicate palate." I'm definitely going to make it again. Hadn't made a quiche in years,and this was so easy and so, SO TASTY. Thanks for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2002

      I used Canadian bacon because of the lower fat, and I like it better. This was really tasty for a light dinner served with fresh melons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      This one woke up our taste buds for sure. I thought this was an excellent quiche. It had a wonderful blend of Mexican spices. I used chorizo sausage that I drained real well after frying. I used cream instead of milk and agree that it makes for a richer flavor. We had this for dinner but it would be good for any meal. Thanks Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This dish is outstanding! We really enjoyed it. I used mild chorizo and drained it well after cooking. To keep it calorie friendly, I did not use a pie crust. I made it crustless by simply spraying a moderate amount of nonstick cooking spray. It worked really well. The seasonings are spot on and well balanced. I thought this was gonna be very spicy but it was not. I cut back on the black pepper by 1/2. The suggested baking time is spot on! Thanks a bunch Karen for sharing this gem. It's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      I made this for brunch today. It was quick, easy and we both loved it! I used 3/4 lb spicy ground sausage so that it would fit in one pie crust since it's just the two of us. I had a bit of meat mix left over which will work well in a wrap for lunch tomorrow. Since I was recently diagnosed diabetic, I have to watch my carbs and this recipe, believe it or not is carb friendly. It didn't spike my glucose levels at all! YAY! I also used one cup of "Egg Beaters" instead of eggs and 1/2 cup of 1% milk. The joy of this recipe is it can be tailored to dietary restrictions without losing flavour. Next time I will mix the chilis in with the cooked sausage/onion mixture instead of layering on top of the meat. I didn't want to get bites of just chilies. I served it with lettuce, tomatoes, chopped green onions and a dollop of salsa and sour cream. I tented the foil at the beginning and removed it near the end to prevent the crust from burning. Thanks for a great recipe, Karen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      This was an excellent dinner quiche. Had to use Italian Hot Sausage as the store didn't have chorizo. I sauteed the full can of chilies with the sausage and onions along with 2 cloves of garlic until all of the liquid was evaporated. Times provided were perfect. This is RECOMMENDED!! Guess what I'm having for breakfast.......

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Is there anything above a 5??? My husband rarely gives anything a 5-star - I think he's always thinking there is "something better" ;-) He couldn't stop raving about this dish and actually suggested we try it as a "Deep Dish Pizza" sometime instead of using a pie crust. I used spicy turkey italian sausage, fat free 1/2 & 1/2, increased green chiles to 8 oz because that's the size can I had, and also increased cheese to 1 cup. I only had one pie crust (store bought deep dish ... it wasn't big enough), so I poured the rest into a small casserole and made it crustless ... still yummy (and preferable to me). We also had enough left over for the next night ... serves up very well as left overs!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Very very very yummy - and using nonfat half and half worked surprisingly well. We only wonder why it's not called Con"quiche"tador.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      Yummy recipe!! I made this for my Mah Jong ladies luncheon yesterday and everyone said how good it was. I used 2/3 mild and 1/3 spicy Italian sausage, since I wasn't sure how "heat tolerant " these ladies are. I also added sliced, seeded tomato slices on top of the sausage before I added the chilies and used a Mexican blend cheese. I will bring back some Boulder Sausage chorizo when we get back from Crested Butte this summer, as I find it far superior to the chorizo I can get here in Texas- go figure, huh? I can't wait to try it with the chorizo and may have to make it while I'm up in CB! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      Awesome. My BF loves quiche but he also has a huge appetite. This is plenty of food for the both of us. It is nor his favorite quiche recipe. I have made it a few times one with chorizo and once with hot italian sausage - both were excellent. The only thing I alter each time is that I have to use 6 large eggs to get it to the consistency we like. I use a regular (not deep-dish) Pillsbury cheater-crust in an old Pyrex pie dish and it all fits in there... but it comes really close! This recipe is delicious! Try it, you'll be glad you did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      This was so yummy! We have had this several times and really enjoy it. I use chorizo. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Flavorful and easy! I made the quiche a directed using cream and mild Italian sausage. I had a frozen deep dish pie crust in the freezer leftover from the holidays and chose this recipe to use it up; so glad I did. This is a definite keeper. Thank you for sharing, Karen From Colorado!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Very tasty but definately could bump up spices. Will probably double them at least. I used Italian sausage. Next time will try chorizo :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      This is a great filling breakfast. I thought the flavors were great and easy to do. I used a crust I didn't like so will use a better one next time. I used Bob Evans Hot sausage and was soooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Yum, yum, yum. I used two frozen pie shells. I had to increase the egg and milk to have two quiches (one extra egg and a little milk.) I think next time I will remove the casing from the sausage, and I'd like to try this with hot turkey sausage to cut down on the fat. We really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Sorry forgot to review this last weekend when I made it. This was my first Quiche that I have ever made or even ate. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This went together quickly and is very tasty. I made a couple of changes. I used a potato crust(baked potatoes, sliced) and spicy chicken sausage. next time I'll use chorizo sausage. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      I love this! It is wonderful right out of the over or as leftover - put and little salsa and sour cream on top - yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Conquistador Quiche

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 381.9
     
    Calories from Fat 254
    66%
    Total Fat 28.2 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 181.2 mg
    60%
    Sodium 1043.9 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites