Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Congo Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Congo Bars

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2007

      I was going to post this recipe, as my mom used to make them all the time for us when we were kids... They are great with pecans also, and some added coconut too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      I printed out this recipe, handed it to my lovely bride, and in no time at all, I was eating delicious CONGO BARS!!!! I had never heard of Congo Bars before this but now I'm ready to move to The Congo! What a fine recipe this is -- Brownies, move over!!!! My wife and I both loved them and I gave some to the neighbors as a dessert for their supper and they loved them as much as we did. Linda, my wife, followed the recipe as written, using the maiximum baking time and the end result was "gooey in the middle" (just right) -- perfect! And they didn't get hard when they cooled.It makes quite a few so she used the Kitchen Aide mixer and there were NO PROBLEMS. Treat yourself to this fine desert/snack, or, use this recipe for a covered dish. Once folks taste them, they'll go fast! Thank you SO MUCH and God Bless You, Mimi in Maine, for posting your fine recipe for Congo Bars. I would also mention that, (perhaps gilding the lily a bit), add a generous scoop of good vanilla ice cream to the top. My highest rating and THEN some. pat, the old bone man.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      My mom made these when we were growing up. I lost her recipe and this is exactly how I remember them. Even the edges are chewy. They freeze well. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      If you like chocolate chip cookies you will LOVE these!!! All my kids beg me for them all the time and it is now their favorite dessert. Sometimes we have with ice cream on top. Me I heat mine up first then add the ice cream, but the kids like them straight out of the pan with the ice cream. No matter how you make them, they are really yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      I do not recommend this recipe. I followed the recipe as directed, except I used pecans instead of walnuts. I was very disappointed. For one, I believe that the recipe calls for too many chocolate chips. I would recommend only using 1/2 a bag. They were VERY sweet & rich. I had to keep putting it back in the oven for additional time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      It doesn't get any better than this. Move over chocolate chip cookies, these are twice as good! Loaded with nuts is our preference, and as one reviewer suggested I did add coconut. Wow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Saw this recipe on Bakerella's blog and knew I had to bake these!! Glad I did - LOVED them!! Came out moist and oh so tasty! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      These are delicious and moist! I made them as directed and used only a wooden spoon to mix them. They came out perfect after being baked for 25 minutes. They are full of flavor and chocolate! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      I have been eating these since I was a little girl and my mom used to make them. I decided I wanted to make some today after coming across your posting on Zaar. The only thing I changed this time that I have never done in the past is that I only had about half a bag of chocolate chips, so I added half a bag of toffee bits to the dough as well. The toffee was terrific, I don't think I will ever make them without it again! I baked them for 30 minutes, and they were perfect. I almost baked them longer becauase they looked still very undercooked, but I decided to wait and see and I am glad I did, they were the perfect amount of chewy and gooeyness. Thank you for reminding me of one of my favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Mimi these were excellent and went over big, they disappeared fast....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I made these and took them to a party over the weekend. They were a hit! Nice thick, soft bars. I baked them for about 28 minutes in a pyrex pan. Thanks! I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      These bars are wonderful! My grandmother used to make these all the time, so one day when I had a craving for them I decided to do a little web-searching and found this recipe. As soon as they came out of the oven both my boyfriend and my dad were hovering over the pan, waiting to have the first bite! I baked them for the minimum amount and at first thought they weren't cooked all the way b/c they were so gooey but they firmed up after they cooled. They're best straight from the oven with a little ice cream, but are still yummy a couple days after they're made. They won't last long though! (P.S. the dough is super-tasty too!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      I love these! I was so happy to find a recipe for them, my MIL had been talking about these for weeks and when I found them on here I rushed out to make them. Everyone in the family loved them and I loved how simple they were, easy fast snack to make and keep on hand. thank you for posting and for curing my craving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This is exactly the way my mom used to make these when I was a kid. They were my favorite. Now that I have my own kids, I asked my mom for the recipe. I was just about to post it, but did a quick check to see if it was already here. I'm glad the highest rated Congo Bar Recipe was the one that mom used to make!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      DH requested congo bars like his Grandma used to make and he said these fit the bill quite well. For everyone's info about 2 1/2 cups brown sugar should equal about 1 lb. We omitted the walnuts due to not having them and added a handful of coconut. They were a little too sweet for our taste, but they rose well and were nicely chewy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      So chewy and yummy!! One of my childhood friend's mom used to make these and I loved them. So glad I can now make them too! I omitted the nuts and used 1/2 bag milk chocolate chips and 1/2 bag butterscotch chips. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

      My husband and I thought these were pretty good. I'm glad I tried them, but the taste was just a little bit off for some reason. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Very good, very rich. I used 2 1/3 cups of brown sugar to equal one pound. I also substituted butterscotch chips for the walnuts. Be careful not to over bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      If anyone could say these are anything but five stars, they need bongo bars because they are crazy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      These bars had a great chewy texture, and were very easy to prepare. I omitted the walnuts, as my children aren't partial to them, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing, Mimi in Maine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Congo Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (1570 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.3
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    42%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 36.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 147.4 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 26.2 g
    105%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes