20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was going to post this recipe, as my mom used to make them all the time for us when we were kids... They are great with pecans also, and some added coconut too!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen March 27, 2007

I printed out this recipe, handed it to my lovely bride, and in no time at all, I was eating delicious CONGO BARS!!!! I had never heard of Congo Bars before this but now I'm ready to move to The Congo! What a fine recipe this is -- Brownies, move over!!!! My wife and I both loved them and I gave some to the neighbors as a dessert for their supper and they loved them as much as we did. Linda, my wife, followed the recipe as written, using the maiximum baking time and the end result was "gooey in the middle" (just right) -- perfect! And they didn't get hard when they cooled.It makes quite a few so she used the Kitchen Aide mixer and there were NO PROBLEMS. Treat yourself to this fine desert/snack, or, use this recipe for a covered dish. Once folks taste them, they'll go fast! Thank you SO MUCH and God Bless You, Mimi in Maine, for posting your fine recipe for Congo Bars. I would also mention that, (perhaps gilding the lily a bit), add a generous scoop of good vanilla ice cream to the top. My highest rating and THEN some. pat, the old bone man.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bone Man March 01, 2007

My mom made these when we were growing up. I lost her recipe and this is exactly how I remember them. Even the edges are chewy. They freeze well. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lallison118_12782614 May 20, 2012

If you like chocolate chip cookies you will LOVE these!!! All my kids beg me for them all the time and it is now their favorite dessert. Sometimes we have with ice cream on top. Me I heat mine up first then add the ice cream, but the kids like them straight out of the pan with the ice cream. No matter how you make them, they are really yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SheilaCanney January 20, 2012

I do not recommend this recipe. I followed the recipe as directed, except I used pecans instead of walnuts. I was very disappointed. For one, I believe that the recipe calls for too many chocolate chips. I would recommend only using 1/2 a bag. They were VERY sweet & rich. I had to keep putting it back in the oven for additional time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aab7806 December 18, 2011

It doesn't get any better than this. Move over chocolate chip cookies, these are twice as good! Loaded with nuts is our preference, and as one reviewer suggested I did add coconut. Wow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MyCookiesCrumble July 25, 2010

Saw this recipe on Bakerella's blog and knew I had to bake these!! Glad I did - LOVED them!! Came out moist and oh so tasty! Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie June 10, 2010

These are delicious and moist! I made them as directed and used only a wooden spoon to mix them. They came out perfect after being baked for 25 minutes. They are full of flavor and chocolate! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 05, 2010

I have been eating these since I was a little girl and my mom used to make them. I decided I wanted to make some today after coming across your posting on Zaar. The only thing I changed this time that I have never done in the past is that I only had about half a bag of chocolate chips, so I added half a bag of toffee bits to the dough as well. The toffee was terrific, I don't think I will ever make them without it again! I baked them for 30 minutes, and they were perfect. I almost baked them longer becauase they looked still very undercooked, but I decided to wait and see and I am glad I did, they were the perfect amount of chewy and gooeyness. Thank you for reminding me of one of my favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karabea January 31, 2010

Mimi these were excellent and went over big, they disappeared fast....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pastry Chef Stonewall69 January 13, 2009
Congo Bars