Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Confit D' Oignon - French Onion Marmalade Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Confit D' Oignon - French Onion Marmalade

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2010

      I am an onion-lover, so this recipe intrigued me; I HAD to make it! It did not disappoint. I've been digging into my taster jar in the fridge. How could this get any better after a month? It's really wonderful right now. Though it was very easy to make, it did take a while to cook down the onions. But I put them in an extra heavy pan, and used my heat diffuser so I didn't have to hover over the pan. Next time, before browning, I will slice my onion halves in half again - I have some onion strands which I feel are too long. And as you suggested, try red onions for a red confit. This is a great marmalade - thanks Karen. Another perfect recipe from FT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Delish! Here's what I changed, and the lessons I learned: 1. I used Walla Walla sweet onions, since I'm in Seattle, and they are in season (and delish!) 2. I trebled (3x) the recipe, and it made a huge difference in trying to color the onions in the first couple steps. I recommend that if you do this in larger volumes or with a sweet onion, you brown the onions in small batches first and then put them in a big pot and do the rest, otherwise, you end up with a very soupy batch that needs to be boiled down for hours. IT's FANTASTIC!!!! Thanks French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Oh my! When a recipe catches your eye AND you have all the ingredients at hand AND it tastes great right out of the pot, I'd say it's a winner! Can't imagine how good it's going to taste several weeks from now, but my tastebuds are thrilled with how it turned out right now. :-) I used white vermouth for the white wine (which is my "white wine" of choice when to comes to recipes. I always make sure to have it on hand since it's pretty shelf-stable.) Thanks FT... my friends are going to love my contributions to our mah jongg and card nights!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      I must admit, this is a good one, tho I haven't tasted it after it has been in the jars, but right out of the pan, it is fantastic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      It is so good I tried to make a 6 jar batch. If you make larger batches, you certainly should brown in small batches and with about half the oil of the original recipe. It does take hours to reduce if you make large batches, but that also carmelizes the onions more. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Oo la la! I was extremely delighted with the finished product. It is absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly, using both red & brown onions. I did sneak a taste upon making and then waited for around 3 weeks for real taste test. So easy to make! I have stocked up on onions to make another batch and it will be ready as Christmas gifts but I will really hate parting with this delicacy. Thanks so much for the recipe French Tart

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      excellent! served it on duck breasts and will try on steak too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      delicious recipe. This came out so yummy, beautiful jam consistency and such good flavor. I will eat it with my foie gras. Thank you for such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      I made this two weeks ago, just so I could make your savory cabbage and cassoulet last night. This stuff is incredible. I nibbled a bit on it when I made it wondering how it could get any better after two weeks. I used red and yellow onions and I used four 1-cup jars to can this. Next time I'm going to make more and give some away to friends and family. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Very Yummy! I've had it in my mind to make this recipe for a very long time now and it is well worth it. The only problem is how many onions have to be chopped to make such a small amount! Because the other reviewers have said how yummy it was I decided to double the batch and used 1kg of brown onions and 1kg of red. I also added a sprig of thyme. I used a bit less sugar simply because I didn't quite have enough and I think next time I make it I will reduce the oil to almost half and see how it goes. I made it specifically to have with sharon123's red lentil pate. Cheers for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      We absolutely loved this and just couldn't wait to eat it. We had it with home made scottish oatcakes, cheddar cheese, and side salad, for lunch. A friend gave me a big bag of onions as they were starting to shoot, so I will be making more and it might last over the summer. (dont think so ) I did'nt change a thing it was very good as it was Thanks for a great storecupboard goody French Tart.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      excellent recipe. I made this to use with deluxe hotdogs, and it certainly turned the humble hotdog into a real treat! I liked the mix of vinegars, and the subtle flavour of the herbs. Next time I make it I think I will cut back a bit on the sugar, but thats the only thing I would change. thanks FT

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      I know I have to wait and let it mature, but I wanted an onion confit for tonight's steaks, and this was it. Great!! The taste came out just right, and as a reviewer said, it must be even better after 2 weeks!! It is a delicious recipe, and I did not make any adjustments: none necessary. Thank you, French Tart, and may I suggest to those who come across this review: it's just as yummy if you halve the recipe and make it exactly like the recipe, to use with dinner, with red meat. Bottled and matured, it will probably age like good wine! You'll notice I also could not wait 2 weeks to write a review!! SECOND REVIEW, Sept 23 2007: Last night I had this desire for onion confit, and made the whole recipe, not half. It came out as great as before, and there was definitely much more than 300ml -- I got at least double that, and all the liquid except for a little "jam" had evaporated. We had some of it with hamburgers, and I had to forcibly stop my husband from scoffing too much -- this time I want to let some of it mature!! (I doubt it will last that long!) Great and versatile recipe which can be used in so many ways. Thanks, French Tart!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Oh, French Tart, this was truly amazing. How can a mixture of onion, spices, and wine not be delicious?? It tasted like French onion soup minus the broth. As suggested, I used this with your Stir-Fried Savoy Cabbage recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2007

      French Tart do you know what is wrong with this Confit? I can't wait 2 weeks to try it! I tasted it now and it is wonderful so I can only imagine what it will be like in 2 weeks to a month. I used yellow onions and was a bit short on redwine vinegar so I used a bit more balsamic. Mine looks a lot darker that your picture but it is not in the least burnt. I will add notes to this review in a couple of weeks when it has aged for a bit.Added notes 5 May French Tart's birthday - I put some of this confit on an open faced breakfast sandwich consisting of a Corn wafer, tomatoe, cheese & the confit on top - Yes it was worth waiting the two weeks - Wonderful

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      I had wanted to wait out the two weeks and then rate this recipe, but I have decided to follow Bergy's example and rate it now with a follow-up note. This is DELICIOUS fresh from the pan and I can only imagine how wonderful it will be after maturing some. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2014

      This is a stonking good recipe. I made several batches six months ago and the flavour has matured beautifully since then, richer with an almost garlicky background taste. Lovely with strong cheeses, foie gras, cold meats ... and pretty much anything actually.<br/>I chopped the rosemary up finely before adding it - just sharpens the flavour slightly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      Oh my goodness, this is heaven in a jar. I made this recipe not knowing how it would be. After I filled my jars I had about 2 T. left that didn't fit so I took a cracker and spooned it on. It was soooo good I then proceded to practically lick the pot out too! I made these exactly one week and 6 days, I can't wait for tomorrow and I'm cracking open a jar to eat on burgers. Thank you for this extremely delicious recipe. So good. I hope everyone tries this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      mmmmmmmmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Confit D' Oignon - French Onion Marmalade

    Serving Size: 1 (1417 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1841.4
     
    Calories from Fat 787
    42%
    Total Fat 87.4 g
    134%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2425.5 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 249.8 g
    83%
    Dietary Fiber 17.3 g
    69%
    Sugars 194.4 g
    777%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rosemary sprigs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites