Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coney Island Hot Dog Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coney Island Hot Dog Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2009

      I followed the recipe as written and used Nathan's hot dogs. I served it at a cook-out and the reaction was not good. In fact, we went to the grocery store and bought a can of sauce to replace this disaster. I gave it 2 stars since one person did like it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2014

      This is a good recipe for the kind of Coney Island Dogs I grew up with in Illinois. We add a bit more mustard (I like mine mustardy), some worcester sauce and occasionally some ketchup. I also just whiz up the onions, garlic and 1 hot dog and throw it all in at the beginning, instead of waiting to put in the dog later. Putting in the ground up hot dog into the sauce is a must though.<br/>Update 11th Jan 2014, just had a brainwave and added a bit of pickle juice to this - yum! Wish I had thought of it earlier. This is still my go-to Coney Island dog sauce recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Haven't tried it yet but to answwer Bruce ,yes,the original coney is from New York. This recipe is from "The Original Flint Coney Island",an old coney restaurant in downtown Flint.It had a horseshoe shaped counter with stools around a central cooking/serving areas.It's been gone for many years now. I hope this sauce is close to the one I remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      Made thse for my son's sleepover. The adults really liked it. The only criticism was they found it too sweet. Maybe next time will add a pinch more salt and maybe some red pepper flakes to up the heat a tad bit. Other than that, it's a good easy recipe that really does taste like fair chili dogs.Will use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I haven't made this recipe yet but it looks really interesting. I've never seen anything that used ground hot dogs before. I'll try it and give my review. However...Maybe I don't know my history but how can an original Coney Island recipe come from Flint, Michigan? Wasn't the original recipe from the Coney Island amusement park, in New York? Well, regardless of it's origin or originality, it looks so unusual that I just have to try it! Bruce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2007

    • on March 21, 2007

      I liked it! I did just as the recipe said, grinding the hot dogs in the food processor. Very tasty, especially good on deep fried tator tots with shredded cheese on top... I might make some extra next time and freeze it in small containers for the future! thank you DiB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2005

      Very easy & tasted great! I opted for this recipe as a change from Michigan style sauce; the ground hotdogs give a wonderful flavor to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      I have this same recipe and it is very important that you grind the weiners and add them Changes flavors Mickey in washington

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      I am looking to duplicate a local favorite and this recipe had great texture but it was too thick and not enought flavor. Did not add the ground wieners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coney Island Hot Dog Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (1489 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 539.8
     
    Calories from Fat 323
    59%
    Total Fat 35.9 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 14.3 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 142.8 mg
    47%
    Sodium 1037.4 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 41.8 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites