10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed the recipe as written and used Nathan's hot dogs. I served it at a cook-out and the reaction was not good. In fact, we went to the grocery store and bought a can of sauce to replace this disaster. I gave it 2 stars since one person did like it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountain State Chef June 14, 2009

This is a good recipe for the kind of Coney Island Dogs I grew up with in Illinois. We add a bit more mustard (I like mine mustardy), some worcester sauce and occasionally some ketchup. I also just whiz up the onions, garlic and 1 hot dog and throw it all in at the beginning, instead of waiting to put in the dog later. Putting in the ground up hot dog into the sauce is a must though.<br/>Update 11th Jan 2014, just had a brainwave and added a bit of pickle juice to this - yum! Wish I had thought of it earlier. This is still my go-to Coney Island dog sauce recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget C January 11, 2014

Haven't tried it yet but to answwer Bruce ,yes,the original coney is from New York. This recipe is from "The Original Flint Coney Island",an old coney restaurant in downtown Flint.It had a horseshoe shaped counter with stools around a central cooking/serving areas.It's been gone for many years now. I hope this sauce is close to the one I remember.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmaan July 31, 2008

Made thse for my son's sleepover. The adults really liked it. The only criticism was they found it too sweet. Maybe next time will add a pinch more salt and maybe some red pepper flakes to up the heat a tad bit. Other than that, it's a good easy recipe that really does taste like fair chili dogs.Will use this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Monajean July 01, 2007

I haven't made this recipe yet but it looks really interesting. I've never seen anything that used ground hot dogs before. I'll try it and give my review. However...Maybe I don't know my history but how can an original Coney Island recipe come from Flint, Michigan? Wasn't the original recipe from the Coney Island amusement park, in New York? Well, regardless of it's origin or originality, it looks so unusual that I just have to try it! Bruce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bruce Benjamin June 26, 2007

I liked it! I did just as the recipe said, grinding the hot dogs in the food processor. Very tasty, especially good on deep fried tator tots with shredded cheese on top... I might make some extra next time and freeze it in small containers for the future! thank you DiB!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missjuliee March 21, 2007

Very easy & tasted great! I opted for this recipe as a change from Michigan style sauce; the ground hotdogs give a wonderful flavor to the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Azurebuck April 03, 2005

I have this same recipe and it is very important that you grind the weiners and add them Changes flavors Mickey in washington

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missmicki March 27, 2005

I am looking to duplicate a local favorite and this recipe had great texture but it was too thick and not enought flavor. Did not add the ground wieners.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 02, 2003
Coney Island Hot Dog Sauce