14 Reviews

This is good! Just like the coney island hot dogs I ate years ago in Jackson, Michigan. Thumbs up!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjr566 January 19, 2011

I made this yesterday, and I thought it was great! I made a few changes based on taste, and because I'm planning on using this to make chili mac later in the week. I added a few chopped tomatoes, and some green pepper, kidney beans, and added some more seasonings. After tasting I still thought it needed something, so I added about 1/2 ts of beef base, and that did the trick! I love how quick this came together, and I bet it will be wonderful in chili mac! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. July 10, 2011

Coney Island chili sauce for hot dogs like Nathan's etc is not GB Tomoto sauce onion garlic and certainly NOT Chili sauce! this is plain false recipes and yes I'd fully expect that frm Jackson MI - no offense.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jgroth_alfa June 14, 2015

I've made this twice in the last week. No changes. Home run!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaronsprinkle March 05, 2015

This was a good basic recipe for our first try at making chili sauce for dogs. I really liked the simplicity and ease with which it went together. Made as directed, it was good but a little bland for our tastes (probably a kid-safe recipe as is). I added a bit of ground cumin and dried oregano along with one finely chopped mild red chili. This gave the flavour a bit more depth, but it still lacked heat. Finally, 1/4 to 1/2 tsp of sririachi (sp?) hot sauce gave it just the right heat. I'm sure the leftovers will be delish today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stylin'Dog October 17, 2010

I doubled this recipe but followed it as written. I did have to add more chili powder as we felt it needed more. I made this then but it in the crockpot with the hotdogs and took them to the race track for dinner. Everyone enjoyed them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol July 26, 2009

Hubby loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mskitty84 April 05, 2008

When I make mine which is basically the same ingred. you have I add refried beans and cayenne pepper for little heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
domesticatedmom January 27, 2008

This was a good start for chili, but seems to me it needs more seasonings or something. I doubled the recipe and the package of meat I bought was 1.25 pounds of 96% lean beef. Plus I used just a touch less water than called for. Hubby still said it was "watery". I increased the chili powder (by small amounts) and ended up putting in some hot pepper sauce shortly before serving, and still felt it needed more. Something else. I like the ease of the recipe but will play with it a bit next time and try adding different things. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MathMom.calif June 22, 2007

Loved it ! I had extra meat so my mixture was thicker than maybe the recipe intended, the flavour was good and it dissapeared fast. Please see my rating system: 4 stars for a yummy and versitile recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 13, 2007
Coney Island Chili Sauce for Hot Dogs