16 Reviews

This was awesome coney sauce! We added a can of kidney beans because DH loves beans in coney sauce. This went really well with the hotdogs and fritos! Thanks for a keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy F. May 24, 2009

This was very good! I used ingredients on hand so used ground sirloin, substituted 3 additional Tablespoon of dried onions for the fresh ones, added a can of chili beans, and did as another reviewer suggested and added a little beef broth a few times and let it continue to simmer and reduce down. I will make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy S. January 11, 2014

This is great, never made a coney sauce before. The only thing I did different was not add garlic as we don't care for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beaner's wife August 16, 2013

I made it originally "as is." It was OK, but rather bland and lacking flavor. So I amped up the flavor. I essentially doubled the spices, added some smoked paprika, beef broth and let it simmer down. The next day, I put it in a crockpot and served it to my guests. It was a hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The D. April 22, 2016

My great uncle, a Greek immigrant, was the first to make what we call Coney sauce. Ask people over 70 in Toledo, Ohio and they remember his restaurant. He did not put tomatoes of any kind in his sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
init2xs April 21, 2016

This got no stars. Probably the worst recipe I have ever eaten from this website. No one in my family could even take more than a small spoon full. I threw out the entire pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seanspec February 11, 2016

As written, not much flavor. Upped the seasonings quite a bit which made it 5 stars. Consistency was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
squeaks2much February 04, 2016

This is one of the best recipes I have used from the internet.I used med-hot Chimayo chile powder( New Mexico Product). Followed the recipe exactly. My wife & I think this would be good all by itself. In the words of famous chef "this would be great on the bumper of a car".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hank & Linda June 29, 2015

Goodness this is good! Tasted it moments ago as it sits in my crock pot for dinner! I'm so excited to put this and a handful of cheese on my dogs!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa T. June 12, 2015

A spicy, meaty, wonderful sauce that has made look forward to Hotdog night. I did drain some of the grease and substitute the tomato paste for ketchup though and, after the addition of the water, let it boil down for about 45 minutes. A favorite in my house for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nightingale.of.the.west.wind March 11, 2015
Coney Island Chili Dog Sauce