12 Reviews

killer. except i had to increase the butter content to at least 3-4 tablespoons - adding as i stirred the flour because the roux kept looking like pizza dough. i sauteed mushrooms with a little scallion and garlic scape. used vege stock instead of chicken. for a pork chop sauce, i added another 1/2 cup of milk and the water from the sauteed mushrooms and man, was the sauce good. my husband loved the dish. i loved finding a killer soup base recipe! i'm trying to think of what else i can "cream" to add in this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gimme some spam! June 25, 2008

I used this recipe a few days ago to make hamburger gravy. Instead of actually following the recipe's instructions, I just added the flour and margarine to the crumbled ground beef, followed by the liquids and let it thicken all together. I ended up adding a little extra bouillon granules to the finished product to get it tasting like my mom's. Once I was done tweaking the hamburger gravy with salt, pepper, garlic, and onion powder, it tasted almost exactly like the version my mom makes with canned mushroom soup. Now, I doubt I'll ever have to buy cream of mushroom soup again! Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ransomed by Fire March 01, 2013

I sauteed about a 1/2 cup of finely chopped mushrooms in about 3 tbsp butter, and I followed the rest of the recipe from there. I added a couple dashes of ground thyme since that's prominent in many mushroom soups and it came out great! Thanks for the easy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oelkesm July 07, 2011

Brilliant and a great sub! I am only giving this 4 stars, because, as others have stated, it needs more butter to work (even an extra tbl will make the world of difference!). I will never buy canned condensed soups for my casseroles again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat April 15, 2010

To keep this low-fat and easy, try mixing the ingredients in a glass pyrex-type measuring cup and use only the ingredients listed and cook on High for 2-3 minutes, stiring as needed. I add basil, garlic and onion powders for taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LakeMom534 April 02, 2010

A great recipe! I love this one the most out of the ones I've tried here on Zaar. Although, I gave it 4 stars because it needs to be 1:1 ratio of butter:flour...bump up the butter to 3T. Works perfectly...nice and thick! Thank you! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzySchool October 28, 2009

Agreed with the previous reviews, ended up having to add another tbsp of butter. Regardless, I used skim milk and home made turkey stock to use this for broccoli casserole (I only bought 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, realized I needed two and didn't want to go back out). Worked perfectly!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heartnurse2006 November 28, 2013

Thank you for saving our recipe when I realized we didn't have the condensed soup we needed! I too noticed that it wasn't enough butter to make it smooth. we just added the milk and broth and tried to work out the clumps. We also added a little cornstarch to thicken it. It turned out great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy April 22, 2013

Great recipe! Like other reviewers commented, I had to add an extra 2T of butter because the rioux was otherwise too thick. I also substituted unsweetened almond milk for the regular milk. I sauteed mushrooms in thyme, sea salt, cracked pepper and oregano first, Then added to the rioux along with the juice from the sauteed mushrooms. I will never pop open a can of that pre-made stuff again. This soup recipe took my tuna casserole to the next level!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5StarFamilyChef November 18, 2012

Very good. I used 2 Tbsp butter to make the roux a bit more runny to cook properly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial October 26, 2010
Condensed Cream of Soup Substitute