Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Condensed Cream of Soup Substitute Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Condensed Cream of Soup Substitute

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2008

      killer. except i had to increase the butter content to at least 3-4 tablespoons - adding as i stirred the flour because the roux kept looking like pizza dough. i sauteed mushrooms with a little scallion and garlic scape. used vege stock instead of chicken. for a pork chop sauce, i added another 1/2 cup of milk and the water from the sauteed mushrooms and man, was the sauce good. my husband loved the dish. i loved finding a killer soup base recipe! i'm trying to think of what else i can "cream" to add in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      I used this recipe a few days ago to make hamburger gravy. Instead of actually following the recipe's instructions, I just added the flour and margarine to the crumbled ground beef, followed by the liquids and let it thicken all together. I ended up adding a little extra bouillon granules to the finished product to get it tasting like my mom's. Once I was done tweaking the hamburger gravy with salt, pepper, garlic, and onion powder, it tasted almost exactly like the version my mom makes with canned mushroom soup. Now, I doubt I'll ever have to buy cream of mushroom soup again! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      I sauteed about a 1/2 cup of finely chopped mushrooms in about 3 tbsp butter, and I followed the rest of the recipe from there. I added a couple dashes of ground thyme since that's prominent in many mushroom soups and it came out great! Thanks for the easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Brilliant and a great sub! I am only giving this 4 stars, because, as others have stated, it needs more butter to work (even an extra tbl will make the world of difference!). I will never buy canned condensed soups for my casseroles again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      To keep this low-fat and easy, try mixing the ingredients in a glass pyrex-type measuring cup and use only the ingredients listed and cook on High for 2-3 minutes, stiring as needed. I add basil, garlic and onion powders for taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      A great recipe! I love this one the most out of the ones I've tried here on Zaar. Although, I gave it 4 stars because it needs to be 1:1 ratio of butter:flour...bump up the butter to 3T. Works perfectly...nice and thick! Thank you! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Agreed with the previous reviews, ended up having to add another tbsp of butter. Regardless, I used skim milk and home made turkey stock to use this for broccoli casserole (I only bought 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, realized I needed two and didn't want to go back out). Worked perfectly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      Thank you for saving our recipe when I realized we didn't have the condensed soup we needed! I too noticed that it wasn't enough butter to make it smooth. we just added the milk and broth and tried to work out the clumps. We also added a little cornstarch to thicken it. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Great recipe! Like other reviewers commented, I had to add an extra 2T of butter because the rioux was otherwise too thick. I also substituted unsweetened almond milk for the regular milk. I sauteed mushrooms in thyme, sea salt, cracked pepper and oregano first, Then added to the rioux along with the juice from the sauteed mushrooms. I will never pop open a can of that pre-made stuff again. This soup recipe took my tuna casserole to the next level!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Very good. I used 2 Tbsp butter to make the roux a bit more runny to cook properly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      This is very good and made just the right amount that I needed for Stroganoff! Thank you so much! I added some garlic to the mix for a flavour boost because I can't get enough garlic. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This made a quick, easy substitute for those 'cream of whatever' soups called for in so many recipes. I usually just avoid those recipes but on a cold, wintery day I didn't want to leave the house and had just the ingredients for a casserole that called for one can of that soup. So, I used Amiec's recipe for the substitute. It worked very well, however I did have to add one more tablespoon of butter as one tablespoon just wasn't enough to handle 3 tablespoons of flour. Other than that, this recipe is great. I especially love that I can control the fat content...I used lactose-free, fat-free milk. And I also added 6-7 chopped sauteed mushrooms. Thanks for posting this recipe Amiec91699!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Condensed Cream of Soup Substitute

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 84.7
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    48%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 63.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites