36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made tonight and really like the convenience, ease, cost. However, I will be leaving out the basil and thyme as I felt additional seasonings didn't go with the dish I was making. I would rather just add seasonings to individual dishes. Thanks so much for this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 January 04, 2009

I found a 32 oz pack of dried milk for $3 (less than the 12oz size). I also found a packet of gluten free, vegetarian, no msg, mushroom sauce mix for $1 that I used in place of the boullion. The sauce mix was 1/2 cup & had starch in it so I cut the cornstarch back to 1/2 cup. Everything else I had on hand. It's awesome, little mushroom flavor, great upgrade from the can. I figured it cost me $2 & it will replace 10 cans. Great value & much healthier, besides the chemicals, healthy request cream of mushroom has 5g fat, 1025mg sodium per can. Mine has per "can" 2.4g fat & 217mg sodium.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaraKN April 14, 2013

Can't believe I didn't rate this. I have used it many times over the winter and LOVE IT!! I use cream of mushroom soup all the time and this is a winning recipe for me. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy May 06, 2011

I'm always looking for a bargain, and with the cost of this being minimal, and the flavors so good, this is a winner every time for me. I have used it in making Chicken Divan, adding broccoli to the sauce, Chicken and Stuffing with the sauce, and have used it to make Beef Stroganoff also adding mushrooms, and they all came out great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*~LindyT53~*~ February 20, 2011

Until trying this recipe, I avoided recipes calling for chemical-y condensed cream soups. Unfortunately, there are so many darn good recipes out there calling for the stuff that it was getting a bit depressing! I'm so excited to have found this recipe, and to have used it successfully on more than one occasion. This last usage, I substituted 1/2 cup of the water with white wine for a Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole (Recipe No. 17917) and it worked amazingly well, and was the perfect addition to the flavors of the casserole (which doesn't call for wine). I've done some further research and it seems like the prepared "condensed" soup can be frozen for convenience so I plan to give that a try as well. Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn's Cookin' December 28, 2010

I'm surprised at how good this is! I used onion powder (about 2 teaspoons) because I didn't have dried onion, beef bouillon because I was out of chicken, and left out the basil and thyme. It still tastes like condensed soup! Very good recipe and I will be using this often instead of buying cans. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif April 13, 2009

I was going through all my recipes and I realized I have never reviewed this one! My apologies! I have been using it exclusively for quite some time now and am so glad since a can of condensed soup costs so much now! I have made it with powdered rice milk so that my dairy intolerant son could have some and I usually make it without the bouillon so that I can have more options when I cook it, like adding celery salt for cream of celery, or vegetable bouillon when I am cooking for someone vegetarian. Thank you so much for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieglenn August 02, 2008

I am amazed! I absolutely love this recipe! I'm going to cut the thyme in half next time for my own personal taste, but this was just super! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zach's Mom 2000 January 17, 2012

I have been using this for a while, I can't belive I never reviewed it. I use this exclusively now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RebelQueen January 01, 2011

This works great. I used beef bouillon for a beefy flavor. I fried hamburgers, drained the grease and added 1/3 cup of this with 1 1/4 cup water to make gravy on the hamburgers. Yummy. My DH especially liked this as I use to use cream of mushroom soup and he doesn't particularly care for mushrooms. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea January 10, 2010
Condensed Cream of Soup Mix ( Homemade Substitute )