Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Conchas (Mexican Sweet-Topped Buns) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Conchas (Mexican Sweet-Topped Buns)

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2010

      LOVED IT!!!! I have been wanting these for years since my favorite bakery on the West coast closed some 15 years ago and use to make these. I bought one with a cup of coffee everytime I went in... sometimes several times a week. A few changes I had to make to this recipe to suit my palette: I split the butter requirement to 1/2 butter flavored crisco and 1/2 butter. I baked them on a silpat and made the buns 1/4 the recommended size so they were dinner roll size. PERFECT. And I added 1/4 cup of cocoa, 1 tsp of vanilla, and one pack of instant espresso to the topping mix 1 TBS of water. I had to lower the oven temp to 325 degrees and bake for 11 minutes in order to keep the bottoms from over baking on my silpat, and the topping from melting off or getting too crunchy from too high of heat. The topping should not be crunchy!!! Needless to say I had to throw away the first batch due to too hot an oven, but the subsequent batches were fabulous!! Took some to the neighbors since I had too many, and they devoured them ON THE PORCH! HAHAH! Super yum. Can't wait to make them again for family. TIP ALERT: THe longer they have to do the 2nd rise the better. I baked in batches and the 3,4 and 5th batch got better and better, puffier and pillowy soft. THANKS!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      AMAZING! My first time ever and they came out great. Making my second batch today and replaced the butter in the dough to lard (sounds nasty but us mexicans use it often) and i kneaded the dough a lot more. Also, the topping came out like a sticky paste..hope thats correct! i was able to spread it after dipping my fingers in a little bit of water. I got the approval of my abuelita and all my tias so this recipe was amazing. One of these with a cup of abuelitas hot chocolate and ive died and gone to heaven! Simple and amazing recipe. THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2014

      I made these today and they turned out great. Much better tasting than the bakeries. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix the ingredients and then switched it to the dough hook. I let the dough rise for the amount mentioned. I prepared the topping about 30 minutes prior to the completion time of dough rise. I divided the dough into 12 equal parts and covered each of the dough balls with the paste/dough type topping. Instead of placing the ball on the dough and pressing down as mentioned, I rolled the topping dough into ball in my hand and then pressed it down while I had it on my hand, I then covered bread dough with it. I scored the top and let it rise on the cookie sheet for about 40 minutes. I was surprised to see that in fact the topping does indeed separate as the dough rises for the final time. I have a convection oven so I had the temparture about 300 degrees because my oven tends to run hotter. The sweetbread baked in about 15 minutes. The sweetbreads are still soft now even after 3 hours out of the oven unlike the bakery kind that turn hard right away. The topping was not too sweet but I will add more sugar next time as I would've liked the topping to have been sweeter. This was a great recipe and thank you for sharing. Will be making these a lot more often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      These are amazing. They are so moist and very tasty.<br/>I used instant yeast instead of the active its so much easier to work with<br/>I let them sit for one hour for the second rise and for the topping I used<br/>6 tbl soft unsalted butter, 3/4 c powder sugar, 2/3 c flour 1 tsp vanilla and<br/>Creamed it all together then divided it in half and added 2 tsp cocoa powder to one half<br/>I made 6 balls of each put one ball at a time between 2 sheets of plastic wrap and used <br/>A flat bottomed bowl and pressed down to get a disc and peeled on to the bread ball<br/>And scored it with the blunt side of a butter knife. Made this great recipe over the top<br/>In my opinion. Working on my 5 and 6 batch of the week. Happy cinco de mayo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      I absolutely love these! These tastes just like (but even better!) the ones I go aaaaaaaall the way downtown to the Mexican bakery to buy. I love that they're so unfussy. I give them away to people and they always love them. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      O-M-G!!! These were delicious. My 16 yr old son even said they were better than the ones from the Mexican bakeries. They made our whole house smell like a bakery! I can't say enough. This recipe was easy to follow, the bread part came out so soft and light, like little pillows of goodness and my husband said he liked the topping on these better than the ones from the Mexican bakeries because it was more flavorful and wasn't as messy. I'm a baking novice. Anyone can make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Simply divine! My Mexican coworkers at my last job introduced me to conchas, but it's hit and miss when purchasing them--sometimes they are good, and sometimes they are stale and dry. I am delighted to have found this recipe, and wow wow WOW are they ever amazing! I decided to make one topping almond flavored using almond extract, and that ended up being the favorite at the tasting at a party I made them for. I'm about to go visit Virginia to see all my Mexican buddies, and I just cannot wait to give them a taste of home with some freshly baked conchas! Thanks, Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      A very easy and delicios recipe. They were gone as soon as I put them out. My house smelled like a bakery!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Very good recipe. I tried a few others from breadworld.com and some other sites and they were all kind of dry. These were great. I just added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and vanilla to the dough because that is the way they use to make them in this bakery I use to go to that is now closed. I missed them and now I have the perfect recipe. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This recipe worked wonderfully. These were beautiful and tasted great. Be careful with the sugar topping and adding too much flour. With one of the three flavors I thought it would be easier to work with with a little more flour and it just makes it more difficult. Also, it made the topping of that set very crunchy. Still good but the recipe as written is perfect. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This is a really excellent recipe. I tried doing exactly what the directions said, except I put everything in the breadmaker... and it turned out great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      I wanted to try making conchas for a course I'm taking (*grin*), and these turned out great! Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      These were easy to make and tasted perfect! My grandparents gave me a bag of conchas on their return from a Mexico trip when I was a child and these took me right back to then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      Delicious! I am so glad I finally found a good recipe for conchas! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      Yay, I finally found a recipe for these that works for me! I tried making conchas for DH a while back, but the recipe I used was way too vague for a not-so-good bread baker (it neglected to mention that only people baking conchas in a tropical rainforest would need to use the full amount of flour specified in the recipe). Those conchas, needless to say, came out suitable for use as doorstops. These, on the other hand, warranted an "almost like mama's" from my Mexican DH (a comment not often given when I try to recreate foods he misses from his childhood). I'll definitely be making these for him again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      I didn't read the recipe all the way through and ended up mixing the cinnamon, vanilla and orange zest all together for one flavor of topping. Even with this goof - they still turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      A lovely bun! Baboo thought it was just gorgeous tasting (especially warm out of the oven with butter). I had a little problem making the paste stick to the dough balls so the decorative cuts could be made...I think that maybe a spritz of water or egg white to aid sticking would be helpful. In any case, I did the best I could and if they weren't up to bakery appearance it didn't matter to us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      Oh, these are good! And quite simple for such spectacular results. There is a lot of flavor and just a hint of crunch on the outside, the inside is beautifully light. Lucky me, I made a double batch, and, hopefully, there will be a few left for the freezer. I love the idea of having three different toppings, and enjoyed trying to mark them like shells - not with a lot of success, but that's not important. Each roll came to about 70 g, with 10 to 15 g topping. I flattened the topping between pieces of plastic wrap. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe with us. These are even better than the ones I can buy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Conchas (Mexican Sweet-Topped Buns)

    Serving Size: 1 (1082 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.4
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    31%
    Total Fat 10.2 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 6.1 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 285.2 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    44%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites