136 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The title of this recipe says it all! This is without a doubt and 5 star Company Worthy recipe. Not only does this roast possess excellent flavor, it is also succulent to the point that your knife simply glides though the meat. I made this recipe exactly as directed and we enjoyed it so very much. Thanks so much, Garnet for a real keeper!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev June 20, 2002

Wonderful, simply wonderful!! This is very tasty and very tender. It isn't "fall apart" tender, which I dislike. Rather it is "cut with a fork" tender and very juicy! Basting it really makes a difference - I basted every 15 minuites. I served this with oven roasted potatoes and my green bean salad. This is definitely company worthy! Tasty and VERY EASY to prepare! The one thing I wasn't clear on was if it called for white wine or red wine vinegar - I used white wine and it turned out great! Thanks for posting this, its a definite keeper in my books.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert August 12, 2002

This is one of those recipes that I love to prepare, easy and tastes delicious. The piece of pork I used was just over 1 kg. and it cooked in 2 hours. I also basted regularly with the end result a real winner. Thanks for posting.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* December 08, 2002

This was a very nice Pork Roast. I made it with mashed potatoes, roasted root veggies and a spinach salad. It was a very nice Sunday supper, the only complaint I got was from the kids, because there was no gravy for the mashed potatoes. I did add 1/4 cup of real maple sugar to the marinade (a family favourite passed down from my Granny!) But, besides that, I didn't make any changes to the recipe. I will make this again. Oh, by the way, the left-overs were awsome as well!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy Sandra August 28, 2002

Excellent flavor!!! Made double the sauce and let marinate overnight. Then cook 6 hours in the crockpot. It browned nicely and was very moist. Will be making this recipe again. Thanks for sharing Garnet.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy August 07, 2009

I had a 3lb. roast and after reading the other reviews decided to double the other ingredients. Hubby saw me and said (just like someone else's hubby did), why don't we inject some of this into it? Well we did. We followed the other directions, except I used a glass baking dish and reduced the temp 25degrees. After it rested, we sliced it and poured some of the extra sauce over the slices. It was delicious. Moist, juicy and very flavorful. I would describe it as tasting similar to the inside of a Chinese steamed dumpling, only as a nice thick slab of meat. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KalaniRae December 11, 2008

This was a wonderful change from our usual pork roast! My DH absolutely loved the sweet taste, and especially the parts of the glaze that carmelized during the browning time. I didn't have red OR white wine vinegar on hand and used cider vinegar instead this first time. VERY good, one I'll fix again and for company. Thanks Garnet!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HoosierBjw September 14, 2003

Delicious! I used a Hormel Pork Tenderloin, pure maple syrup instead of honey, and white wine vinegar. Make sure you use a small pan so the sauce doesn't spread out and burn. And be sure to baste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks July 03, 2013

I just got done supper and had to come right here to review this. Wow! This was absolutely the best pork loin roast I have ever made. I had a 3lb roast but I still doubled the sauce ingredients. I also added about 1/4 tsp of Emeril Essence and about 1/2 Tsp of Cumin for some smokey flavor. I basted it about every 1/2 hr and uncovered it the last 45 min with also turning the temp up to 350. Before coating the meat with the sauce to put it in the oven I poked holes throughout it so that the sauce could run down into it. It was very tender and moist. I served it with my yam slices sauted with butter, brown sugar, salt and pepper and also with extra fine green beans. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Garnet, thanks for a winner. Won't do my pork roasts any other way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunnee50 March 07, 2010
Company Pork Roast