Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Comino Corn and Rice Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Comino Corn and Rice Salad

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2011

      Interesting! I loved it, the kids hated it and hubby was so-so. Followed recipe exactly and I liked the unique flavours, but definitely wouldn't be for everyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Soooo Goood!! I made it just as stated. Lime is essential; lemon doesn't do it. The molasses makes the rice somewhat dark but the flavor is really good, not sure honey can match that. The dressing is just the right amount so that there's no puddle in the bottom of the bowl. It is noticeably hotter the next day, but that's a good thing. Quite an unusual salad. This is really a KEEPER! Thanks for postsing . . . . . Janet

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Was suprised by the somewhat tepid reviews for this salad, as I thought it was sublime! I also appreciated the interplay between the sweet, salty and spicy. I started by adding about one (whole) pickled jalapeno pepper but ended up putting the rest in the next day. I also used kalamata olives and green olives stuffed with pimentos and substituted honey for molasses. Otherwise I cooked the rice in vegetable broth and then halved the salt. I really liked this a lot, and ate it for breakfast the next day which is a sure sign of a very successful recipe. Thanks very much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I usually cook rice ahead of time and have it in the freezer in 1 cup portions. The precooked rice made quick work of preparation. I used a combination of yellow and white corn. The oil was reduced by 2 tablespoons. The salad was made in the morning and served for an early dinner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      I made up this salad because I thought it would be a good prospect to bring along to the beach with us, and it didn't disappoint. I used a hot banana pepper for the jalapeno, and kalamata olives for the black (the green olives I used were just the regular, pimento-stuffed ones). I added considerably more red onion (I didn't measure, I just used a whole, small one). I was all out of molasses, so I used honey in its place. Very taste, and very pretty, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2014

      Great rice salad. I used a fourth the oil, molasses and salt, Kalamata and Manzanilla for the olives, chipotle powder for the pickled jalapenos (DH is not a fan) and served it on a bed of arugula. It all went together nicely and was very enjoyable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      Everyone really enjoyed this (except my husband). I used all green olives because someone had eaten my black olives. No other changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Great salad! I used minced peperoncini instead of jalapenos (it was all I had on-hand), but otherwise followed the recipe closely. I don't think I would change a thing. This salad improves a LOT if you let it sit for a while, so make sure to give it a chance to "rest" in the refrigerator. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Comino Corn and Rice Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.8
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    45%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 583.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.0 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites