8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Interesting! I loved it, the kids hated it and hubby was so-so. Followed recipe exactly and I liked the unique flavours, but definitely wouldn't be for everyone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrumpyIrishLady June 03, 2011

Soooo Goood!! I made it just as stated. Lime is essential; lemon doesn't do it. The molasses makes the rice somewhat dark but the flavor is really good, not sure honey can match that. The dressing is just the right amount so that there's no puddle in the bottom of the bowl. It is noticeably hotter the next day, but that's a good thing. Quite an unusual salad. This is really a KEEPER! Thanks for postsing . . . . . Janet

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski February 19, 2009

Was suprised by the somewhat tepid reviews for this salad, as I thought it was sublime! I also appreciated the interplay between the sweet, salty and spicy. I started by adding about one (whole) pickled jalapeno pepper but ended up putting the rest in the next day. I also used kalamata olives and green olives stuffed with pimentos and substituted honey for molasses. Otherwise I cooked the rice in vegetable broth and then halved the salt. I really liked this a lot, and ate it for breakfast the next day which is a sure sign of a very successful recipe. Thanks very much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend July 06, 2007

I usually cook rice ahead of time and have it in the freezer in 1 cup portions. The precooked rice made quick work of preparation. I used a combination of yellow and white corn. The oil was reduced by 2 tablespoons. The salad was made in the morning and served for an early dinner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG July 04, 2007

I made up this salad because I thought it would be a good prospect to bring along to the beach with us, and it didn't disappoint. I used a hot banana pepper for the jalapeno, and kalamata olives for the black (the green olives I used were just the regular, pimento-stuffed ones). I added considerably more red onion (I didn't measure, I just used a whole, small one). I was all out of molasses, so I used honey in its place. Very taste, and very pretty, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 01, 2007

Great rice salad. I used a fourth the oil, molasses and salt, Kalamata and Manzanilla for the olives, chipotle powder for the pickled jalapenos (DH is not a fan) and served it on a bed of arugula. It all went together nicely and was very enjoyable!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito June 08, 2014

Everyone really enjoyed this (except my husband). I used all green olives because someone had eaten my black olives. No other changes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 17, 2012

Great salad! I used minced peperoncini instead of jalapenos (it was all I had on-hand), but otherwise followed the recipe closely. I don't think I would change a thing. This salad improves a LOT if you let it sit for a while, so make sure to give it a chance to "rest" in the refrigerator. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie May 06, 2008
Comino Corn and Rice Salad