Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Comfort Food Baked Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Comfort Food Baked Custard

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      Oh this is absolutely DIVINE!! This may serve 6 in a normal household but in this custard loving house it served two. Of course I doubled the vanilla (I usually do). I baked this in a single casserole dish and it only took 30 minutes. This custard is silky smooth and has a wonderful flavour. It beats those packet mix ones hands down!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      The name says it all! Comfort food at it's best! My grandmother made this all the time, and even used it for the best custard pie I have ever had. My mother used to make it for us when we were sick. Why I haven't made it for years, I don't know, but now that I remember how easy it is, I will be making it often. Thanks for the memory jog! I did add more than a dash of nutmeg (almost a teaspoon) because I love nutmeg. I did the casserole method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      I made this for my hubby. It had a good flavor, but it came out as more of a "scrambled egg" consistency, whereas we expected more of a "custard". He did not like it. I, on the other hand, ate quite a bit (and went over my calorie limit on my diet, lol). It was unlike the custard that we are used to. Im pretty sure I followed the directions thoroughly, but im not going to rate it due to the fact that I probably did do something wrong. Sorry...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Had a huge problem. Couldn't stop eating this to let it cool. I devoured one on my own!! Lets just say it's a loooong time since I've had baked custard. I doubled the mix and made two in two metal loaf tins, which I sat in a baking dish of water. I warmed the milk before I added it just cos I've seen other recipes do that. I used low fat high calcium milk. The one I ate was still hot (didn't even get to cool a little!) and yes it was watery, but the 2nd one I chilled and it did set firmly and without the "juice" leaking. However I do prefer my custards thicker than this...hmm this could be a good reason to make it again with an extra egg. My kids thought it wasnt firm enough for their tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Custard has to be one of my favorite things --- this is decadently delcious!! I have a hard time keeping away from it! i followed the recipe exactly except for adding some berries ( a mix of raspberries, blueberries, thimbleberries that i thickened w/cornstarch & sugar). It is just heavenly. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I liked the recipe however I will add more sugar next time I bake it. probably 1/3 cup sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      We had these for dessert last night. I divided the custard up into 4 ramikins and baked in the water bath for 45 minutes by which time they were well cooked. The taste was nice and creamy but the watery mixture in the bottom was a bit off puting but will try again and do as a previous reviewer did and chill to set and maybe add an extra egg. Thank you Sharon123 - made for Recipe Swap ##10 - November 2007

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      I made this for breakfast today. I had to use Starbucks vanilla powder instead of liquid vanilla because the "grocery store" on campus doesn't really sell baking supplies and the powder is what was in my dorm's kitchen. It was pretty good and super simple to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      I didn't really like this but it was probably because I've never really had custard before and I didn't know what to expect. It did have a strong egg flavor and it was really watery. I added extra sugar before cooking but then had to add more after it was cooked. This looks so good. I wish I had liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Super simple to make, but as other have said it had a very strong egg taste... but that makes sense since this is a custard. I scaled it down to two servings and added a lot more sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      We will be having this often

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This was such a treat for me, as this was a favorite dessert from my childhood that I had not tasted in years. This tasted exactly like the eggy baked custards my local deli used to carry. My husband and daughter had never tasted the kind sold in the deli where I grew up, so for them this was not quite to their tastes (they expected a sweeter, less eggy texture) but I thought it was excellent, in taste, texture, and ease of preparation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2006

      Um...well...I tripled the recipe & it's over half gone already. I used 1% milk & wish I had added some cream because it was a bit too 'light'? I baked it in a big baking pan & gave it an extra 15 minutes. Perfect. Oh, that pinch of nutmeg? I think I used a whole TB over the top, lol. Yeah, I love custard. Thank you!! BTW, I did share it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      Excellent! Exactly what egg custard should taste like. The texture firmed up nicely after sitting, nicely pleasing! I made this as you directed, only adding a dash or two of nutmeg on top of each custard before baking. It looked very pretty coming out of the oven. I might add just a tad more sugar (maybe another 1/4 cup) next time I make this. Thank you, Sharon for sharing this lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2004

      Who knew that homemade custard could be so quick and simple? I did sub cinnamon for the nutmeg but followed the recipe exactly otherwise. It turned out a bit watery underneath and I think next time I will add a wee bit more sugar, but overall it was a good recipe and I'll definitely be using it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      Wonderful! Yes, this is indeed true comfort food. Old fashioned and homey. Very simple and easy to make, but so smooth and flavourful. Not too sweet, and even has some nutritional value (protein and calcium). I used individual custard cups and enjoyed it both warm and cold. The only change I made was to use skim milk. UPDATE: I made this again today. This time I adjusted the ingredients to serve 4 instead of 6. In case anyone is interested, I used 2 eggs, 8 tsp sugar, dash salt, 3/4 tsp vanilla, 1 2/3 cup skim milk, dash nutmeg. Very good! It's so easy to make. Served cold, it's the perfect dessert for a hot day when you don't feel like eating anything too heavy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      I really wanted to give the highest rating for this custard, as it looked so splendid coming out of the oven. However, I was a little disappointed once I tried it. It really had a strong 'egg-like' taste to it. I suppose I should have taken dale's advice and maybe doubled the vanilla, and maybe added a bit more nutmeg and sugar? I will commend you on the texture and aroma of this dessert. My home was filled with an amazing scent, and the texture was magnificently smooth. I'm sure that with a few SLIGHT adjustments I will COMPLETELY enjoy this recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Comfort Food Baked Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 136.1
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    41%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 119.9 mg
    39%
    Sodium 133.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites