Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Columbia's Original "1905" Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Columbia's Original "1905" Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2014

      I found that if you add the whole garlic to the dressing mixture and use the emersion blender it turns out perfect and the garlic is blended into the dressing. Also, I use Romaine lettuce hearts since it is much healthier. Great salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2013

      Perfect salad! I had the original salad less than a month ago and was thrilled to see it on here! This is almost a perfect match other than doubling the quantity of lemon juice, besides that - it was exceptional!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      Satisfying salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      Great salad!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      We had this salad at the Columbia in Tampa. I couldn't imagine something so simple could be so delicious. Imagine my delight when I found this recipe. I made it the day after I had the original and was thrilled. It was a perfect match. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      This tasted exactly like the Columbia's however I did do some tweaking. Added more ham and cheese, included more garlic in the dressing and a tad more vinegar, superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      This was delicious and just as I remembered it tasting at The Columbia Restaurant. I did go a little easy on the garlic as I am not much into raw garlic (love cooked though!), I used 2 cloves and it was just the right amount for hubby and I. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      I liked it, but it wasn't over the top for me. I am sure it tastes better at the restaurant (as these types of things usually do). If I made it again, I would let it sit for about 10 minutes in the dressing to get a little more wilted. Garlic was overpowering (and we LOVE garlic) so I would use half next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Mercifully I live just 30 minutes from Columbia's restaurant in St. Augustine, FL. The 1905 is to die for, and easily the best I have ever had. Any excuse to drop in is OK by me. The atmosphere is great, and the wait staff usually very good. Occasionally, you get a downer like Jessie, who feel they are doing you the world's biggest favor by serving you. But this salad is worth it. YUM! Combined with the complementary warm and crusty Cuban bread with creamy butter, this meal cannot be beat for the price. If opportunity knocks, go and ENJOY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      This is the Best Salad. I had this at the Columbia and the server made it using some of the juice from the olives. I did the same and you can eliminate adding any salt. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This is a great salad and quick to make ...just like the Columbia's...use the finest ingredients that you an find!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Columbia's Original "1905" Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 364.3
     
    Calories from Fat 305
    83%
    Total Fat 33.9 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 7.0 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 23.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 475.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites