31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was making sugar cookies and my husband asked where the colored sugar was. I didn't have any so I came to this site. This recipe worked perfectly. I put the ingredients in a cup and used a spoon to combine so I didn't get it on my fingers. Will be using this again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 18, 2012

Just made this using paper cups and the back of a spoon. No need for gloves. Fast, easy and saved the day since sprinkles are hard to find where I live. Thanks! UPDATE: Being a novice cook, I let my kids deco on the cookie sheet and thru it in the oven. The sugar that got spilled on the sheet burned and smoked up the kitchen. She lives and learns!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deemcmeekin December 14, 2007

Know why Louisianans love Lent? It's the prelude to Easter candy. Made this glitter for Eastery 'sugah cookies'.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng March 24, 2010

Much cheaper than buying coloured sugar at the store! I just used a fork to mix in the colour in a small bowl and then put it on a cookie sheet lined with parchment to dry off before using them on St. Patrick's Shamrock Cookies. Turned out looking fabulous! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. March 16, 2010

Wonderful and easy! I took the advice of InkyInkerton and used a plastic bag so I didn't get the food coloring all over my fingers. I used it on top of Grandma's Soft Sugar Cookies and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
No Destination September 29, 2008

this is fantastic and SO simple! i also used a plastic bag for mixing to save my finger from being dyed and it was very quick and came out perfect! excellent for my st patrick's day sugar cookies ^__^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
InkyInkerton March 17, 2008

This is a great ,no , a really great idea. Thank you. I used course sugar, it took a bit more time to incorporate the color but the end product was that of proffesional coloured baking sugar.Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAMASARAH February 09, 2008

My Granddaughter and I made 8 different colors Christmas Eve to sprinkle on Santa's cookies. Just put sugar in resealable bags, added the color and mixed. I was able to also use this on different small cakes to distinguish which was what flavor. Thanks najwa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathie's Kafe December 27, 2007

How easy is THIS? WONDERFUL! I can't buy coloured sugar here in NL, and even if I could, why bother? this is SO quick and easy to do yourself! I have several pairs of "food only" rubber gloves, one pair is kept for using food that colours or stains, like taumeric or beetroot or making coloured playdough. I just put on the gloves and sifted the drops of colour though the sugar with my fingers and presto, it was like magic :) A quick wash of the gloves and there was zero messy cleanup, and now I have several containers of coloured sugars to decorate my cookies with. Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a mega fast and brilliantly easy recipe that takes my baking decoration to a whole new level. Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch December 13, 2007

Very exciting to be able to make this on my own whenever I need it. I try not to keep extra baking items on hand (small kitchen), so this really came in handy when I realized I had forgotten to pick up Christmas sprinkles. Easy, pretty and you can make as much or as little as you need. Thanks najwa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend December 09, 2007
Colored Sugar