Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Collards Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Collards

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2012

      We got collards in today's CSA box and this New England girl had no idea what to do with them. I was pleasantly surprised at this recipe... have already shared with my friends who also didn't know how to cook them!

      Edited to add: I just found the tag that came on the greens. They were CHARD! (I TOLD you I had no idea!) Tasted good, anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This was fantastic! I used 2 bunches of collards and ketchup in place of the tomatoes (which I was *not* happy about, but the tomato paste I thought I had had gone off). I think the ketchup made it sweeter than it should have been, but there was still enough spice to give it some serious zing. I only cooked them for an hour or so because I started cooking late and they were the perfect texture for us. Thanks for adding another great collards recipe to my life!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      Next to kale, collards are my second favorite cooked greens and this recipe is the best! After step 1, I put everything in my crock pot and cook it on high, 2.5 to 3 hours, adding broth as needed. Thanks for posting this recipe Matt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      So good! I used a whole bunch of collards, vs 2 cups; hubbie said "not bad" which is praise coming from this "seaweed hater". I ate the entire pot myself. Went great with skillet browned ham & pineapple, steamed new potatoes with parsley. chopped a whole small tomato also vs 2 TBS.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This was my first attempt at collard greens. I thought they were pretty good, but my boyfriend didn't really care for them. I think the sweet/spicy is an interesting flavor combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Substituting vegetable broth for chicken broth in this recipe gives me by far the best vegetarian collard greens I've ever made. If you're making a vegetarian version of this recipe, I would highly suggest adding more tomatoes, or even throwing in some tomato paste. This is also helpful if you don't have any stock on hand and need to use water (which I've done, and it comes out fine). This is an awesome recipe that I'll definitely use often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Excellent recipe. I reduced the Tabasco and red pepper flakes since my family doesn't care for spicy foods. It was a hit. Next time I'm going to add extra tomato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This had a great flavor, a little too hot for my taste. I added 1 TBS sugar because I couldn't find the honey. Ran across it later and added the honey. Still not too sweet.I used 2 large bunches of collards, because 2 cups seems like it would be a service for 1. I also used a 1/2 of tomato, chopped. I too didn't want to open a can for so small amount. Next time 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes might just do the trick for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      I'm always on the lookout for a new greens recipe, and this is a great way to make collards. I omitted the tabasco and used vegetable broth instead of chicken, and it came out great. Not too spicy, just a little kick. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I made these as directed for my daughter and son and they raved about them. I don't usually do greens myself, but did try these. I have to admit they were very good and much better than what I usually make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      i have now made these numerous times and am never disappointed. they are loved by my whole family. a new staple in my home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I had never tried collard greens before, but after joining a community supported agriculture (CSA) group, I found them in my refrigerator this week. This recipe is absolutely delicious. I fixed just as printed, except I threw in a little extra spinach I had on hand. I'm now sold on collards! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2005

      I agree, Matthew, it's perfect. As Dh said, this burns so sweetly. I didn't want to open a whole can of tomatoes so I used 2T of tomato paste rather than 1/4c chopped tomatoes. I think it accomplished the same thing. I did scale down the hot for our tastes and reduced the oil. All that fiddling and it was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      I made this exactly as written and MAN were they delicious. For me it was the perfect amount of sweet & hot and I could not stop eating them. My husband said they were a little too hot for him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      While this delicious recipe was cooking, I couldn't resist a few bites! If you don't like hot hot, cut back a little on the tobasco and red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Collards

    Serving Size: 1 (168 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 147.1
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    68%
    Total Fat 11.2 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 1.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 88.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes