Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Collard Greens - It's Good for You! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Collard Greens - It's Good for You!

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2011

      I did not use this recipe for my collards, but mine mirrored this recipe except for the sugar although I did not measure anything. It was just what I threw together and they are so very good this way. Melt in your mouth tender, and packed full of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      Wow!!!!!! Good for U, Great tasting, Quick and Easy...doesn't get much better than that. My family had always cooked the collards in a large pot of boiling water seasoned with a ham hock. They boiled the greens so long, I am sure they boiled all the nutrients out. This recipe, the greens were actually still green and full of vitamins when done. I tell ya, the stock made a huge difference in the taste here. Will def be using this recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      I made two additions to the recipe I added a ham hock since I had purchased it for the collard greens and a sprinkling of dried red pepper. I was not sure about the brown sugar and thought it made the broth a bit sweet. I cooked it long and slow until the flavors melded and the greens were tender. This was perfect and I will definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Excellent pot of greens. Smoky, tender, and perfectly seasoned. Served alongside pork tenderloin. Will have the left-overs for lunch with a warm chunk of cornbread. Happy, happy :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      Thanks for sharing this recipe. I used a habanero pepper instead of black pepper and crushed red pepper flakes. I opted out of the brown sugar, and it was delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Fantastic! I spent some time in Texas over the past year and tried a lot of collards, and this was the first time I got them to taste like the "real" stuff. I love them spicy and soft, with a good broth. I tried this recipe and had to use water instead of broth, but it still turned out great (and I love the addition of brown sugar - so worth it).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      First time making collard greens and these were so good I'll be making them on a regular basis. I used turkey bacon, which isn't very "juicy" so added about a 1/2 tbsp of evoo. The recipe wasn't specific on when to add seasonings or @ what temp to cook the greens, since I haven't made before, I had no idea. I added spices before greens, brought to boiling and let simmer for 25 more minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      Absolutely the best greens ever! Used a bag of mixed country greens ($1.77 on sale). Followed the recipe exactly. My DSIL was here for dinner and raved about them. Not bitter at all. This will now be my go to greens recipe! THANK YOU, Rita!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      Who knew collard greens could taste so good? I made using 2 tablespoons of olive oil and a drop of smoke flavoring instead of using bacon. I also replaced the chicken stock with vegetable broth. The flavor of this recipe is wonderful! Thanks again, Rita, for another wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This was my first time cooking collards and I loved them! Thanks for the great recipe. Next time, I'm going to leave out the sugar though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      Can make with or without bacon. Very tasty way to prepared greens for a side of chicken.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Made this yesterday to go with out New Year's Day blackeyed peas and cornbread, and it was wonderful. I've never had collard greens before, and I loved them. I did use the brown sugar and all of the seasonings including the pepper, and although it had a pretty good bite it was very good. My husband, a true Texas cowboy, has had collards all his life. He said he's never had them this way, but that he really liked them. He must have, he kept commenting on them and there were none left on his plate at the end of dinner! This is going into my recipe file--healthy, inexpensive, and tasty too...what's not to love?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      WOW OH WOW!!!! I know you probably don't need to hear it again... but WOW: these are simply the best collard greens EVER! I, too, skipped on the sugar (perhaps I'll try that variation next time) and I really can't say it enough: this recipe is sheer perfection. Thank you for helping us get our New Year off on the right foot with this wonderful Southern tradition. I certainly won't be waiting another year before fixing these again! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      Rita, these were the best collard greens I've ever had in my life and believe me, I've sampled a few since I am an almost lifetime resident of the South. I did not use the brown sugar but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it was melt-in-your-mouth perfection. Used applewood smoked bacon and I think the chicken broth really enhanced the flavor; have never made them before using chicken broth and it was a great addition. YUM...these are the BEST! Thanks for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      Yummy!! I used smoke flavoring and 1/4 cup soy bacon bits instead of bacon, 2 bunches of greens, veggie broth, extra garlic, added 1 tsp apple cider vinegar and garlic powder. Turned out great! I will make this again for sure!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      YUM! (And it's not often I say that about a vegetable--especially greens!) These are awesome! They're sweet, spicy, and tangy. I did add a cap-full of cider vinegar and cut back a little on the red pepper flakes. This may have to be more than a once-a-year treat! Happy 2010, everyone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I loved this. I think I may blanch the greens first next time. DH thought they were a bit bitter. I cooked the bacon in the same pot I made the greens in and cooked the garlic and onion in the bacon fat until soft. I can't wait to make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Absolutely WONDERFUL!! Being from the south and having eaten good greens all my life but never having fixed them I was very worried. But these were BETTER than any I have ever had!! I have made these several times since New Years (with my Black Eyed Peas of course!) and follow the recipe except I use just bacon grease (saved in fridge), Tony"s Creole Seasoning and red pepper flakes in a one pound bag of frozen chopped collards if I don't have fresh. For the sugar I use about 2 tablespoons of white sugar to cut the bitter. Also, I put them on simmer and cook for at least an hour (while your pork is roasting and cornbread is baking!) If you like southern style greens, these are EXACTLY what you're looking for, you won't be disappointed!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Wow! Finally, after all these years, I can cook really good collard greens! I had 1 pound of frozen collards, so I guessed at the amounts of the other ingredients, didn't measure, but it all worked. I did have to cook the collards for an hour for them to become tender, but that could have been caused by my low simmering temperature. The crushed red pepper and brown sugar made these very, very good! Oops! Forgot to mention that I use only a little brown sugar, nowhere near the recipe amount - a little goes a long way! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      Made this several years ago after receiving collard green and not knowing what in the world to do with them. Since then, several friends have requested, even years later, that I bring this as a dish when I attend their gatherings. Perfect recipe and my only collard green recipe worth keeping and passing on to my child one day. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Collard Greens - It's Good for You!

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.2
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    24%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 9.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 330.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes