12 Reviews

This was a great change of pace that I was happy to serve for a friend who hates mayo-based slaw. I made it with a red cabbage from my CSA box, which made it absolutely gorgeous to look at! I think I may have oversalted it at first, because just before serving I felt I needed to add a few spoons of sugar to balance the flavor. Turned out great! Made for Veg Swap 36.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian July 31, 2011

As we were eating this I realized I forgot to add the lemon juice so I quickly stirred some in. Served with portabello mushroom burgers, fresh plums for a yummy but easy Saturday dinner. I used both red onion and scallions and wish I had some red cabbage on hand to add but didn't. Most of the ingredients were from our CSA box, too. Thanks for posting. Reviewed for Veg Tag/July.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl July 17, 2011

I chose this for kittencalskitchen forum tag game, it's a wonderful coleslaw that improves in flavor after chilling, I used Greek yogurt add in some garlic powder and seasoned it with season salt, thank you Dorit, this will be enjoyed all week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 27, 2011

This is a very good Coleslaw recipe. Lightens it up nicely and you don't really give up taste. I liked all the different tastes and textures, too. Home run!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ January 16, 2010

This is very good. The dressing was just right for us without the dill and no added sugar. Liked the crunchiness and sweet of the apple. Kind of a cross between waldorf and coleslaw! Was great with the baby-back ribs we had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here February 21, 2009

Loved it. I added extra apple, used lemon pepper in place of the regular pepper, and added some sesame seeds. Instead of the dill, I used fresh chives. Fabulous side dish. Made for Veg*n Swap 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride October 06, 2008

Between tagging this recipe - I was drawn to the inclusion of apples - in Zaar Stars Tag and making it, dim memories started surfacing of a coleslaw with apples that I used to make several decades ago. Recipe long since lost! Enthusiasm for making this recipe grew! I'm sure my ancient recipe did not have the delicious dressing that Dreamer's recipe has: great blend of flavours. Just loved the dill and lemon flavouring. I made my coleslaw with Savoy cabbage, a couple of baby carrots (which have a great natural sweetness), 1/2 red pepper (I find them more flavoursome than green peppers) and a Fuji apple (love them). My coleslaw would have been slightly higher in fat because I used Greek yoghurt (the only yoghurt for me) but I did use light mayonnaise. Never knew coleslaw could be SO delicious. I made this out of season - it's winter here right now - and loved it, so come summer, I'll be making this a lot as a really healthy (even with my decadent Greek yoghurt) take-to-work-lunch. Thanks so much, Dreamer in Ontario, for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder August 21, 2008

I thought this was great! I usually don't put apple in my coleslaw/waldorf salad anymore so the bits of sweetness from the apple was a welcomed change. The dressing fit great, and would have been even better if I had some fresh dill instead of dried. :)Thanks! Reviewed during ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUv 2 BaKE June 28, 2008

Delicious slaw! I did the fine shred - love coleslaw with carrots, green pepper, green onions and apple. Used fresh dill and like I do to most dressings - a touch of sugar. ( a personal preferance) Great slaw, have added it to my coleslaw collection.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry June 25, 2008

Busy days and finding that lunch is a frazzled rush with just a sandwich. Realizing that left me short on veggies I stumbled on this tasty dish and decided it would be a great solution. Decided to adapt it to the WW Core program using non-fat mayo and yogurt and it worked great. The salad was popping with flavor and much to my surprise the dill and apple worked well together. Like the other reviewers, I felt it needed a wee bit of sweetness and added a teaspoon of Splenda. Next time I think I will make a little extra dressing as the slaw was a bit dry for me, but this was minor and a matter of taste. Thanks for posting! Made for *Potluck Tag*.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni April 24, 2008
Coleslaw With Apple and Onion