42 Reviews

This cole slaw is good. I liked the subtle honey mustard flavor. I cut back on the vinegar as my family doesn't care for a strong vinegary flavor. I'll be making this one again. Thanks alot Mean Chef!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CardaMom September 17, 2003

Have never made Mean Chef's recipe that turned out less than perfect and I've been using his recipes for a number of years now. Needless to say, I was intrigued by the fist negative review I came across. I made his Cole Slaw Saturday, after lunch. My head of Napa cabbage was very large, so I had to double the dressing. (I loved the dressing.) Put the bowl with Cole Slaw in the fridge and went sailing. When I returned Cole Slaw bowl and lots of smaller bowls were in the dishwasher. Kids loved it for a snack. I'll be definitely making this one again. Ballottine

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ballottine July 28, 2003

Added a spoonful more of mayonnaise as I found the mustard flavour to be a bit overpowering.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 April 19, 2003

This is our favorite slaw recipe!

We've only used regular green cabbage; I just chop it up however it ends up. We don't add the carrots (I react). We have substituted sugar for the honey in a pinch. We make it with or without the celery seed. We have by-guess-by-goshed it at times (it's better when in proper ratio). I always just use a "heaping spoonful" of honey--and our honey tends to be local; run-of-the-mill honey from a big-box store does no justice for this recipe IMO.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
O-mama March 23, 2012

5 stars , best I've made yet! Thanks for the keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 28, 2012

This is an excellent slaw recipe! The only change I made was I used stone ground mustard instead of Grey Poupon. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swankypup November 15, 2011

I'll start by saying that we did like this. My dh gave it 4 stars. I am only going with 3 because if I would have followed the recipe, we would not have liked this. I did use regular green cabbage. I halved the vinegar and I used 3 Tbs of Honey. I only added 3/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp celery seed. I may try this with other types of vinegar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hunny bunny April 12, 2011

This was a good coleslaw recipe. I did half the vinegar as we prefer that way. I made this to go with our rib dinner. Very good. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 02, 2011

I didn't have napa cabbage, I used a bag of coleslaw mix. We put it on pulled pork sandwiches and it worked really well. I am not sure how much I would have liked it alone though. After tasting I did add a little more honey. I would like to try it with the napa cabbage next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 September 16, 2010
Coleslaw