Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2003

      This cole slaw is good. I liked the subtle honey mustard flavor. I cut back on the vinegar as my family doesn't care for a strong vinegary flavor. I'll be making this one again. Thanks alot Mean Chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      Have never made Mean Chef's recipe that turned out less than perfect and I've been using his recipes for a number of years now. Needless to say, I was intrigued by the fist negative review I came across. I made his Cole Slaw Saturday, after lunch. My head of Napa cabbage was very large, so I had to double the dressing. (I loved the dressing.) Put the bowl with Cole Slaw in the fridge and went sailing. When I returned Cole Slaw bowl and lots of smaller bowls were in the dishwasher. Kids loved it for a snack. I'll be definitely making this one again. Ballottine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      Added a spoonful more of mayonnaise as I found the mustard flavour to be a bit overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

    • on March 23, 2012

      This is our favorite slaw recipe!

      We've only used regular green cabbage; I just chop it up however it ends up. We don't add the carrots (I react). We have substituted sugar for the honey in a pinch. We make it with or without the celery seed. We have by-guess-by-goshed it at times (it's better when in proper ratio). I always just use a "heaping spoonful" of honey--and our honey tends to be local; run-of-the-mill honey from a big-box store does no justice for this recipe IMO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      5 stars , best I've made yet! Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      This is an excellent slaw recipe! The only change I made was I used stone ground mustard instead of Grey Poupon. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      I'll start by saying that we did like this. My dh gave it 4 stars. I am only going with 3 because if I would have followed the recipe, we would not have liked this. I did use regular green cabbage. I halved the vinegar and I used 3 Tbs of Honey. I only added 3/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp celery seed. I may try this with other types of vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      This was a good coleslaw recipe. I did half the vinegar as we prefer that way. I made this to go with our rib dinner. Very good. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      I didn't have napa cabbage, I used a bag of coleslaw mix. We put it on pulled pork sandwiches and it worked really well. I am not sure how much I would have liked it alone though. After tasting I did add a little more honey. I would like to try it with the napa cabbage next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      I don't really like Coleslaw, but I loved this one. I really must make this more often. Even hubby says he loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I thought this was just ok. The dressing was kind of overpowering... too much vinegar I think. If I were to make it again I'd cut it back a bit. Maybe make half the dressing so there's not so much of it? Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Made this for lunches this last weekend. I should have gone easier on the vinegar and mustard. Hubby liked it so that's a good thing. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Everyone absolutely loved this. The dressing was perfect, and I liked the napa cabbage also. This is not only my only coleslaw recipe, now, it might prompt me to make coleslaw more often. (I didn't like it formerly.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Made this for lunch today. I used the head of cabbage I had leftover from St. Pat's. This coleslow was the best, now before I loved KFC coleslaw, but not anymore. The honey and mustard gave it an unique taste. It's a shame I have to share with the rest of the family, I will be making this again. Thanks so much for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      We ate it on the first night before it set & loved it! Added ramen noodels (just the noodles) for extra crunch :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      The dressing is really good--Napa cabbage for coleslaw, not so much. It can't hold up as well as regular green or red cabbage and gets too soggy, plus the taste isn't the same. But the dressing is wonderful for regular coleslaw mix--just the right balance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      LOVED the dressing. Didn't care for the Napa cabbage. It seemed to get soggy instead of being crisp. I'll try it with regular cabbage next time. I did use about 1/4 cup of honey because the dressing was quite tart. Kudos to Mean Chef for a winner....Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2006

      I'm sorry I can't be more generous with my rating Meanie, I usually love your recipes. We found this to be just ok. The cider vinegar/sugar/mayo combination reminded me too much of miracle whip for my taste, so it is not a recipe I would make again, but thank you Mean Chef for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      I was excited to see a cole slaw recipe with no sugar, not to mention so many great reviews! But it was just not a taste we enjoyed. Much too sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All < 15 Mins Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (344 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.3
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    60%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 427.8 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    napa cabbage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites