Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coleslaw Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coleslaw

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on March 20, 2003

      The combination of the mayonnaise and the apple cider vinegar makes this cole slaw almost a cross between a creamy slaw and a vinegrette slaw, both of which we enjoy. I've avoided using red cabbage in slaws ever since years ago when I made a slaw that the color bled out of turning it into an unappetizing 'pink', so I was a little leary about this one. I saw some raving comments on the boards about it and decided I would try it anyway as I had a small head of red cabbage that I needed to use. My family really enjoyed it, with the exception of the youngest 'picky eater' who wouldn't even try it--so she doesn't get to have any say in the rating. ;-) We ate this for dinner after having stood for about 3-4 hours and thought it would benefit from sitting longer. We were right as the following day, the flavors had melded beautifully and I didn't have an unappealing 'pink' slaw...yippee! Thank you for sharing this recipe chia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2003

      Great cole slaw recipe! Took it to a family dinner tonight and it was a hit. I added chopped apples, but other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks, Carole

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      Delicious cole slaw, we liked the flavor of the celery seed in it. I also added chopped apple and a few raisins, Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      thnx a lot simply superb

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2003

      I have made this 2 times and each time it came out perfectly. It complimented my pulled pork and then fried chicken so well. Everyone loved it and there were no leftovers. This is my new coleslaw recipe. Excellent recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      Excellent side dish! I substituted rice vinegar, regular mustard, and chopped celery just because I didn't have the suggested ingredients on hand. I also added a dash of red pepper flakes to wake up the taste buds...turned out great...many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      Delicious! I used 1/2 bag of broccoli slaw in place of the red cabbage, and ended up using twice the dressing (we like our slaw wet). Other than that I followed the recipe as written with regard to ingredient ratios. Great flavor with a little zing in the dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      I love this slaw...what a nice combination of flavors, and the celery seed added a great zip to it. I made it with low-fat mayo, and if you're into Weight Watchers this is only 1 point per serving made with the light mayo. Yahoo!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      Very good! In the past I have also had trouble with the purple cabbage coloring the whole cole slaw so this time after I got all of the purple cabbage chopped up I put it in a colander and rinsed it real good, the water was really purple that came off of it, just a tip that might help.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      This is a great slaw. I love the fact that it's so easy to throw together. I've made it twice - once with white wine tarragon vinegar (because I hadn't realized that I was out of cider vinegar) and once as posted. This is a definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      This has to be one of the best cole slaw recipes I've ever eaten. My mother even asked for the recipe (a real rarity)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2003

      This slaw is AWESOME!! I picked up a bag of pre-chopped cabbage, and added your wonderful dressing to it. Followed your easy directions, and didn't add or delete anything...It came out delicious, as is... Thanks for sharing, chia...I'll definitely be making this one again! Laudee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Maybe I read this one wrong, but I thought there was too much cabbage so I only used half as much as the recipe calls for. And it was still a little "dry" for my taste, I like creamier slaw. Ok, having said that: this is wonderful. Great flavor, the celery seeds are the magic ingredient. I let it sit overnight. Served it with homemade BBQ ribs, OO-LA-LA, perfect. Definitely recommend it, but with half the cabbage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      Thank you for this recipe. I like the short list of ingredients. It has a lot of flavor and not too much dairy. We made it tonight and loved it with some bbq chicken and corn on the cob!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      This is it! Finally found the perfect coleslaw recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Love the Recipe, the same as my. This has a lot of potential to work in other, Side dishes. AS other will see in wake up the taste buds, To use in added a dash. Thank chia I love cooking, to make a recipe that will work for me, and others.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      Fantastic! We loved it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Great recipe! I realized at the last second that I was plumb out of mayo (who does that?!) so I had to sub light sour cream. It was still great, and lighter in calories. Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      great sauce, I used rice vinegar , I also didnt use red cabbage , everyone loved this. ty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Not our cup of tea. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coleslaw

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.3
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    46%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 3.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 121.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites