54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The combination of the mayonnaise and the apple cider vinegar makes this cole slaw almost a cross between a creamy slaw and a vinegrette slaw, both of which we enjoy. I've avoided using red cabbage in slaws ever since years ago when I made a slaw that the color bled out of turning it into an unappetizing 'pink', so I was a little leary about this one. I saw some raving comments on the boards about it and decided I would try it anyway as I had a small head of red cabbage that I needed to use. My family really enjoyed it, with the exception of the youngest 'picky eater' who wouldn't even try it--so she doesn't get to have any say in the rating. ;-) We ate this for dinner after having stood for about 3-4 hours and thought it would benefit from sitting longer. We were right as the following day, the flavors had melded beautifully and I didn't have an unappealing 'pink' slaw...yippee! Thank you for sharing this recipe chia!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn March 20, 2003

Great cole slaw recipe! Took it to a family dinner tonight and it was a hit. I added chopped apples, but other than that I followed the recipe. Thanks, Carole

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando February 08, 2003

Delicious cole slaw, we liked the flavor of the celery seed in it. I also added chopped apple and a few raisins, Yummy.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb Gertz January 09, 2003

thnx a lot simply superb

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raza Ashraf Wadkar March 11, 2003

I have made this 2 times and each time it came out perfectly. It complimented my pulled pork and then fried chicken so well. Everyone loved it and there were no leftovers. This is my new coleslaw recipe. Excellent recipe!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~jb4~ February 20, 2003

Excellent side dish! I substituted rice vinegar, regular mustard, and chopped celery just because I didn't have the suggested ingredients on hand. I also added a dash of red pepper flakes to wake up the taste buds...turned out great...many thanks.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee in Texas February 12, 2003

Delicious! I used 1/2 bag of broccoli slaw in place of the red cabbage, and ended up using twice the dressing (we like our slaw wet). Other than that I followed the recipe as written with regard to ingredient ratios. Great flavor with a little zing in the dressing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta January 18, 2003

I love this slaw...what a nice combination of flavors, and the celery seed added a great zip to it. I made it with low-fat mayo, and if you're into Weight Watchers this is only 1 point per serving made with the light mayo. Yahoo!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani January 15, 2003

Very good! In the past I have also had trouble with the purple cabbage coloring the whole cole slaw so this time after I got all of the purple cabbage chopped up I put it in a colander and rinsed it real good, the water was really purple that came off of it, just a tip that might help.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RECIPE ADDICT September 19, 2009

This is a great slaw. I love the fact that it's so easy to throw together. I've made it twice - once with white wine tarragon vinegar (because I hadn't realized that I was out of cider vinegar) and once as posted. This is a definite keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl April 19, 2004
Coleslaw