13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This coleslaw got a 5 star rating from DH. And from me also :) I used light mayonnaise, yellow mustard, no old bay seasoning, and no celery seeds. The dressing is really good. Thanks Andi :) Made for I Recommend tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 11, 2011

I had some leftover coleslaw mix to use and this was the perfect recipe for it! I used 1/2 the amount of mustard and left out the horseradish, and this slaw was excellent!! Will be making this for our next BBQ for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH June 29, 2011

Yum! I started with a purchased coleslaw mix that made this really simple and fast to throw together. I halved the recipe but probably added a little more than 1/2 the mayo as I like my slaw a little creamier. Thanks Andi for yet another great recipe. Made for Best of 2010 Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme February 21, 2011

I used celery, so left out the celery seeds, and didn't use the horseradish. I also added in a little purple cabbage. Loved it. Thanks so much. I'm so glad I adopted you in PAC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 20, 2014

Super tasty. I love the heat that both the black pepper and horseradish bring on. I halved the recipe, used a littel less mayo as we like it lightly dressed, increased the horseradish and used 1 teaspoon sugar. I don't have any green onions and omitted onions entirely, I don't even miss 'em. Thanks for posting this tasty slaw, Andy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour June 21, 2013

We do love coleslaw, so even though there were just the 2 of us, I made the whole recipe! Did cut back on the mayo & did use a honey Dijon mustard! Even included the horseradish which pleased my other half! This is definitely a winning recipe & a great keeper! Thanks so much for sharing it! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 08, 2011

I cut the recipe in half but followed the recipe exactly. Boy was I leery on a lot of things like the bay seasoning, the mustard, the horseradish and especially the pepper. But I figured go for it, the worst scenario was to toss it in the garbage. I had to force myself to add all that pepper though. To my surprise it was very good. The pepper gave it a nice little nip which you really didn't notice until you swallowed it. I ate almost all of it in one sitting. Made for I Recommend Red White & Blue tag...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 July 20, 2011

I made this with low fat mayo and used white onion instead of green one. I used the old bay, didnt use the carrots. My store had package coleslaw mix on sale, so I bought and used that. I also used only 1/2 c. mayo. To keep it really low fat. We liked it very much. Will be making again, as I just made it yesterday and is half gone. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollywally June 20, 2010

Andi, this is one of the best I've ever made. Just enough dressing to make it creamy (don't you hate it when it's drowning in liquid) and a perfect balance of seasonings. This is going to be a regular on my salad rotation. Made for the May Pool Party Tag in the Diabetic Forum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 May 03, 2010

We enjoyed this very much! I only used about 1/2 cup of mayo and kept all other ingredients the same. I was afraid the amount of pepper would be too much but it was right on. Very yummy! Update - both DD's thought it had too much pepper - guess I'll cut back next time and just pepper my own!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA April 12, 2010
Coleslaw