15 Reviews

Dressing review only: Loved the dressing. I used a pre-packaged slaw mix. I cut back on the mayo, halved the oil and used all other ingredients. I prefer a lightly coated slaw because I find it does get moister as it sits before serving. Enjoyed by all! Thanks a bunch, JustJanS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour July 02, 2011

A wonderful version where you can really taste the individual flavours and it is not overpowered by the dressing. I particularly liked the addition of the cucumber which I felt made the salad very refreshing. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook April 05, 2010

Have made this many times and am finally getting around to writing a review! Really like this and DH loves the fact it is not loaded with a heavy creamy dressing! Very light and tangy! Oh yes, I always add a grated apple (and sort) and the added sweetness gets my 3 yr old twins to eat it as well. Bring on summer BBQ's!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madonna 66 October 12, 2009

Love the dressing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yourrose99 August 29, 2009

Excellent Flavor! Easy and quick preparation. I used my food processor for chopping the cabbage. Prepared for the 8th Edition of Make My Recipe Aug 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook August 13, 2009

I had a pack of pre packed coleslaw vegetables to use up! We added extra vegetables (as listed) to the this recipe. We added the cumumber, onion, capsicum amd celery to the recipe. DH took over from here.....He made the dressing exactly as written. This recipe was so quick, so easy.....and so fantastic.....not to mention such a great taste. If DH can get it right....anyone can! The family loved it! Thanks Jan, another keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme March 16, 2009

Cole slaw is my favorite salad also and this deserves a place in my cole slaw cook book ,a great recipe.Loved the pepper in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STARTERWIFE July 25, 2007

I found this to be fairly easy to make and pretty tasty for someone (actually all my guests) who didn't like coleslaw. While we wouldn't make this all the time, we'll definately use it again the next time we make pulled pork. The only change I would do is to use onle 1/4 cabbage, as the 1/2 I used when shredded, was way more than 6 servings... I would think more like 10-12 servings with the recipe as is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saylaveev February 18, 2007

This worked really well, and people were impressed that I made it from scatch :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EnglishRose August 01, 2006

Great coleslaw recipe Jan, like the addition of the capsicum and cucumber. Served with homemade zesty fries and burgers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* July 23, 2005
Coleslaw