24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious recipe. All of the flavors, all the crunchy vegetables were spot on. A very nice mix. The beans gave good eye appeal and another layer of flavor. The bacon was an absolutely perfect addition. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the amount of salt written on the recipe. It called for 1 tsp. It was easy to fix by adding more mayo and vinegar, but as written it was too salty for me. This recipe will be made again, and I will cut back on the salt to maybe 1/2 tsp. An EXCELENT recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie July 05, 2010

Awesome! I read the other reviews and added more vinegar (3T), less sugar (1t), and I didn't have celery. Great combo and dressing! I LOVE the kidney beans in it~ thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja June 03, 2012

yum! Even my four little ones eat it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcmrsnutt December 20, 2014

A very tasty cole slaw recipe. I enjoyed the addition of beans to the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( May 12, 2014

Very different & very good! I doubled the recipe, but I'm glad I didn't double the salt. It would've been way too much. Half was plenty. Also, unlike many other reviewers, I thought it needed more sugar. I used 4T for 4 cups of cole slaw. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover May 27, 2013

This was really good; I used 3 cups of slaw mix instead of 2, a half-can of beans, and I reduced the sugar. We like a lightly dressed slaw. The beans add a nice texture, and the bacon makes this great! This was part of a Super Bowl spread with BBQ pulled-chicken sliders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal February 08, 2013

Delicious coleslaw! I loved all the flavors and textures. I doubled the vinegar and used a little less mayo. I'm glad I doubled the recipe, I'll be enjoying the leftovers. Thanks for posting, loved it!.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview September 23, 2012

This was very good. If you can let it sit for an hour in the refridgerator it helps the flavors meld.. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 September 08, 2012

Fantastic! No more store bought for us. My DH was not impressed when I said I was going to put beans in it, of course any thing with bacon was good. But he said he could almost make a meal out of it. 5 stars for sure

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover September 08, 2012

This is a GREAT recipe! my daughter even liked it and she doesn't care for cole slaw. I would cut the kidney beans down to 1/2 can. But thats just our preference. Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kpcarb August 28, 2011
Cole Slaw With Beans and Bacon