Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cole Slaw With Beans and Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cole Slaw With Beans and Bacon

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2010

      This is a delicious recipe. All of the flavors, all the crunchy vegetables were spot on. A very nice mix. The beans gave good eye appeal and another layer of flavor. The bacon was an absolutely perfect addition. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the amount of salt written on the recipe. It called for 1 tsp. It was easy to fix by adding more mayo and vinegar, but as written it was too salty for me. This recipe will be made again, and I will cut back on the salt to maybe 1/2 tsp. An EXCELENT recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      Awesome! I read the other reviews and added more vinegar (3T), less sugar (1t), and I didn't have celery. Great combo and dressing! I LOVE the kidney beans in it~ thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2014

      yum! Even my four little ones eat it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      A very tasty cole slaw recipe. I enjoyed the addition of beans to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2013

      Very different & very good! I doubled the recipe, but I'm glad I didn't double the salt. It would've been way too much. Half was plenty. Also, unlike many other reviewers, I thought it needed more sugar. I used 4T for 4 cups of cole slaw. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2013

      This was really good; I used 3 cups of slaw mix instead of 2, a half-can of beans, and I reduced the sugar. We like a lightly dressed slaw. The beans add a nice texture, and the bacon makes this great! This was part of a Super Bowl spread with BBQ pulled-chicken sliders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      Delicious coleslaw! I loved all the flavors and textures. I doubled the vinegar and used a little less mayo. I'm glad I doubled the recipe, I'll be enjoying the leftovers. Thanks for posting, loved it!.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      This was very good. If you can let it sit for an hour in the refridgerator it helps the flavors meld.. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      Fantastic! No more store bought for us. My DH was not impressed when I said I was going to put beans in it, of course any thing with bacon was good. But he said he could almost make a meal out of it. 5 stars for sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      This is a GREAT recipe! my daughter even liked it and she doesn't care for cole slaw. I would cut the kidney beans down to 1/2 can. But thats just our preference. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      This was wonderful!! What a great combo of texture and flavors. I used the mayo made with olive oil (im watching fat) and used about a third cup and tripled the vinegar (I used cider vinegar too), and also doubled the sugar. (I prefer more of a vinegary dressing). I also like another reviewer suggested halved the salt. Oh, and one more thing I used green onions because thats what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      This cole slaw is delicious! Very different and very enjoyable! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Trying to get more fiber in our diet, so I decided to give this recipe a try. It was very different, but also very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This is soooo good. I doubled the recipe and substituted red beans for kidney beans because that was what I had on hand. I may never make cole slaw any other way again. DH loved it but he doesn'r count because he loves every thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Have eaten and fixed slaw all my life, but this was a new and delicious experience. Will surely try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This was really good. I used a whole bag of slaw mix and 1 and 1/2 cups of celery. I also used 12 slices of bacon...yum! Pretty much doubled the rest of the ingredients and it was great. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This was as good as I'd hoped it would be! I took it to a potluck lunch, and not one bean or piece of cabbage was left over. My husband usually loves for me to bring home the leftovers, but he was completely out of luck this time. Everyone wants the recipe, and I will keep mine handy to make again often. Thank you DuChick for the advice of not making the entire recipe up in advance. It is the kind of slaw that benefits from last minute assembly. You gotta try this one - it is really a winnner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      We really liked this. Was a nice change up. Made exactly as shown. I just had to make this, my curiosity got the best of me, and I am glad I did. Thank you for the great surprise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      I was pleasently suprised by this dish since I had never heard of bacon and beans in cole slaw before A perfect blend of protein and carbs. And great for a side with a sandwich instead of chips. Gave a bit to my mom and she stopped by for seconds. Thanks for tossing it out here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      I made this to take to a cookout tonight, but after my first sample, I know it's going to be a hit. Love the addition of the kidney beans and the bacon. Just a really good combination going on in this one. Thanks. Made for SSC Pet Parade

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cole Slaw With Beans and Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 218.4
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    37%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 10.9 mg
    3%
    Sodium 663.5 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 9.0 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes