19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been looking for the perfect pasta recipe for late night snacks or sick days for over a year now. And now I have it! I did change a few things however: I added more water (3T all together since I originally halved the recipe), which did make it a tad thin, so next time I'll add less. I also added the Rice Wine Vinegar like someone suggested. This added a nice touch, but the 1T I added was just too much for me and I had to add a tad more soy sauce and honey to help cut it. Overall, I did feel like it was missing something, but I attribute that to using olive oil instead of sesame (didn't have any, did add sesame seeds at the end though), and using powered ginger instead of fresh and less of it (I don't like the taste of ginger). Oh, and some red pepper flakes add a nice little kick!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A.M February 07, 2010

These are really tasty but I did adapt the recipe. I halved the amount of noodles to be used and also added a chopped up yellow pepper,a bit of water, tuna and beans for extra protein. Tasted like I had bought them from a noodle bar. Delicious and will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justinefoister July 05, 2009

Just updating this -- I realized I gave it no stars the first time I reviewed! These are very good. I skimped on the sesame oil the first time and have made them again with the called for amount and have added rice wine vinegar. All-in-all good sesame noodles!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pines506 September 14, 2007

I did find these a bit bland and VERY sticky. I did not have carrots, so they were not added, but otherwise followed the recipe. I think next time I will add some rice vinegar and /or lime juice as suggested previously to try and make it not so sticky.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mdnitesky September 13, 2007

I have been looking for a great sauce for cold sesame noodles, and found it. I did modify it slightly though and found the results outstanding. Based on previous reviews, I used 8oz of pasta instead of 16. I also increased the amount of warm water from 3T to 6T (and the flavor was not diluted). I added 2T of rice wine vinegar for punch, and about 1/4tsp of crushed red pepper for a mild heat (will use 1/2 tsp next time). This recipe is a winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rocco Gibralter September 04, 2007

I cut the recipe down to two servings and used whole wheat linguine. I also added cucumber and tofu and served over a bed of spinach. It was very good but I had two issues. 1. I felt like it was missing something in the sauce. 2. After it chilled it was sticking together. I fixed both problems with a little lime juice. Thanks for posting, I'll have to play with this one a little to get it just right for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilysse July 17, 2007

Very easy and speedy recipe. I did not have carrots, but could imagine that it be even more delicious. I used soba noodles instead of the spaghetti. YUMMM!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GourmetGradStudent June 10, 2007

This is my absolute fav recipe for cold sesame noodles, I'm so addicted. A always triple the recipe so that the noods are super saucy. Awesome, simple recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ieatfoOOod June 02, 2007

These did not live up to my expectation. I thought they would look like the picture but did not. I used buckwheat noodles which did give the dish extra depth, but they did not taste like the ones I get at the carry out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam3kidz February 14, 2007

These are just like the noodles from Simply Thyme in Rochester! I am thrilled to have the recipe. Thank you. The only thing I did different was to use Yoshidos Marinade in place of the soy sauce, as it has a sweeter taste. I used soba noodles too and chopped up some baked tempeh to place on top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia October 19, 2006
Cold Sesame Noodles