Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cold Sesame Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cold Sesame Noodles

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2010

      I have been looking for the perfect pasta recipe for late night snacks or sick days for over a year now. And now I have it! I did change a few things however: I added more water (3T all together since I originally halved the recipe), which did make it a tad thin, so next time I'll add less. I also added the Rice Wine Vinegar like someone suggested. This added a nice touch, but the 1T I added was just too much for me and I had to add a tad more soy sauce and honey to help cut it. Overall, I did feel like it was missing something, but I attribute that to using olive oil instead of sesame (didn't have any, did add sesame seeds at the end though), and using powered ginger instead of fresh and less of it (I don't like the taste of ginger). Oh, and some red pepper flakes add a nice little kick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      These are really tasty but I did adapt the recipe. I halved the amount of noodles to be used and also added a chopped up yellow pepper,a bit of water, tuna and beans for extra protein. Tasted like I had bought them from a noodle bar. Delicious and will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Just updating this -- I realized I gave it no stars the first time I reviewed! These are very good. I skimped on the sesame oil the first time and have made them again with the called for amount and have added rice wine vinegar. All-in-all good sesame noodles!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      I did find these a bit bland and VERY sticky. I did not have carrots, so they were not added, but otherwise followed the recipe. I think next time I will add some rice vinegar and /or lime juice as suggested previously to try and make it not so sticky.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I have been looking for a great sauce for cold sesame noodles, and found it. I did modify it slightly though and found the results outstanding. Based on previous reviews, I used 8oz of pasta instead of 16. I also increased the amount of warm water from 3T to 6T (and the flavor was not diluted). I added 2T of rice wine vinegar for punch, and about 1/4tsp of crushed red pepper for a mild heat (will use 1/2 tsp next time). This recipe is a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      I cut the recipe down to two servings and used whole wheat linguine. I also added cucumber and tofu and served over a bed of spinach. It was very good but I had two issues. 1. I felt like it was missing something in the sauce. 2. After it chilled it was sticking together. I fixed both problems with a little lime juice. Thanks for posting, I'll have to play with this one a little to get it just right for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Very easy and speedy recipe. I did not have carrots, but could imagine that it be even more delicious. I used soba noodles instead of the spaghetti. YUMMM!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      This is my absolute fav recipe for cold sesame noodles, I'm so addicted. A always triple the recipe so that the noods are super saucy. Awesome, simple recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      These did not live up to my expectation. I thought they would look like the picture but did not. I used buckwheat noodles which did give the dish extra depth, but they did not taste like the ones I get at the carry out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      These are just like the noodles from Simply Thyme in Rochester! I am thrilled to have the recipe. Thank you. The only thing I did different was to use Yoshidos Marinade in place of the soy sauce, as it has a sweeter taste. I used soba noodles too and chopped up some baked tempeh to place on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      I tasted the recipe at different stages, hot, warm and cold and definitely preferred cold. I used buckwheat soba noodles though only enough for 1.5 serves but this was enough for 3 of us but left the sauce coating as per 3 serves using chunky peanut butter and we enjoyed with our Ginger Soy Chicken Wings, thank you Little Bee, made for Name That Ingredient tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      We made this recipe for dinner last night. I actually cut the pasta in half and still found it to be a little dry for my taste. The sauce was flavorful, though. So, we will probably make this again. I really liked how quickly it came together - was able to pop it in the fridge, go for a walk with the family and come back to "Cold Sesame Noodles."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      Mmmmmm. Very, very good!! I used Japanese Soba noodles and it was SO tasty. I made with lime-cilantro shrimp (Lime-Cilantro Shrimp). Made an awesome meal!!! I'll be keeping this recipe on hand. Thank for an easy and wonderful recipe. Oh.. I also added matchstick cucumber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      These are good, but I think they do need something extra, so I added some extra dressing + green cyrry paste and chili sauce, to give it a bit more of a kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      I had such high hopes for these. But I doubled the recipe and TRIPLED the dressing and they were SO dry!!! The flavor was ok, but far, far too dry! I had them out for my daughters graduation party and they were barely touched. I used spaghetti for the pasta and added the optional carrots. I will try this again and re-review it, but I will make it with the regular amount of pasta and quadreuple the dressing ingredients. I topped it with chopped green onions, chopped silantro and a sprinkling of black sesame seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2006

      I liked them better warm - but that's just my opinion. My husband didn't care for them, but I loved them. I'll be making them for myself when I'm home and he's not. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      yummy, this was just perfect. I only had ginger in a jar but that worked out fine. Perfect recipe, will make over and over again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      Yum yum yum!! We really enjoyed this dish. I used dark soy sauce for the soy sauce, and fresh carrots from my garden. This was a perfect side dish for Peanut Butter and Ginger Chicken in a Crockpot Peanut Butter and Ginger Chicken in a Crock Pot. Thanks for sharing it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2004

      These were very good! I made the noodles along with a General Tso's recipe also from this sight and it was almost as good as take-out, without the calories and fat! (Go easy on the peanut better!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cold Sesame Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.3
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    20%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 209.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.4 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites