27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been cooking for 40 years and I must say this is the BEST POTATOE SALAD I have ever tasted. Made this a couple of weeks ago at a picnic at Thunder of Louisville, Kentucky. Wow. This is no fail, easy to follow, and if you follow this you cannot make any mistakes. You know what is best about this recipe? This can be used by a beginner or someone that has been cooking for years. If you are a beginner you will have rave reviews. If you are a veteran you will continue to keep your good reputation as a good cook. Rock On!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joann.king1 April 25, 2011

So good. I made this for DD's slumber party and we all enjoyed it. I halved the recipe but used the same amount of eggs as written.....loved it. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 17, 2010

I used a dijon salad dressing (because it's all I had) and it was the best potato salad I'd ever tasted. It was the first time I tried this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RockInTheROK February 01, 2010

I made this for a group that includes a few picky eaters. I added some green onions that I had on hand. There wasn't a spoonful of salad left over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nonna Grace September 21, 2009

I have been looking for a recipe that was similar in taste to my mom's potato salad ever since she pasted away 6 years ago. I am happy to say that with some very minor changes...I have a winner! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazie4cooking September 04, 2009

I have never made potato salad before and decided to try this one out. I do not like mustard and while I used less than the 1/3 cup, it was still too much for me, so I pulled out some of the potato salad for myself, thinned it out a little bit with more mayo and a little bit of milk and added just a little pickle juice. Otherwise, this recipe was great. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri F. July 06, 2009

I was afraid this was going to be too sweet right after I mixed it up, but after chilling the flavors seemed to meld well. I did find that there wasn't enough potato for my preference (I like it a little drier) so next time I will keep the condiments the same but increase the taters. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech April 24, 2009

Every one loved this salad! Makes a full 1/2 tray and none leftover. At first I thought it was sweet but I made it the day before I served it and noone said anything about sweetness, so maybe that's what changes the flavor? Will def make this again and again. Thank you for posting!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Guerra January 01, 2009

Tom, you have another winner here! It is absolutely perfect. We used leftover baked potatoes in making ours. I've never had lemon juice in my potato salad before, most always made with pickled relish. I was not sure what salad mustard was either, so I used regular mustard. Made for *Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup 2008* game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J November 24, 2008

This was yummy... just like potato salad should be. I used gold potatos. I'm not sure waht salad mustar is. So, I used dijon mustard. I followed everyone's advice and used 1/2 cup sugar. But, I'll try 3/4 cup sugar next time to see what happens. I did sprinkle quite a bit of garlic salt in. It wasn't like a dask. It was a lot. I couldn't even taste the garlic. I also went on the light side of the salad dressing at about 2 cups.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martha Cooks! September 22, 2008
Cold Picnic Potato Salad