Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cold Picnic Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cold Picnic Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2011

      I have been cooking for 40 years and I must say this is the BEST POTATOE SALAD I have ever tasted. Made this a couple of weeks ago at a picnic at Thunder of Louisville, Kentucky. Wow. This is no fail, easy to follow, and if you follow this you cannot make any mistakes. You know what is best about this recipe? This can be used by a beginner or someone that has been cooking for years. If you are a beginner you will have rave reviews. If you are a veteran you will continue to keep your good reputation as a good cook. Rock On!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      So good. I made this for DD's slumber party and we all enjoyed it. I halved the recipe but used the same amount of eggs as written.....loved it. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I used a dijon salad dressing (because it's all I had) and it was the best potato salad I'd ever tasted. It was the first time I tried this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      I made this for a group that includes a few picky eaters. I added some green onions that I had on hand. There wasn't a spoonful of salad left over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      I have been looking for a recipe that was similar in taste to my mom's potato salad ever since she pasted away 6 years ago. I am happy to say that with some very minor changes...I have a winner! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      I have never made potato salad before and decided to try this one out. I do not like mustard and while I used less than the 1/3 cup, it was still too much for me, so I pulled out some of the potato salad for myself, thinned it out a little bit with more mayo and a little bit of milk and added just a little pickle juice. Otherwise, this recipe was great. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I was afraid this was going to be too sweet right after I mixed it up, but after chilling the flavors seemed to meld well. I did find that there wasn't enough potato for my preference (I like it a little drier) so next time I will keep the condiments the same but increase the taters. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Every one loved this salad! Makes a full 1/2 tray and none leftover. At first I thought it was sweet but I made it the day before I served it and noone said anything about sweetness, so maybe that's what changes the flavor? Will def make this again and again. Thank you for posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Tom, you have another winner here! It is absolutely perfect. We used leftover baked potatoes in making ours. I've never had lemon juice in my potato salad before, most always made with pickled relish. I was not sure what salad mustard was either, so I used regular mustard. Made for *Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup 2008* game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This was yummy... just like potato salad should be. I used gold potatos. I'm not sure waht salad mustar is. So, I used dijon mustard. I followed everyone's advice and used 1/2 cup sugar. But, I'll try 3/4 cup sugar next time to see what happens. I did sprinkle quite a bit of garlic salt in. It wasn't like a dask. It was a lot. I couldn't even taste the garlic. I also went on the light side of the salad dressing at about 2 cups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      This is the potato salad I,ve been searching for. Great recipe as is. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Excellent recipe, but I did make one alteration. After reading the other reviews, I opted to change the sugar from 3/4 cup to 1/2 cup. After sampling the result, and polling my dinner guests, I may even try reducing it to 1/4 cup next time. That being said, everyone said it was the best potato salad they've ever had! This has earned a spot in my permanent cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This a wonderful potatoe salad. I took it to a family BBQ and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I made this potato salad for a BBQ recently and it was an absolute hit! Everyone was telling me how good it was and that I just HAVE to make it again soon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      I made this on a whim, so i didn't have the celery. It turned out really good. This was the first time that I made homemade potato salad and it was super easy. I even made it easier by cutting up the potatos before boiling them. Awesome recipe, highly recommended!!! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2008

      Very good. I have never made potato salad with mustard before, but it was a really nice change. Made it for a family BBQ. It was enjoyed by all. I did use Hellman's Mayonnaise as that is what I prefer. Will make again, everyone enjoyed it! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This was absolutely the best p-salad I've had of the mustard variety. Really good stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I loved this recipe!!! I made the pototo salad for a barbeque. It was perfect! It definitely makes a large amount, but we loved it! I will keep this recipe for a very long time! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      This was great. When I first tasted it, I didn't like it. The next day everything worked together. I suggest making it a day before it's needed. Next time I'll cut back on the sugar and add sweet relish. The hardest part is cooking the salad for two people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I really loved this potato salad. I think I added to much mayonaise to it, But it had a great taste. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cold Picnic Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (325 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 491.0
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    25%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 315.3 mg
    105%
    Sodium 644.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.7 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 29.7 g
    119%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes