9 Reviews

My mom's Cold German Potato Salad had raw egg in it and I have never found a recipe for anything like it. This was very good although a little putzy - why cook down the onion? I may have cooked the onion too long - wasn't sure about "Sauté onion in water and butter till high simmer." There was no liquid left for the bullion to dissolve into. Anyway, I made it work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky April 08, 2015

I found this to be blan. It was easy enough to make but I expected more after reading all the reviews. I served it after about 9 hrs of refrigeration. It tasted a little better the next day but definitely not what I expected.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yvettejd July 05, 2012

I give this recipe 5 stars. It was fantastic. Very nice change from traditional potato salad with mayo. I will most certainly make this again and again. Didn't change a thing. Measurements were perfect. Thanks Teresa for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KRKing911 July 12, 2010

I made this recipe for the first time to serve at a tailgate prior to a Michigan football yesterday. I had six guests, five of which are from Germany. They all said my "Hausgemachter Deutscher Kartoffelsalat" was "lecker!!" THIS RECIPE IS PERFECT. Follow it precisely, and you will not be disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsills63 September 06, 2009

Oh boy this took me back to Germany . I have recipes for Hot German potato salad that are good but this one is exactly like many of the ones we had when we lived there YUMMMMMYYY This is going in my Divine Recipes cookbook Made for Gimme 5 tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wicked cook 46 August 18, 2009

I have been trying to find a recipe for cold german potato salad for awhile, all I could find was the hot version! I'm so glad I finally found this recipe. It is very good and easy to make, exactly what I was looking for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristina K July 12, 2009

With the exception of using unpeeled potatoes (I like the taste & nutrition found in the skin!), the recipe was followed! Your potato salad is ABSOLUTELY GREAT! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged, made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hit Wonders cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 06, 2008

Very tasty salad! Enjoyed with meatloaf and greenbeans. Thank you, Teresa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR October 31, 2006

We really liked this. First time I've ever made potato salad w/o mayo! Definately will make again. Thanks for a great recipe, Teresa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*sweetomato* October 06, 2006
Cold German Potato Salad