Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cold Cucumber Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cold Cucumber Soup

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2001

      I made this recipe with plain soy yogurt instead of sour cream and vegetable broth in the place of the chicken broth (vegetarian style) it was very very delicious!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I used regular sour cream and Better Than Bouillon instead of low sodium chicken broth. It was delicious. Even my fiance, who had never eaten cold soup before, liked it. Very easy to make. I will be making it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This was a nice cold soup....easy enough to make. I added some garlic and used a shallot instead of the regular onion. I also used regular sour cream for more flavor and a creamier texture. The soup tasted better to me the second day. I would suggest chilling it overnight instead of the 8 hours because it gives the soup more time for the flavors to marinate together, thus bringing out the full flavor of the soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      I absolutely *loved* this cucumber soup recipe. Made it for guests awhile ago, and doubled it easily with no problems. (It was still TOTALLY gone after just 2 days!) I used a couple of green onions for the onion in the recipe and it was really good! I plan to make this again really soon. Thanks!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2001

      This was great. The radishes were a nice touch. I chopped up more cucumbers and diced a few tomatoes to use as a crunchy garnish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      So easy & so delicious!!! Made for TOTM 7/12 Ice Cold Delights.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      I used a red onion, English cucumbers and stuck it in the freezer for half an hour and it was delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      I gave this recipe 4 stars. This is very good it's the first time I've had a cold cucumber soup. I made this recipe for my Culinary class. I made a few changes to the recipe. I cut the recipe in half. We didn't have sour cream so I used Culinary Cream, no dill so I had to leave it out and no lemons so that to had to be left out. My teacher had me cook my cucumber a bit before pureeing them. I cooked the cucumber in the chicken broth with the onion, parsley and white pepper. I did also add 1 minced garlic clove. I didn't chill this for the required 8 hours maybe 2-3 hours at most and it was very good. I did try this warm and it's much better cold. Overall I'd make this again! Thank you for posting a good recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Carole, I'm sorry I have to say this, but my husband and I didn't care for this soup. We found the soup to be rather bland, and even after I added 1 tsp of Worcestershire sauce, and a Dash (1/8 tsp each) of cayenne red pepper, garlic powder, and salt, (as others have suggested to add to the soup) we still didn't care for it. Sorry the soup didn't suit our taste buds, but I am glad to see others here have enjoyed the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      This is an awesome soup for a scorching day when its to hot to cook, simple and quick, my family loves it. I also added garlic and seasoning salt to it and quick chilled it in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      I am rating this based on the changes I made, as written it was a little plain. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and added salt, cayenne, garlic, worcestershire, more lemon and chilled it overnight. I also added more fresh herbs and sour cream (Knudsen's makes a very good nonfat version). It was a different kind of soup and quite good. The sour cream really makes it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      I am sorry, but I did not like this soup at all, tried one serving and threw the rest out. I think it was probably just my personal tastes, I think the nonfat sour cream gave it a weird flavor. I really really wanted to like this, as we had such a good supply of cucumbers from the garden. If I try this again, I will use low fat sour cream, and I will change my rating then if it improves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      I was given a lot of cukes. You can only pickle so much!!! This was just an excellent recipe to take care of the rest. It was excellent and well received by my guests. Hadn't planned on company but they dropped in and the soup was there soooo good wine, good company and good soup made a great meal. Thanks Carole Reu

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      We really enjoyed this soup. I added a dash of cayenne like some of the other reviewers suggested. I also used a dried dill mix from Pampered Chef that contained garlic as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Loved it! Made it with the leftover Armenian cucumbers we got from our local farmer's market. Perfect food for this heatwave!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      Tasty summer soup. I agree - add a dash of cayenne to amp it up and wha-la!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      Really good. My roommate usually hates cold soups but loved this one. We're vegetarians so I used veggie broth and added some fresh mint to the blender mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      Not bad, but I found the original recipe a little bland - added a little cayenne pepper, 1 tsp of worcestershire's sauce and a pinch of salt, then I liked it better. Very refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2004

    • on June 25, 2003

      We have an abundance of cucumbers in our garden here in Tucson this summer and with the heat(high 90's) your recipe sounded like just the ticket. I used low-fat sour cream, regular chicken broth, and a little fresh garlic. Absolutely, delicious. We had it for dinner while we watched our Catalina mountain go up in smoke night before last. We'll make it often this summer and share the recipe with many. It was even better the next day for lunch. Thanks for posting, Carole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cold Cucumber Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.6
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    12%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 79.9 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites