24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this recipe with plain soy yogurt instead of sour cream and vegetable broth in the place of the chicken broth (vegetarian style) it was very very delicious!!!!!!!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p malley June 20, 2001

I used regular sour cream and Better Than Bouillon instead of low sodium chicken broth. It was delicious. Even my fiance, who had never eaten cold soup before, liked it. Very easy to make. I will be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naturegal07 August 10, 2009

This was a nice cold soup....easy enough to make. I added some garlic and used a shallot instead of the regular onion. I also used regular sour cream for more flavor and a creamier texture. The soup tasted better to me the second day. I would suggest chilling it overnight instead of the 8 hours because it gives the soup more time for the flavors to marinate together, thus bringing out the full flavor of the soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olive* August 01, 2007

I absolutely *loved* this cucumber soup recipe. Made it for guests awhile ago, and doubled it easily with no problems. (It was still TOTALLY gone after just 2 days!) I used a couple of green onions for the onion in the recipe and it was really good! I plan to make this again really soon. Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maura666 December 19, 2006

This was great. The radishes were a nice touch. I chopped up more cucumbers and diced a few tomatoes to use as a crunchy garnish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milla August 21, 2001

So easy & so delicious!!! Made for TOTM 7/12 Ice Cold Delights.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo July 30, 2012

I used a red onion, English cucumbers and stuck it in the freezer for half an hour and it was delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
No Wheat For Me September 04, 2011

I gave this recipe 4 stars. This is very good it's the first time I've had a cold cucumber soup. I made this recipe for my Culinary class. I made a few changes to the recipe. I cut the recipe in half. We didn't have sour cream so I used Culinary Cream, no dill so I had to leave it out and no lemons so that to had to be left out. My teacher had me cook my cucumber a bit before pureeing them. I cooked the cucumber in the chicken broth with the onion, parsley and white pepper. I did also add 1 minced garlic clove. I didn't chill this for the required 8 hours maybe 2-3 hours at most and it was very good. I did try this warm and it's much better cold. Overall I'd make this again! Thank you for posting a good recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut March 18, 2010

Carole, I'm sorry I have to say this, but my husband and I didn't care for this soup. We found the soup to be rather bland, and even after I added 1 tsp of Worcestershire sauce, and a Dash (1/8 tsp each) of cayenne red pepper, garlic powder, and salt, (as others have suggested to add to the soup) we still didn't care for it. Sorry the soup didn't suit our taste buds, but I am glad to see others here have enjoyed the soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess August 19, 2008

This is an awesome soup for a scorching day when its to hot to cook, simple and quick, my family loves it. I also added garlic and seasoning salt to it and quick chilled it in the freezer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4my boys August 17, 2008
Cold Cucumber Soup