Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cold, Cough, Hot shot remedy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cold, Cough, Hot shot remedy

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      I was really worried with the SARS problem going around Singapore, so I tried this remedy when dad fell ill with the flu. Anything to ensure it isn't sars. Well if it was..this worked MIRACLES, if not, well it is a sure cure for the flu. Dad took it two nights before bed, and his flu left immediately. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A PEACE OF MIND!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2003

      This worked very, very well. I recall my Mom talking about a HOT TODDY that my Grandmom use to make and gave for sore throats and colds and coughs ........this must be what she made. Thanks for listing it !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2011

      This is something even my pediatrician told my mom to use years ago (more than I care to admit to) when we would get a bad cold or cough. Still use it today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This is an old family recipe of ours also and has always worked so well with those darn coughs. So glad Crystalina has listed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This really works. I had a cough that was so bad that I couldn't catch my breath and sleeping was next to impossible. I was so tired and sore I thought that I would try this. I used equal portions of each and sipped it in a 1 hour period and then went to bed. Initially I coughed a couple of times, but I fell to sleep and slept the entire night. Today I feel much better, I still have a cough, but it isn't as severe as it was yesterday. I'll make another mixture after dinner tonight and I think that I should be fine in the morning. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      WOW...I've been coughing all night...and searched zaar for a home remedy. I just put some honey and crown royal into my tea, that I'm drinking(don't have lemon).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I gave this 3 stars. My mom made this for me when I was a teen and had a real bad cold/flu. My mom and I had to stay inside bundled up in warm clothes an blankets to sweat it out. I don't remember the taste probably I couldn't taste. But I don't remember being awfully sick after that so it must have helped. Thanks for posting this as I almost forgot about it. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I have a nasty cold and needed something soothing to help. This is really nice and warm feeling in the chest and tummy. It tastes good too! Although I'm a whiskey lover myself...others may not be. I may not feel 'better' right away, but I feel more relaxed and able to rest. (Obviously, take it when you know you are not going to drive or go anywhere :-)...it will kick your behind!) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      I remember as a kid my "crazy" aunt would concoct this-without the whiskey for me Now as a kid without the whiskey I can't say how well it actually worked,but the honey and lemon soothed a sore throat-I'm guessin the alcohol actually breaks up the phlegm Will have to try this now that I'm "old enuf" to buy my own whiskey-lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Excellent! I have suffered from pneumonia these past few winters and dread getting a cold. Although I don't drink alcoholic beverages I do know that when I have pneumonia a little alcohol does help open up my air passageways. I decided to try this remedy after reading the rave reviews. I am amazed! While people around me suffer from flu and colds right now I am still healthy. I took the remedy as soon as the symptoms of a cold started and they vanished the next day. The first time I made this I only had a fresh organic lime handy but it still worked. Yesterday I used an organic lemon, raw honey, and a local whiskey and took it by teaspoon hourly and I am happy to say that my symptoms have, yet again, dissappeared! Thank you so much for sharing this Crystalina. Maybe you should put "cold remedy and preventative" in the title of this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      I hadn't really read all the instructions and made my first batch with 1/2 oz of each then I made the second batch rite away using 1 oz of each. Warmed it up and drank it all at once! not tbsp at a time. HEEHEE Sure felt great on the sore throat and may have to indulge in more since I just got back from the doctors and they aren't prescribing antibiotics and this virus will run its course in 12 to 14 days so I'll be trying alot of home cures.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      Thank you, this stopped my cough and my sore throat. My Grandmother use to give this to us, thank you for reminding me. It did the trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2004

      Hubby and I both have bad colds right now...no family Thanksgiving for us. :( We mixed this up and started taking it...I think it's the whiskey in it that bothered my stomach so I can't take anymore...but sure seems to be helping my hubby's cough. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      Mother Kooka had a dry, niggling cough. She asked me to buy cough mixture, but she's allergic to codeine and pseudoephedrine which is an ingredient in most cough mixtures. I decided to try something homemade first and found this. First, Mum LOVED the taste. After the first teaspoonful her eyes lit up and she asked if she could drink the whole glass! 'No,' I said, 'Please confine yourself to 1 teaspoon at a time!' Second, within a short time, this mixture broke up the phlegm in her throat and got rid of that irritating tickle. It didn't cure her cold, but it sure made her a lot more comfortable. Thank you Crystalina.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      Crystalina,I tried this remedy very cautiously,as I am not usually one to try ANYTHING with alcohol in it,but was at my wits end as I have had pneumonia,and I was having a terrible time getting rid of the cough,well I did not abuse the use of it,but it certainly did do the trick, THANK YOU SO MUCH, Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cold, Cough, Hot shot remedy

    Serving Size: 1 (18 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes