15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was really worried with the SARS problem going around Singapore, so I tried this remedy when dad fell ill with the flu. Anything to ensure it isn't sars. Well if it was..this worked MIRACLES, if not, well it is a sure cure for the flu. Dad took it two nights before bed, and his flu left immediately. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A PEACE OF MIND!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac April 21, 2003

This worked very, very well. I recall my Mom talking about a HOT TODDY that my Grandmom use to make and gave for sore throats and colds and coughs ........this must be what she made. Thanks for listing it !!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judi-with-an-i April 03, 2003

This is something even my pediatrician told my mom to use years ago (more than I care to admit to) when we would get a bad cold or cough. Still use it today!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Amazing Christy! September 24, 2011

This is an old family recipe of ours also and has always worked so well with those darn coughs. So glad Crystalina has listed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycatluckyowner May 14, 2009

This really works. I had a cough that was so bad that I couldn't catch my breath and sleeping was next to impossible. I was so tired and sore I thought that I would try this. I used equal portions of each and sipped it in a 1 hour period and then went to bed. Initially I coughed a couple of times, but I fell to sleep and slept the entire night. Today I feel much better, I still have a cough, but it isn't as severe as it was yesterday. I'll make another mixture after dinner tonight and I think that I should be fine in the morning. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee March 17, 2009

WOW...I've been coughing all night...and searched zaar for a home remedy. I just put some honey and crown royal into my tea, that I'm drinking(don't have lemon).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busymommybee November 01, 2008

I gave this 3 stars. My mom made this for me when I was a teen and had a real bad cold/flu. My mom and I had to stay inside bundled up in warm clothes an blankets to sweat it out. I don't remember the taste probably I couldn't taste. But I don't remember being awfully sick after that so it must have helped. Thanks for posting this as I almost forgot about it. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut October 14, 2007

I have a nasty cold and needed something soothing to help. This is really nice and warm feeling in the chest and tummy. It tastes good too! Although I'm a whiskey lover myself...others may not be. I may not feel 'better' right away, but I feel more relaxed and able to rest. (Obviously, take it when you know you are not going to drive or go anywhere :-)...it will kick your behind!) Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am October 04, 2007

I remember as a kid my "crazy" aunt would concoct this-without the whiskey for me Now as a kid without the whiskey I can't say how well it actually worked,but the honey and lemon soothed a sore throat-I'm guessin the alcohol actually breaks up the phlegm Will have to try this now that I'm "old enuf" to buy my own whiskey-lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamacancook July 31, 2007

Excellent! I have suffered from pneumonia these past few winters and dread getting a cold. Although I don't drink alcoholic beverages I do know that when I have pneumonia a little alcohol does help open up my air passageways. I decided to try this remedy after reading the rave reviews. I am amazed! While people around me suffer from flu and colds right now I am still healthy. I took the remedy as soon as the symptoms of a cold started and they vanished the next day. The first time I made this I only had a fresh organic lime handy but it still worked. Yesterday I used an organic lemon, raw honey, and a local whiskey and took it by teaspoon hourly and I am happy to say that my symptoms have, yet again, dissappeared! Thank you so much for sharing this Crystalina. Maybe you should put "cold remedy and preventative" in the title of this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrystabel January 23, 2007
Cold, Cough, Hot shot remedy