Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Colcannon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Colcannon

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2010

      I made this recipe with one change: after cooking 1 package of bacon, I fried the shredded cabbage in the bacon drippings. Then I crumbled the bacon and added them to the mashers and cabbage. This was my contribution to a St Patty's Day potluck and people were scraping the bowl for more. They ate more of the colcannon than even the corned beef! Excellent recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      It was so darn good! I made it for St. Patty celebration for my workplace. I made it last night and then refrigerated it. Brought it into work today and put it in a crock pot on low. Stirred every so often and it was perfect temperature for lunch. Everyone loved it. My boss asked for the recipe. I tipped him off about Recipezaar. I will make this again and again before next St. Patty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I have fixed and eaten this several times. It is great. And I have shared this recipe with my brother and several friends, they all tried it and loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      I have made this exact recipe for a couple of years now. It is wonderful! If you love mashed potatoes, cabbage and ham then you will love this dish. It only gets better as it sits overnight. I use Nueske's ham along with some of their bacon and it is outstanding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Colcannon is the comfort food to Ireland as Macaroni & Cheese is to the U.S. (especially down South). I saw this episode with Tyler and wrote down the recipe. I made when DH was out of town (doesn't care for cabbage), and I was in heaven. The flavors are well blended (cabbage isn't over-powering) and dish is tasty. I highly recommend everyone try it. Thanks, Marisa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      firstly, definintely not the greatest of colcannon recipes, it lack the real traditional touches and presents nothing of a modern twist. secondly, one of the most typical irish dishes made the "traditional british way"? there is no traditional british way for irish dishes. it makes me sad when this kind of colonialist attitude stretches as far as raping the gastronomy of such a richly cultured nation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Absolutely and totally loved this. Cudabear is right, this is insanely good, I could probably eat this everyday..lol. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      This is comfort food at its finest. I made only one amendment by using cale instead of cabbage. I cooked it in the same fashion and it turned out well. The 2 hour prep time puzzled me until I realized that once may simmer the ham while cooking the potatoes and greens. The actual cooking time is closer to an hour. Thanks for sharing this one. I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      This is fabulous!! I used Canadian Bacon, instead of steaming the cabbage and Canadian Bacon I sauted it! Everyone loves it!! DH also thinks it can stand on it's own! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      I come from an Irish family and I have to tell you, this is one of the best dishes I've ever made for family dinners. It's insanely good. The only thing I add to this recipe is salt. But you need to be careful with it depending on how salty your ham is, or if you're using bacon, you need to taste it before salting. But other than that, it's perfect!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      I have been cooking for over twenty five years and am considered a pretty good cook. This is one of the best dishes I make. Everyone loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      I made this last St. Patrick's day after seeing on Tyler's Ultimate. It was amazing - I used a slab of Canadian Bacon, which is the closest you can usually come to in the US to Irish bacon. Try it, try it, try it. Really is a main dish, not a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All European Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Colcannon

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 629.2
     
    Calories from Fat 335
    53%
    Total Fat 37.2 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 22.1 g
    110%
    Cholesterol 127.7 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1431.3 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 25.8 g
    51%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes