Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Colcannon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Colcannon

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on January 07, 2004

      Made this recipe for dinner yesterday. it was great! My children loved it. I tweeked it a bit by adding a package of bacon (cooked and chopped) a la a recipe seen on the Food Network...a good addition and made it more of a meal than a side-dish! Thanks for the recipe! Will make it again, the children are insisting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      You can put a big pile of mashed potatoes on your plate, and feel less guilty because it is partly vegetables. Creamy plus crunchy, how can you resist. OK, I did use more salt and pepper than the recipe suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      Great recipe. I actually prefer regular onion to scallions so I was glad to see that's what was being used in this recipe. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      Good side dish for a crowd. Give yourself plenty of prep time to peel and dice the ingredients. Also, good with crisp, thick cut bacon sprinkled on top. Our daughter sautes the onions in bacon drippings, instead of margarine. Mash potatoes by hand to allow larger potato pieces to balance out the body cabbage gives to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      Had a St. Patrick's Day themed dinner party last night and everyone loved this recipe for Colcannon. It was delicious! We served as a side to Roasted Salmon With Leeks. We will definitely make this Colcannon again, any time of year. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Crazy good. I made as stated except I cooked the potatoes and the cabbage at the same time in different pots. Would make again, very hearty, simple and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      This was a tasty way to use up my potatoes and cabbage, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Years ago I heard a wonderful Irish song that talked about Colcannon and I had wanted to make it ever since. Now, I only wish I had made it earlier. This was so tasty. A great variation of mashed potatoes. I used the potatoes and cabbage that I had boiled in the Corned Beef broth (from Papa D's Corned Beef and Cabbage #361481) and the flavor was superb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      =) yummy in my tummy.. However, I'm gonna add bacon to it next time. Great comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Delicious and super-simple to make. I served this with a Guinness Stew for St. Patrick's Day and my guests loved it. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      I have tried other colcannon recipes in the past, but this is by far the best! We always have corned beef and colcannon on St. Patricks day....thanks for the yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This was a wonderful side dish next to corned beef. I used sour cream in place of the cream and they turned out perfectly. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      I was expecting this to be more like a main course BUT I still thought this was a fantastic way to make mashed potatoes because I LOVE cabbage. Made a few minor changes - I used yukon gold potatoes (they were on sale), a combination of milk and sour cream, garlic salt, and added garlic. I also left the skin on the potatoes and only used the hand masher. We ate this like mashed potatoes with cheese, butter, and/or sour cream on top. I will definitely make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Excellent! I've always wanted to try Colcannon - don't know why I never have. I made it as a sidedish for dinner today and everyone loved it. We could easily make it a main dish! I read southcitygal's comments first so I used a whole, chopped, sauteed onion and the H&H. Can't wait to make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Excellent recipe! Tried it tonight with a non cabbage eater who definitely enjoyed it! Definitely will try again but will probably use more onion next time. Also used H&H instead of milk and even with electric mixer it had a good even texture. Also I used kosher salt instead of table salt which gives it a nicer flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Good recipe. I needed to use up cabbage. I had it with fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2009

      Wonderful recipe. I made this for St. Patty's DAy and we loved it. I served it with corned beef and rolls. So good I plan on making it for more then just st patty's day. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Yummy! I will definitely make these potatoes again and not just on St. Paddy's day! I really enjoyed the subtle flavor of the cabbage mixed with potatoes not overpowering just good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Yum! This is excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      I used leeks instead of onions for more of a champ-y taste, and I used probably 4-5 lbs. potatoes to disguise the cabbage a bit more (I was cooking for a picky crowd), using about 1 entire head of cabbage. My father, a notorious hater of vegetables, never even realized there were other veggies besides potatoes in this. Everyone loved it! Very rich, creamy and wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Potato Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Colcannon

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 161.7
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    44%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 21.0 mg
    7%
    Sodium 177.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.8 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes