Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Colcannon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Colcannon

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2013

      I liked it a lot. I loved the texture of the cabbage and the taste of the onion in the potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      I LOVED LOVED LOVED it!! This was delicious and I made it just as the recipe stated. I did leave my cabbage in larger pieces because I really liked the texture. My husband, 9 year old, and 1 1/2 year old all devoured it. Which is saying something because I can never get them to agree on anything. I loved the tasted that the green onions gave the Colcannon without over powering it. Made this for Saint Patrick's Day and it was the perfect side dish. Heck I could have eaten just this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      This was delicious. A wonderful way to add some nutrition to mashed potatoes, because even though I added extra cabbage, you can barely detect it (in a good way). Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Delish served with corned beef. It is a rather 'ordinary' side but will become a regular at our table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      I've been wanting to try this dish for a long time, and have finally gotten around to it. What was I waiting for????? This is absolutely fantastic!!!!!! I had some sour cream that I used in place of the milk, and it worked out very well. I'll be making this more often. Thanks so much for a terrific recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      This was good, but my tastebuds weren't thrilled (but with mashed potatoes and cabbage, I wasn't really expecting them to be thrilled--so mission accomplished). I DO really appreciate being able to turn a starchy food into something that brings a little more to the party than just carbohydrates. It rounded out a dinner with Irish Stew and soda bread for St. Paddy's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I used this to top a fish pie I served the other night, and then used the leftovers for potato pancakes. Very good recipe for colcannon! I just added a touch of law fat sour cream to make this dish a bit more smooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      We loved this, a last minute addition to the St.Patricks day feast. A definite keeper, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      I used sour cream and milk mixture, and added 1 clove minced garlic....yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      Thanks for sharing this great recipe for Colcannon. I like that it doesn't use cream, so it's a little easier on the hips. The only things I changed was to use shallots, as that's what I had on hand and to add some nutmeg, because I just can't have mashed potatoes without it. The onions and cabbage add a great bit of flavour and texture if you want a change from regular mash.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      Wonderful! Makes plain mashed potatoes a much lighter dish, tastier and more healthy. Everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      No wonder this dish has been around for generations. Even better than I anticipated. I skipped the butter and didn't miss it. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      This is delicious! Even my DH, who usually isn't enthusiastic about anything that he didn't eat growing up, raved about it. It's mashed potatoes but so much more! It went perfectly with my St. Patrick's Day dinner. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I'll be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      This is excellent and will not only be a part of our St. Patrick Day's meal, but anytime I want Mashed potatoes to have that something extra. Hubby who doesn't typically like cabbage, loved this. Recipe was very easy to follow. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      This was ever so good!. I like that I was able to tell my picky 10 and 8 yr. old grandchildren that they were eating NOT just seasoned mashed potatoes, but potatoes with a vegetable (horrid word to them) in it....and they STILL liked it. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      I've been meaning to make this for quite some time, so I figured what better time than St. Patty's Day.It was so creamy and had a subtle taste of cabbage and green onion...they all blended so well together. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      I saw the picture of this recipe that Fairy Nuff posted, and had to try it with our corned beef. I'm so glad I did. We loved the recipe. It's the perfect side dish for corned beef, but I plan to make it with other dishes, too. We loved the green onions and the creamy texture. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      Excellent dish!!! Made for St Patricks day dinner (along with Derf's Corned beef #14537). A wonderful change from mashed potatoes and definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2004

      I gave this recipe to a gal that I work with to make for the St. Patricks Day luncheon. It was a huge hit. This dish stays hot longer than regular mashed potatoes. She also added cheddar cheese to the potatoes and then topped the dish with more cheddar cheese. Yum.. what's not to like?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      I thank you for another way to prepare potatoes. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Potato Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Colcannon

    Serving Size: 1 (1490 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 217.5
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    30%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 20.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 671.9 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes