Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cola Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cola Ribs

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2002

      Wow these were great ribs! They were a little sweet and almost falling off the bone (didn't fall off but the meat was oh so tender). My first thought, was these tasted like something that I might order at a great barbeque restaurant. I used about 4 pounds of country style ribs rather than baby-back ribs, Coke and Kraft Hickory Smoked Barbeque Sauce. I didn't start quite soon enough to cook at 250 degrees F. for 4 hours but increased the temperature to 325 degrees F. and cooked for 2 hours. Once the barbeque sauce was added I cooked for 1 hour at 325 degrees F. (removed the lid about 20 minutes prior to being done). This is now going to be my recipe of choice for making ribs in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2002

      this was absolutely fabulous!! i didn't change a thing! it was easy and so very good! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2002

      The ribs were fantastic!!!! The four hours simmering with the coke in the oven really removes a lot of fat from the ribs. I used about 4 lbs. Country Style ribs and when I removed them from baking dish so I could drain the coke, they were falling off the bone. Before I put them back in the dish, I added 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms, put the ribs and onions on top of the mushrooms and used Jack Daniels Sizzling Smokehouse Blend Grilling sauce which has a real bite to it...I loved the hot spicy flavor, but my husband said he would prefer a milder barbecue sauce next time, and there will be a next time!! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2002

      I was a little disappointed with this recipe. It was very easy to prepare and the meat was very tender, but I didn't find the flavor anything special. I think I would have gotten the same results by simply boiling the ribs then covering them with bbq sauce and simmering them for awhile without all the extra ingredients. I thought because it had pop that they would be sweet and somewhat sticky, but they weren't at all what I had expected. Unfortunately, probably won't make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2002

      Tasted very good , I used honey garlic bbq sauce and the kids loved them as well as my husband

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      This recipe is excellent! The meat was so tender and tasty. The barbecue sauce I used was not overpowering. I followed the temperature and time alterations that Caryn mentioned in her comment. It really helped cutting back 2 hours of cooking time, since I did not start cooking in the morning. I used Pepsi, honey garlic bottled barbecue sauce, and added green peppers to the onions. Next time I'm going to try a homemade barbecue sauce or different commercial sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2002

      I’m afraid I have to agree with Jenn. I found these ribs to be very tender, but I found them lacking in flavor and I found three onions a bit much, slightly overpowering. I also didn’t like the idea that I had to be around mid-recipe to drain off the liquid. I think in part Kelly that you’re right, everyone has their own favorite rib recipe and I think that was the standard I was measuring these against. None-the-less they were relatively easy to prepare and as I said they were very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      This is probably the best recipe for ribs I have ever had. My entire family ate this. My sister does not even like ribs but she thought that they were great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      its a good tasting ribs, it was a hit with my family.thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      These ribs were very tender and moist!!!!How delicious these ribs were.This recipe is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I have made many bbq recipes for beef and pork ribs, hands down these are a keeper! Fab flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      We loved these ribs! I am not a great cook but with this recipe I came out looking like a champ! One thing I did that we were really happy with was during that last hour of marinating/cooking in the barbecue sauce I pulled it out early and cooked on the grill for 15-20 minutes to give them the grilled flavor my husband I and I both liked. It worked realy well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Sweet baby rays worked great in this recipe, and following the recipe proved to have winning results! We loved the ribs and they were gone in a New York minute! So glad to have this recipe for future use. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      made these last night and they were fantastic! will definitely make them again and again. the only thing that i realized was different was that i used bone-in country style ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      I made this last night for dinner, but I made some changes. First of all, I made them in the Crock-Pot. They were so tender, they fell off the bone. I added more garlic(personal preference), didn't use the onions because DH & DD don't like. Read the directions wrong & mixed the cola(pepsi) with the other ingredients for the sauce. Didn't use any bbq sauce-thought I had some & didn't, so I used poured the sauce into a saucepan & used cornstarch to thicken it up & put that over the ribs. DD-the rib princess-LOVED them. DH also was crazy about. Had left over sauce, froze it & will try it with some pork chops I have in the freezer. Thank you for the good post. **UPDATE--I have made this several times now & everytime I make it, it's a hit. I decided not to use the BBQ sauce at all because it turns out so well without it. I always save the leftover sauce to use again. I made loosemeat sandwiches the other night & used the left over sauce from the day before & they turned out FANTASTIC! Thanks for posting something so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      I started by putting a soy hot rub on my rack of boneless ribs, making a smoke log with foil & hickory chips, and cooking for two hours over a slow BBQ. I substituted 1 green bell pepper for one onion. I added fresh finely chopped ginger & about 1 1/2 inches of fresh pineapple. After browning & rendering on BBQ, cut to fit slow cooker and cooked on High (about 175) for 5 hours. Pineapple, honey, & 1/2 bottle of honey BBQ sauce added in last hour to adjust taste. Did NOT throw away liquid in bottom of slow cooker but did drain to skillet and reduced it to about 1/3 the volume (check seasonings) & covered ribs with the reduced sweet pineapple,onion, green pepper sauce. Everyone loved it. Jim in So. Calif.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      VERY good ribs! I used garlic and onion powder instead of the actual garlic and onion, and cooked in the crockpot. Soooo delicious, best crockpot ribs I've ever had! We're making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      If you haven't cooked with Coca Cola before - try it. I even use it instead of molasses in BBQ baked beans. I find it best to add the cola as close to the end of the cooking process as possible. The carbonation adds a nice texture to the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Very nice! I've never used cola in my cooking before, but I braved it out and it worked out really well. It didn't taste anything like sugary pop; all I got was tender, tasty deliciousness! (Darn!?) I used two onions but I really should use 3 or 4 next time since they were sooo tasty and shrank down so much anyway. I also baked it at 300F for about 3 hours total and it worked out perfectly.. fall off the bone and lip smacking good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Very delicious! I actually combined this recipe and Adams Recipe. I used the Dr. Pepper to cover ribs instead of one can of soda in this recipe. I cut recipe down a little because I only had one rack of ribs. I used chopped garlic because I didn't have garlic cloves. I will surely use real cloves next time for more flavor.I also added the liquid smoke from Adams recipe. I actually pulled bone right off rib and it was sooooooooooooo good. My boyfriend insists that we are having a bar-b-q next weekend for all our friends to glorify us:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cola Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (1843 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3126.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1584
    50%
    Total Fat 176.0 g
    270%
    Saturated Fat 62.0 g
    310%
    Cholesterol 738.9 mg
    246%
    Sodium 6183.2 mg
    257%
    Total Carbohydrate 173.5 g
    57%
    Dietary Fiber 6.1 g
    24%
    Sugars 127.3 g
    509%
    Protein 212.1 g
    424%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites