24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

An easy mix to put together, I did put the mix into a large jug and then poured it into the paper patty pans. I also used the coffee option. They were cooked to perfection in 18 minutes at 175C fan forced oven. The DS took them to his music recreation group were they were thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you looneytunesfan, made for Potluck Tag, Did Someone Say Coffee Party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat February 23, 2010

Delicious and easy! And i even messed up - I mixed up the baking soda w/the powder and it turned out fine. I used coffee and then 1/2c milk 1/2 c sour cream in place of the yogurt as suggested by another reviewer. I can't BELIEVE how fluffy and soft they are! I used a chocolate buttercream frosting. Fabulous! Just what I was craving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P August 20, 2008

This was made part of the "pick your chef" contest. And this was wonderful. Extremely simple and handy recipe to have around. My cupcakes were done in exactly 20 minutes. And it made 26 TENDER cupcakes. Thumbs and Toes up to ya Mean Chef!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenManiac July 13, 2003

I made these with the following options: I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar, I used coke zero for the cola and chocolate buttermilk. They turned out fantastic. My first batch I filled 2/3 full and they were overflowing when I took them out. I reduced the batter amount (therefore I got more cupcakes) and the bake time. But the end result was fantastic. I very light, moist cupcake. I do a lot of baking and this is my new favorite chocolate cupcake recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom May 30, 2014

I made these with the coffee instead of cola, these make a lovely dark rich tasting chocolate cake. They don't stay as fresh as as I would have expected though..I thought they would stay moist for quite a few days but mine were a little dry after just 2 days, best eaten fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** July 10, 2012

Easily the best chocolate cake I've ever tasted! Advice to anybody about to attempt these for the first time: Don't try to eat them first night. The cakes moisten and the flavour matures with time; it's always worth resisting them until the next day! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenCarpeDiem January 03, 2012

These where very yummy! So easy to make and very moist and tender. I used coffee instead of cola.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayla21832004_8003501 December 24, 2011

These turned out really well, and the flavor is great. I used dark cocoa in them, so they came out really dark. I also used the cola option, and yogurt. The flavor is quite delicious, and the cupcakes are a little crispy on top, which will make them easier to frost, yet the cake is quite fluffy. I got exactly 24 cupcakes, at 20 mins baking time. I made them for my DD's birthday, and she gave them the thumb's up...thanks looneytunesfan. Made for Spring PAC 2010!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative April 02, 2010

Best cupcake I've ever had!! They were moist and not heavy at all like the grocery store cupcakes. I also used 1 cup white sugar, 1cup brown sugar and Coca Cola. I'll be useing this for my daughters upcoming birthing...thank you sooo much for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaxxyD February 22, 2010

Yummy! This was a hit! My DH really enjoyed these! I used Splenda Baking Sugar, coffee and buttermilk. I will make these again. Thanks for posting!!!! Made for Comfort Cafe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom January 13, 2009
Cola Chocolate Cupcakes