9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this is great! my daddy taught me this in the early 80's. he was a truck driver and would take me w/ him on short trips--we would have this treat every time. thank you for posting this it has brought back wonderful memories!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiemakin'mama July 01, 2008

Thanks for posting this heirloom snack. I was introduced to this, by a now deceased family friend, back in the early 1970s. He grew up in rural Texas in the 1930s, and I'm reminded of him,and his contribution to the S.F.bay areas infrastucture, as he was one of many who shed blood, sweat and tears constructing the "Transbay tube" While visiting his home, with my family, he told of this oldtime favorite, he saw that I was eager to try this concoction, and dispatched another visitor to the local liquor store, to assemble the necessary ingredients; cola of any sort and salted shelled peanuts. I prefer this now as an adult more than as a child. And Bone Man your recipe is identical to that of our friend's, but I've found it more enjoyable to pour the cola in a cup, and then add the peanuts, that way I can control the amount of peanut/cola with each sip, and not end up without any stray peanuts to be apprehended from sides of the bottle, in addition; I have a big mouth and appetite, so better accomodates both. I should add that my religion discourages the consumption of caffinated beverages, however, I had a craving, and was feeling nostagic...so I had one. It's been years, since doing so. While drinking this I googled Coca Cola w/peanuts, to see what anyone had to say about this combination, and here we are. Thanks Bone Man

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
868175 June 21, 2008

Thanks for helping me remember! I used to love this as a child and haven't thought about it in ages. I actually did this in the late 40's. Another thing we used to do was put a hole through the cap of the coca cola bottle and sip through that (not with peanuts, of course). Memories of the good old days are like sunshine on a cold day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Senior Lady February 10, 2008

Oh, boy, what a blast from the past! Bone Man, did you go to my high school? :) This was definitely a *girl* thing with us, too, and only Tom's peanuts would do! Can't believe I'd forgotten... Thanks for the wonderful trip down Memory Lane. highcotton, Class of '63

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
highcotton May 26, 2007

I love this and I'm the only person I know to do this(it's my must have for road trips, special treat). Once after requesting it on a plane, the attendant had to comment,she laughed and remembered it from her childhood! You just can't be in a bad mood when you have an icy Coke and peanuts in your hand!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idadevine June 10, 2013

It's funny I ran across this when I was looking up "salted shrimp." I love this and picked it up when I was in college in OK, 1984... but I have switched the soda to Diet Mountain Dew and even love it more! I drink/eat this while I'm at work. My co-workers think I'm weird, so I printed this out and gave it to them to try! Thanks for giving me proof, I'm not the only one who likes this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vacationgal June 30, 2008

Always a great combo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shellbelle May 25, 2007

My stars! We would sit and drink a 12 or 16oz glass bottle of Coke or Pepsi and our salted peanuts. The secret to not choking is use a straw for the pop and shake the peanuts out in a dish after they have soaked some. Sometimes we would then order some ice cream and pour the soaked peanuts and some Coke over the ice cream. Yummm!. This really doesn't date me. Brings back sweet memories. I still serve vanilla ice cream with salted peanuts on top and a side of Coke or Root Beer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song May 21, 2007

Oh, this recipe makes me feel old. I was in grade school in the early 1960's and this was a favorite treat of my younger brother ( he still has one now and then) and I. We liked to watch it foam up when we put the peanuts in. We used Tom's brand peanuts too since that was the only brand our neighborhood store sold. I have a coke cooling now. I am going to try the rock salt trick later. Thanks Bone Man for a hasppy trip back to the past. Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle May 21, 2007
Coke and Salted Peanuts