10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was, as the recipe states, an extremely intense coffee flavor -- almost too much so. I imagine it would change with the beans you used and mixed and how long you roasted the beans for. I think if I made it again, I would use some Mocha and regular coffee. However, I have a Kitchen Aid ice cream maker and I couldn't get this recipe to "expand" much so I won't be making it again. I made the recipe as noted and chilled overnight. I will note that what ice cream I did get made, it was very smooth, but extremely hard (and it's not from my freezer temp). This was good...but my search continues. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cortneytreat November 14, 2009

While labour intensive, this ice cream is decadent!!! I found this recipe off the internet years ago and used it to make a Coffee Toffee Ice Cream Tart. Although the tart was very simple, it was definately memorable! Thanks for doing the posting...saved me from typing the recipe out!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 30, 2009

Although I haven't completed the whole recipe yet, I feel I need to say !!!CAUTION!!!CAUTION!!! DO NOT use ground beans in this recipe! Follow the recipe as listed. If you must use ground coffee beans, you MUST use a small mesh infuser or muslin to maintain the integrity of the custard in this recipe! Good luck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juice-eppe August 08, 2007

This was simply wonderful. I made it for our fathers day menu and it was beyond words. I just bought an ice cream maker and this was my second recipe to try. Thanks again Meanie for yet another keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daggersmommy June 18, 2006

Mean Chef, we made this this weekend for guests and it was to die for. Loved it MEANIE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock May 22, 2006

Excellent recipe!! Silly me, I forgot to cut back on the coffee even after reading duke8888's review 'coz I used ground coffee also and it was definitely a bit bitter. However, I added more sugar in the end to make it sweeter. Next time I'll cut back on the coffee though. Nonetheless it was excellent!! Thanks for a keeper Mean!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K's November 13, 2005

Very intense and extraordinarily good indeed! Perfect texture, perfect everything. Well, maybe a little fiddly, but well woth the effort.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare October 25, 2005

I love this ice cream! You know your coffe ice cream and you were right I would like this. I will most certainly be making this again. And the texture is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeMom April 20, 2005

This recipe Rocks! Although I confess I used ground coffee and it came out a little on the bitter side. But it was definitely very very good. I also added some Crushed heath bar's for the last 3 minutes in the ice cream machine, which was excellent (coffee heath bar crunch is my favorite ice cream) I also tried with chocolate chunks but it didn’t do it for me although I confess it may have been the chocolate, it was not the best stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duke8888 July 24, 2003
Coffee Ice Cream