Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coffee House Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coffee House Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    53 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 53

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2002

      I have never had this or any other cake/pastry at Starbucks, so I can't really compare it, but it was a simple recipe for coffee cake. I would probably suggest starting w/less butter for the topping and gradually add more as needed for the correct consistency...mine came out a little too "wet" because I put it al in at once, then again, I also melted the butter, maybe that's what the problem was? The cake wasn't very thick either, maybe use a smaller pan next time so it's not so flat. But the taste was great, and I love the topping, kinda crunchy, I only had chopped walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2002

      I made this wonderful cake tonight and it was a great hit!!! It does taste like star bucks Coffee Cake. DON"T MELT BUTTER make just as the recipe says. Just checking at about 40. Min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Ok this was very good! I've made this twice in the last week. The first time I made it in a bundt pan. So the topping became the bottom. I made it again yestrerday in a 9x13 pan and made double the topping. I put about 1/2 the batter in the ban then put 1/2 the topping on top of the batter. Then carefully spread the rest of the batter on top. Put the remaining topping on and then bake as directed. It was very good this way, with the ripple of the topping going through the middle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      I worked for a Conference Center and we made this countless times for events. Cannot tell you how many compliments we got! Very yummy and fairly simple to make. Does use a lot of butter, but that's not a negative in my book, unless the cost of butter goes up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Awesome! Came out great even in my temperamental oven!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      I made this last night to bring over to our neighborhood's HOA meeting this morning. It turned out quite good, but I did think there was too much topping. I think it needs all of it in order to cover the entire surface, but I scraped a lot of it off when I was eating it. I just don't like it too sweet personally. Overall, a very nice tasting coffee cake. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      This was delicious! I made this for church camp and was told that it was "the highlight of the week." I made it thick (about 2"). I doubled the leavening because of how large the batch was. I also used a spatula to push some of the topping down into the batter, which made it super yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      I made this over the weekend, while my 6 year old grandson was visiting, we loved this coffee cake. Thanks for posting.UPDATE: Grandson ask for this cake everytime he comes over. So I making this cake often, thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Moist and yet just sweet enough. The pecans added were an extra bonus. Loved by my family! Thank You for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I made this for my BF and he loved it! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I made this for work and it received great reviews. The only thing I changed was that I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose flour for the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This coffee cake is really good! I did cut back on the butter and the sugar in the recipe. I used about 3/4 c. of brown sugar and 1/4 c. butter in the topping. I used 3/4 c. butter and 1 c. of brown sugar only (no white sugar) in the cake batter. I used almonds instead of pecans. It still turned out really good. I will be using this recipe again.. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      I've never had Startbuck's coffee cake, so can't comment on whether this tastes like theirs, but this is one delicious cake! One for the keeper file! I made the full amount of batter, but halved the topping. Then baked it in a 8-inch square baking pan. Not something I would make regularly, with all the butter and sugar, but a wonderful treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I made this coffee cake in a 9x13 pan and it was not very fluffy, it should be made in a smaller pan. Otherwise it was a very tasty cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      I halved the recipe and cooked for 35 minutes and it was underdone in the middle and didn't puff up very much. Next time I'll really whip the butter and sugars and beat the egg until fluffy before I add it. Also, I will cook it a bit longer. All in all, though a delicious cake! Needless to say, it didn't make it all the way through the night.:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Add me to your list of satisfied bakers! This coffee cake is delicious and VERY VERY close to Starbuck's. Just a little bit more buttery than Starbuck's, but every bit as tasty! I cut the recipe in half and baked it in a 8x8 pan for 30 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Made this for party and everyone loved it. My husband, not a sweets guy, was sad when he found out I'd left the remaining part at the party!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      this was great! i loved it, but my family who don't really like sweet things for breakfast said it was just "good". i took it to work the next morning and all of my coworkers loved it! loved all the topping, it was the best part!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      I quickly made this coffee cake yesterday morning for company, using ingredients that were in the house (save for the chopped pecans, which I picked up at the supermarket the day before). Both friends are rather discerning about food, and they both raved about the cake. One asked for a second serving, while the other commented that it was prepared just the way she likes it...with loads of crumbly topping! Just make sure to set the butter out the night before for ease of use. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I loved this recipe. It's very simple and uses ingredients that most people will have on hand (except, perhaps, the pecans. I used walnuts). I had no trouble with the topping. I softened the butter first, per the recipe, and it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coffee House Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.2
     
    Calories from Fat 248
    47%
    Total Fat 27.6 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 15.3 g
    76%
    Cholesterol 92.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 306.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.0 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 39.8 g
    159%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites