Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coffee Chocolate Chip Biscotti (Diabetic Adaptations Given) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coffee Chocolate Chip Biscotti (Diabetic Adaptations Given)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 20, 2008

      I was a little disappointed that the coffee flavor didn't come through a little stronger, but they were very good. I had some trouble with the serrated knife tearing up the cookies, so I used a sharp chopping knife and that worked a lot better. I'll be making these again, but I may use an extract or something to enhance the coffee flavor. I tried it a second time substituting cinnamon chips and they were also delicious. I got tons of compliments on both, and they disappeared fast. I guess the coffee not coming through doesn't matter. I also learned that if your cookies start losing their crunch, you can put them in the oven on low for 10 minutes or so and it will dry them back out.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Maybe it was just because my DH was helping me, but I did not have much luck with these. To be fair, it was my first time making biscotti, but the dough was very sticky, even after adding extra flour, it was unshapeable. It fell horribly after taking it out of the oven, they were so thin that they couldn't stand on the cut sides to toast. I will try to make them again sometime by myself. They do taste fine, but we certainly had issues.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      ZWT4: I love the coffee/chocolate combination - what a wonderful treat to have with coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      great! i made these for ZWT4 and gave them to a friend and my mom took them to a dinner. my sister, a coffee addict, thought they were great too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I love the coffee flavour in these biscottis. I used instant espresso powder. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. It was my first time doing biscotti and it was easier than I thought. And I'll try many recipes of biscotti. Cause it's so expensive to bought but so easy to do. Thanks Annacia : ) made for zaar star game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Wonderful Biscotti, and since my DB is diabetic I am always testing new diabetic versions of recipes. Thank you for posting. Benthe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      what a delicious biscotti! I added like 3/4 cups chocolate chips (because my mother and i are chocoholics) and i used espresso granules! you dont even need words to describe how yummy they were - jus ton eletter : MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      These made a great little snack to go with coffee on a beautiful Saturday morning. I am new to biscotti making, so it could have been me, but I had a little trouble with shaping the logs. My hands kept sticking to the batter even flour coated, so my logs were not the most uniform looking, LOL. Anyhow I enjoyed them! Thanks Annacia!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      These came out nicely. My husband and daughter ate them happily with no complaints, even though I used the diabetic friendly ingredient suggestions. A bit drier than I typically would like my biscotti, but considering these are a diet recipe, these came out quite well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      After reading the other review, I decided to add the extra chocolate to mine too. I had found an espresso dark chocolate which complimented these perfectly. DH went nuts over them so I'm going to make another batch for Christmas. Thanks for posting! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      My fisrt cookie for my holiday trays and I'm off to a terrific start. These were absolutely delicious with that wonderful crispiness that makes for great biscotti. Like a classic Italian cookie, they are not very sweet but have a clean and wonderful flavor. Mine were without the diabetic adaptations but I'm planning to try them that way soon just for mayself. A few comments about the preparation: I had to add about 1/2 cup of additional flour to get te dough to a workable consistency. One taste of the dough and I decided to add shards of a semi-sweet dark chocolate bar to blend with the luxurious coffee flavor (which was just perfect). Since I was making these for tins, I was trying for a small cookie so my logs were a little less than 2 inches thick when raw and were 4 inches cooked (a bit larger than intended), with a yield of almost 4 dozen. So the full sized cookie is really the very large 6 inch kind so if you are making that put just one long on the sheet at a time. The baking times were perfect not just for the initial baking but for the crisping as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coffee Chocolate Chip Biscotti (Diabetic Adaptations Given)

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 26

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.6
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    31%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 21.4 mg
    7%
    Sodium 110.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.1 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites