19 Reviews

I recently made this for a Thanksgiving Day breakfast and it got rave reviews from everyone. I also thought that it was very easy to put together. This one is a keeper!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ErinK November 26, 2001

This cake was very good ,my mom loved it. I used the sour cream but next time I'll try it with yogurt,also some kind of glaze.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beeks April 05, 2003

Very good. I used non fat yogurt along with canned whole berry cranberry sauce and it was a hit at work and at home.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faye December 07, 2001

wonderfully moist and sweet with the nice tang of the cranberries. i used fresh cranberry sauce that i made. i should have made two! my guys devoured it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patticakes January 09, 2003

this turned out yummy. I omitted the salt, since I never use it, replaced 1/4 cup of the sugar with splenda to make slightly less sugary (sugar can probably be reduced overall, because it turned out really sweet), but, i'll definitely make this again. I only had enough dough to make 2 layers of dough/1 layer of cranberry sauce, unless my dough came out thicker than it's supposed to. Overall, more like a pound cake than coffee cake, but, oh so yummy. thanks for posting

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ March 20, 2010

Deliciously moist and flavorful. Wasn't too sweet. I made a glaze of icing sugar, milk & almond extract and drizzled it over cooled cake & sprinkled toasted sliced almonds & craisins on the top. Will defineately be making again :o)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiec December 11, 2002

Made this for my husband to take for a co-worker's birthday. I asked him to save me a piece so I could rate it. He called and said there was no way he could save anything for me because it was gobbled up so fast! He said it was his favorite dessert so far, which is a big deal!! Thanks! I was going to top it with an orange glaze, but decided against it after tasting the batter. Just dusted with powdered sugar in a lattice pattern...very pretty.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa Pizza April 29, 2002

Oh my gosh....this is sooooo good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie Pearsall December 12, 2001

Fixed this for breakfast when had relatives visiting. We all enjoyed!! I too used non-fat yogurt. I baked it in a 9x13 pan for 30 minutes to get it on the table quicker. I put half the batter in the pan then almost a all of a 16-oz. can of whole berry cranberry sauce then the rest of the batter. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myount19 July 29, 2003

Favorite coffee-cake of all time. My recipe was so close to this one, that rather than enter it, I'm just going to post the glaze in a review. My recipe was originally scaled 1 1/2 times this one, so it makes a deep dish 9 x 13. The glaze is 1 1/2 C Powdered sugar, 1/2 t vanilla, 1/2 t almond extract and 2T warm water. I wouldn't make it without the glaze. In my opinion, coffeecake needs either glaze, streusel or both.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarylandMomof3 February 02, 2013
Coffee Cake With Cranberry Swirl