20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so good! Very easy to make. The only thing I did to this recipe was increase the cinnamon by 1/2 t in the batter. Couldn't wait for it to come out of the oven in the morning.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz March 12, 2002

This was a real pleaser at work when I took it in the morning. I thought the topping made too much, though. Next time, I'll cut it in half 'cause I had so much left over. Thanks for sharing Michelle.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freda2 Brown April 21, 2003

This is so good, it is sinful!! I didn't have Crisco, so used butter and did the traditional creaming method, and alternated flour mixture with the buttermilk. Baked it right away and saw no ill effects. The topping is quite a bit, but it turns out gooey, kind of on the order of cinnamon rolls. If you aren't sure if you will like all the topping, use half the first time. It was very easy to put together. We liked it just the way it was written! Michelle, thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose April 26, 2014

Wow, this is delicious! The cake was extremely moist and flavorful. This is the only coffee cake that I have made off of this site that hasn't been a bland tasting disaster. The whole family had seconds, so that means it's a winner! I used one of the reviewer's suggestions and mixed the shortening with the dry ingredients before adding the milk and eggs, and it worked out perfectly. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Rodz November 25, 2011

Easy to make, I baked it right away. At first I put everything in then mixed and saw large globs of shortening yet. So I re-did it and put all of the dry ingredients in with the shortening and mixed then I mixed in the eggs, milk, and other dry ingredients. I used sour milk (lemon juice and milk).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MinnMomof2 November 17, 2010

i subbed applesauce for the shortening but otherwise made this as written. my family loved it. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada July 06, 2010

Seriously...people are doing me favors in exchange for this coffee cake or even just the recipe!!! So easy and so delicious!! Thank you Thank you for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Addi's Mom June 09, 2010

Amazing coffee cake! I made this coffee cake for Easter brunch and it was quickly gone! I followed the recipe exactly and used pecans....so yummy! I wished there were leftovers. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkirish April 11, 2010

I have to say this recipe is a good idea for a coffee cake, but there is far too much sugar topping listed in the recipee. Other reviewers wrote about using less, there should just be less in the recipe for a good review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth F. September 16, 2009
Coffee Cake-Over Night