Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Coffee Cake Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Coffee Cake Muffins

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 28, 2003

      These muffins were excellent! They really did taste like little coffeecakes. I was too lazy to measure the batter and put the filling in between, so I sprinkled it over the top before I baked it. It tasted great, but it was messy getting them out of the pan! Next time I'll take the time to put it in the middle where it belongs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      These muffins are really nice! I baked them this evening specially for my cousin bro. who has come down from Doha, Qatar two days back(he's on holiday and loves to eat cakes, cookies, sweets, etc)! I used almonds as a substitute instead of walnuts and margarine instead of shortening and butter. To make these slightly guilt-free, I used low-fat milk;) The most important thing - I combined the mixture of the filling and the dough in one large bowl(I'd made them separate first but the dough batter seemed really tight and once I added in the filling batter, I was able to mix better and felt confident that the end product would be good). I'm so glad I took this step because I wouldn't want to look like a dummy, lol:) I baked these at 180C for 20 minutes - came out as though I'd just picked them up from the bakery! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2014

      Simply amazing. I made a batch for DW to take to a baby shower. As other reviewers suggested, I added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tbsp milk to the batter. I was able to get 14 regular sized muffins (I actually doubled the batter and added ingredients). I could have made more, but because of a slight mistake, which worked out quite well, I chose not to. I layered the batter and filling as directed, but I also put filling across the tops of the muffins. The filling on top turned into a glaze that added a nice layer of flavor. My kids are bugging me to make more. I have to say I'm spoiled now. Every coffee cake muffin I eat from now on I will compare to these! Thanks Shortstuff for this outstanding recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      These were just ok to me. I was looking for something more light and fluffy and these were pretty dense. I added cinnamon to the batter at the suggestion of others but I would also recommend adding some vanilla as these were pretty bland. DO NOT overfill your muffin tins as they will make a huge mess of your oven. The batter is very thick and a little difficult to work with. These may be better in actual coffee cake form instead of muffins. The filling was excellent but I probably won't be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      My kids really enjoyed these. I will double the batter next time as I ended up with only 7 muffins and a lot of leftover filling. Would have loved to have gotten a full pan of these because they baked up so pretty and it's always a bonus to bake something my kids will both eat (very picky palates). These are a keeper. Thanks for posting. P.S. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter and would definitely do that again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      These muffins are delicious! I substituted margarine for the shortening and omitted the walnuts and they tasted great. They are light and fluffy and taste just like coffee cake...and the filling is soo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      bakerynana, really nice,I used coconut flavoring doubled the recipe.I will make them again. next time I will make it as a cake and swirl in the topping maybee add a little fruit. sold a lot of coffee cake at my bakery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      These were alright but next time I make them I will make some changes like layering in more of the filling and thinning down the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      My husband and I both thought these were good and they did taste just like coffeecake. However, I made a couple of changes before making them for the first time, and if I were to make them again (which I likely will!) there are a couple of other things I would do differently as well. First, based on other reviewers' suggestions, I added 1 tsp vanilla to the batter, and I also added about 1 tbsp extra milk to the batter too to thin it out a little more (beware, the dough is very sticky to work with!). I also added some cinnamon to the batter itself just to give it a little extra flavor. In the future, I would probably double the "filling" mixture and alternate the batter and filling in layers to give it extra sweetness throughout, rather than just layering in the filling one time. Also, I would advise anyone making this to try not to fill your muffin cups too far, because these do rise and the filling melts and will ooze out the sides when baking. I got 9 regular-sized muffins out of this. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      Yum, yum, yum! There are little coffeecakes! I will be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      My kids loved these and they are easy to make. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      The men in my family are big fishermen. I made these for a trip they went on and they were gone before they got there. I had one but could have ate them all. I only got ten muffins from this, next time I'll double the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      These were a big hit at breakfast for Mother's Day. Thanks for sharing this keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      These are my daughter's new favorite muffins--great for me because I love them too!They are soo easy to make!I also used sour cream and a touch of milk instead of the 1/2 cup milk and omitted the nuts--we have also substituted the nuts with 1/2 cup of raisins(soaked in hot first for extra plumpness).These always turn out great!!Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      I made these and used them as a base for my strawberry shortcake, excellent. I am also enjoying these served with honey butter and coffee. I loved the walnut and cinamon on them. I will make these again thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2006

      These turned out exactly as I was hoping that they would!!They were really moist and perfect with a cup of coffee(and just the right size--I didn't feel tooooo guilty eating them!).I did substitute sour cream and a touch of half and half for the milk(I'm partial to a sour cream coffee cake that I have tried in the past).Super recipe--thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      I made these this morning for a quickie breakfast. They were not too sweet, just right with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      These were great! Good comfort food and easy! (And the results are definitely worth the extra time to put the filling in the middle!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      These were great! I made them for a church potluck today and there were none to bring home. I doubled the batch and it made 15 big muffins. I like how the streusel melts down into the whole muffin. Thanks for posting. I will be making these again just for my family. They were drooling over them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2004

      I am so happy to have this recipe. I have been looking for a recipe like this because my DD loves a store bought - quick bread mix - similiar to this. I do not like to buy pre mixed breads or muffins so I am so grateful to you! I used a 1 1/2 tbs. scoop to put the first bit of batter in. Then I sprinkled the filling and followed up with about another 1/2 TBS. of batter for the top. I managed to get 12 muffins. I didn't use all the filling, but I will put it in the freezer to use the next time I make these, which will probably be soon. Thanks sooo much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Coffee Cake Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (740 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 229.0
     
    Calories from Fat 92
    40%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 24.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 185.9 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites