15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I wanted something that looked fancy, yet was easy to assemble to take as a gift for some friends. This fit the bill perfectly. As they opened the container they were impressed by the looks and they tasted just as delicious. I did as another reviewer did and used 1 tbsp of batter on the bottom, 1 tsp of the sugar/nut mixture in the middle and another 1 tbsp on the top. I then sprinkled the remaining sugar/nut mixture over the top. I ended up with only 8 muffins though. I also used butter instead of shortening. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. January 04, 2010

These muffins are really, really yummy! I made a minor adjustment to the batter mix. I added about 1/4 cup more sugar to flour sugar mix. I also added 1 teaspoon vanilla. I made for a reception for a special Sunday morning at church. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Tami B

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamiburkhart September 17, 2013

By the recipe it is good, but a bit bland as others have pointed out. So I added 1tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp of almond extract. Then they turned out yummy. The batter does not make a lot though. I got 7 regular "coffee shop" sized muffins. To get the 12 they suggest, they would have to be pretty tiny muffins. It is 5 stars with the vanilla and almond added in and only 4 stars by itself. I will make these again though with the changes as they are yummy now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamalove22 October 03, 2011

These were pretty good. I forgot to add some vanilla into the batter, at the suggestions of others, and I think it needed it. I would use 3/4 c. of milk for next time instead of 1/2 c. just to make the batter a little easier to work with. I love the flavor and texture though so will probably make these again with the above changes. I got 9 muffins and baked for 18 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda_c April 07, 2010

Yum! SO very easy too! I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. I did have trouble figuring how how much batter to put in each tin though. I got 11 muffins and mmmm good! Made for I Recommend Tag Game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom February 05, 2010

Very good muffins. I used butter instead of the shortening. Also used ground pecans. I measured 1 tbsp of batter then added 1 tsp of the nut mixture then 1 tbsp of batter then had enough nut mixture to add 1 tsp of nut mixture on the top. I got 9 muffins and they baked in 15 minutes. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee March 31, 2009

I love coffee cake, and I love these little muffins too! I omitted the nuts since the kids don't like them. I got 9 muffins out of the recipe as written, so will double it next time. At first I thought I made a mistake as the batter is very sticky but it rises up very nicely. I used the extra sugar mixture to sprinkle over the tops. Great little recipe Mandagirl, thx for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word January 28, 2009

I made these for Christmas morning and we loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wife2abadge December 29, 2007

These were so good and pretty easy. The only problem that I had was that I didn't plan perfectly to have enough batter at the end to top the muffins off...some of mine ended up without the last bit of batter, but they were still delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristinlwilliams December 24, 2007

Yum! These are more like cakes than muffins. Using the quantities listed I ended up with 6. I used walnuts and subbed vegetable oil for the shortening, cooking the cakes for 22 mins. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz November 04, 2007
Coffee Cake Muffins